skong121176 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 my latest update on my HTVery nice! How's the performance of your Emotiva (XPA-3 or XPA-5?)and Audiolab M-Dac? I'm thinking of adding either one but don't know which to go first I'm mainly 70% movies 30% music... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dragonnite 2 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Got, can't see, cables lo. small amount compared to Mel la. 1 more toy coming up, power conditioner :yamseng: you can try if you want no need lah...i enjoyed the sound of it the last gathering...i still dun need it... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 (edited) Very nice! How's the performance of your Emotiva (XPA-3 or XPA-5?)and Audiolab M-Dac? I'm thinking of adding either one but don't know which to go first I'm mainly 70% movies 30% music...Add power amp since you had a higher % on movies.For music, not just DAC, need to consider further. Say you start with Emotiva power amp, XPA-3/5, you can enhances your music by getting pre-amp, USP-1 or XSP-1(balanced), if you had power amp in place.So it is a slow bleeding upgrade process For my HT, i'm using an intergrated amp(Cayin) via pre-in&out option, to drive my LR, XPA-3 to drive my Center & Rears. For music, using intergrated amp for my LR, 2.0 mode only, good enough without utilising my subwoofer. Previously, I need to use my subwoofer for low freq.Share your setup? Edited March 28, 2013 by ongcs Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 no need lah...i enjoyed the sound of it the last gathering...i still dun need it...Can drop-by again, for a longer duration, that day was rather short though. Time moved so fast. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skong121176 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Add power amp since you had a higher % on movies.For music, not just DAC, need to consider further. Say you start with Emotiva power amp, XPA-3/5, you can enhances your music by getting pre-amp, USP-1 or XSP-1(balanced), if you had power amp in place.So it is a slow bleeding upgrade process For my HT, i'm using an intergrated amp(Cayin) via pre-in&out option, to drive my LR, XPA-3 to drive my Center & Rears. For music, using intergrated amp for my LR, 2.0 mode only, good enough without utilising my subwoofer. Previously, I need to use my subwoofer for low freq.Share your setup? I have almost the same setup as yours just without the expensive upgrades like power amp, integrated amp and DAC In summary, I have a 5.1 setup using Monitor Audio Rx6, RX center and RX1 (surround)driven by Onkyo 818 receiver. Sony S590 Bluray player and AC Ryan Mini HD2 as media player.For power amp, do you think XPA-3 or XPA-5 is a better choice? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melmeow 1 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Ya, I cant upgrade further, unless i took away music & HT, go for standalone basis know i know why u looking at RR77 lor.... u upgrading upwards since "downstairs" is full liao... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 I have almost the same setup as yours just without the expensive upgrades like power amp, integrated amp and DAC In summary, I have a 5.1 setup using Monitor Audio Rx6, RX center and RX1 (surround)driven by Onkyo 818 receiver. Sony S590 Bluray player and AC Ryan Mini HD2 as media player.For power amp, do you think XPA-3 or XPA-5 is a better choice? oh..so what do you think you are lacking? Or just want to upgrade? You can pop-by my place to listen to mine before you decide further. Are you having MA subwoofer too? Is RX1 too over-powered at rear if too close to your seating position.The reason why I'm using XPA-3 for my rear speakers is because they are used for my front LR prior to my recent added Cayin integrated amp. Instead of going into waste, hooked up for my rears. My Missus was telling me that seems over-powered. HahSo I think XPA-3 should be decent unless you want to move to 7.1, XPA-5. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 know i know why u looking at RR77 lor.... u upgrading upwards since "downstairs" is full liao... hahahahaha...no space leh. But too ex for my pocket for doing correction only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skong121176 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 oh..so what do you think you are lacking? Or just want to upgrade? You can pop-by my place to listen to mine before you decide further. Are you having MA subwoofer too? Is RX1 too over-powered at rear if too close to your seating position.The reason why I'm using XPA-3 for my rear speakers is because they are used for my front LR prior to my recent added Cayin integrated amp. Instead of going into waste, hooked up for my rears. My Missus was telling me that seems over-powered. HahSo I think XPA-3 should be decent unless you want to move to 7.1, XPA-5.I think I'm still lacking the depth n power factor hahaha or maybe I'm just backside itchyRX1 is great for surround and not too loud for my liking...however my wife thinks it's a bit loud for her liking...sometimes she thought she heard raining sound outside but in fact it's just the sound from the movie Maybe it's a good idea to drop by your place to get poison Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skong121176 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Yup I'm using the MA subwoofer too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 I think I'm still lacking the depth n power factor hahaha or maybe I'm just backside itchyRX1 is great for surround and not too loud for my liking...however my wife thinks it's a bit loud for her liking...sometimes she thought she heard raining sound outside but in fact it's just the sound from the movie Maybe it's a good idea to drop by your place to get poison Depth? Maybe you can re-calibrate further? As I know, RX6 quite decent on depth when I just started with AVR only. Yeah, power defintely good if you considers power amp into HT.Will demo some action clips for you or if possible, bring some materials you are familiar with to know you are lacking on depth/power? Seems we are having similar setup except the rear which I find it not too much affection though. I didn't went for RX1 due to space as you can see, I'm placing my rear speakers on near field basis.Best to ask your missus along, get a 2nd opinion before you discuss with her on further entries. :notti: Maybe you can consider NAS for your networked media player :dribble: like what Kim & Dragonnite had bought recently?deviansyh: you keen anot? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skong121176 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Depth? Maybe you can re-calibrate further? As I know, RX6 quite decent on depth when I just started with AVR only. Yeah, power defintely good if you considers power amp into HT.Will demo some action clips for you or if possible, bring some materials you are familiar with to know you are lacking on depth/power? Seems we are having similar setup except the rear which I find it not too much affection though. I didn't went for RX1 due to space as you can see, I'm placing my rear speakers on near field basis.Best to ask your missus along, get a 2nd opinion before you discuss with her on further entries. :notti: Maybe you can consider NAS for your networked media player :dribble: like what Kim & Dragonnite had bought recently?deviansyh: you keen anot?Maybe it's the power that I'm lacking in my HT setup...maybe it's not a good idea to bring my missus along as she has warn me not to add anything else to the HT I have a NAS (Synology 212J) for my media player now which is good enough at this moment...maybe will upgrade when i'm running out of space Yeah initially I thought to have the same surround as you but give up the idea cos I think it will not suit me and also I have space for RX1 you should consider this when you want to upgrade to 9.1 setup Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Maybe it's the power that I'm lacking in my HT setup...maybe it's not a good idea to bring my missus along as she has warn me not to add anything else to the HT I have a NAS (Synology 212J) for my media player now which is good enough at this moment...maybe will upgrade when i'm running out of space Yeah initially I thought to have the same surround as you but give up the idea cos I think it will not suit me and also I have space for RX1 you should consider this when you want to upgrade to 9.1 setup Haha...bring her there to believe Oh, you will be out of space real soon when you dropped by my place.Nah, not going for 7.1/9.1 unless I got a HT room. **** room, 5.1 is good enough. Not all movie materials are at 7.1/9.1 though. To go for 7.1/9.1, you need space for speakers, too cramp also no use, in my sense. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
melmeow 1 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 your "we share course we care" motto is back again huh.... hahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ongcs 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2013 Of course bro...since when did that motto went off track? :notti: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites