NeoBY 1 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Finally you show your house, albert. Looks great. You really have a lot of clothes, can't fight with you. I throw many clothes before I move house. More of an excuse to buy new clothes. So that is called "drop", I wanted to do that for my toilets, but I don't know how to call this. My service apartment in KL has this "drop", it prevents water from overflowing to the dry area. I don't like curb, possibility will trip over if accidentally kick it. My stupid contractor don't understand what I want, keep saying the current layout can allow the water to flow down, which means the floor is not level, so water can flow to the water trapper, but it didn't help much. Now the water will flow to the dry area when bathing.I dont understand drop too. heee...so i got my contractor to do a slope so i will not kick on it. but water still flow over if i splash a lot of it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 I dont understand drop too. heee...so i got my contractor to do a slope so i will not kick on it. but water still flow over if i splash a lot of it.I think mine is also a slope; a slope down to the water trapper, but it didn't help much. Water overflow to the dry area when showering. Worst still is that the shower curtain cannot put too low because there is no wall to support the pole. If put lower, the below is door entrance already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 I think mine is also a slope; a slope down to the water trapper, but it didn't help much. Water overflow to the dry area when showering. Worst still is that the shower curtain cannot put too low because there is no wall to support the pole. If put lower, the below is door entrance already.I had a glass screen for mbr toilet. but the gel part turning mouldy leh...with those black mould. i tried to use brush but cant brush it off. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 (edited) albert, looks good. workmanship good? it looks good from the pictures. 20k for the whole house or the pictures u shown? that's cheap. what is the breadth of the top and bottom cabinets. yours look distinct. i like the big drawers. any danger of it being overloaded and misaligned?Strictly speaking the workmanship is just borderline pass, the carpenter did make some ugly mistakes and those cannot be cover up but I am ok with them so long they charge me cheap cheap. So far i have paid 20k for the reno... Everything in the house are new...new half fire-rated main door and new bedroom door with door frame, new white powder coated windows, grille and gate,new floor and wall tiles,plaster for whole house,3 coats of nippon odourless easy wash,plumbing works (using copper pipe and design the piping to increase water pressure),electrical works (13 lighting points, 4 Cat6 network points, 3 SCV points, 2 telephone points, 20 double gang power sockets),carpentry works (shoe cabinet (similar to XTR but without mirror), full height 6-doors storage unit back to back with 6-doors L shape WIW, another full height storage unit to house the DB, comm equipments, me and wifey daily barang barang, left and right kitchen cabinets with CaesarStone quartz counter top).Every drawer can hold up to 65kg of kitchenware, inner drawer included. At work now, get you the measurement for top and bottom kitchen cabinet after work. Edited May 9, 2012 by taichipanda Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 For folks that have not build the top kitchen cabinet, get your contractor or ID to design the light in the cabinet so it can light below the top cabinet and light the internal of the top cabinet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Strictly speaking the workmanship is just borderline pass, the carpenter did make some ugly mistakes and those cannot be cover up but I am ok with them so long they charge me cheap cheap. So far i have paid 20k for the reno... Everything in the house are new...new half fire-rated main door and new bedroom door with door frame, new white powder coated windows, grille and gate,new floor and wall tiles,plaster for whole house,3 coats of nippon odourless easy wash,plumbing works (using copper pipe and design the piping to increase water pressure),electrical works (13 lighting points, 4 Cat6 network points, 3 SCV points, 2 telephone points, 20 double gang power sockets),carpentry works (shoe cabinet (similar to XTR but without mirror), full height 6-doors storage unit back to back with 6-doors L shape WIW, another full height storage unit to house the DB, comm equipments, me and wifey daily barang barang, left and right kitchen cabinets with CaesarStone quartz counter top).Every drawer can hold up to 65kg of kitchenware, inner drawer included. At work now, get you the measurement for top and bottom kitchen cabinet after work.still cheap lah. mine already 20k, not touching the windows, living room and rooms. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 I dont understand drop too. heee...so i got my contractor to do a slope so i will not kick on it. but water still flow over if i splash a lot of it.I think mine is also a slope; a slope down to the water trapper, but it didn't help much. Water overflow to the dry area when showering. Worst still is that the shower curtain cannot put too low because there is no wall to support the pole. If put lower, the below is door entrance already.There is gradient slope build into the flooring of my toilet, dry area and bath area so water will flow toward the water trapper. Due to the drop for the bath area, my tiler build a separate water trapper to route the water to the main water trapper. I made a mistake to install the 2-tiers glass shelve on the right hand side of the wall, it suppose to be at the left hand side so i can put a shower curtain on the right wall instead. No worries, although i shower the water gets splash into the dry area. Really if you folks see the size of my toilet, dry and bath area you will surely wander how a hippo fit into that area.If not for my phobia of glass, my designer friend will build my toilet and dry area as an open concept with big panel of frosted glass with sliding door. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
denimart 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Finally you show your house, albert. Looks great. You really have a lot of clothes, can't fight with you. I throw many clothes before I move house. More of an excuse to buy new clothes. So that is called "drop", I wanted to do that for my toilets, but I don't know how to call this. My service apartment in KL has this "drop", it prevents water from overflowing to the dry area. I don't like curb, possibility will trip over if accidentally kick it. My stupid contractor don't understand what I want, keep saying the current layout can allow the water to flow down, which means the floor is not level, so water can flow to the water trapper, but it didn't help much. Now the water will flow to the dry area when bathing.With drop is better, initially my con quote me the kerb only cost $80 each but i felt too dangerous cos if trip might hit the side which most of my side are glass. Talk about the water flow, when i bought the tiles my con wants me to get the smaller 300x300 tiles but i keep pestering him on the larger 300 x 800 tiles...he keep on explaining to us about the water flow problem cos larger tiles makes it difficult to create a angle on the slope for the water to flow and we finally gave up the thought. He was nice, one day before he actually order the tiles he actually ask the master tiler to come to my house take a look at the bathroom to see if using larger tiles got problem and finally everything pass. So we end up top up some small amount to engage the master tiler himself to do the tiling personally as only he can do it with skills and we are getting larger tiles without worrying on the water flow problem. Water trap on tiles will create patchy mark. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
denimart 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Hope you all dont mind the messiness... and my lousy photography skill.Albt...your window is white powder coated or ur ID paint it for u? I didn't know the old type of metal window panel got white powder actually...interesting. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 With drop is better, initially my con quote me the kerb only cost $80 each but i felt too dangerous cos if trip might hit the side which most of my side are glass. Talk about the water flow, when i bought the tiles my con wants me to get the smaller 300x300 tiles but i keep pestering him on the larger 300 x 800 tiles...he keep on explaining to us about the water flow problem cos larger tiles makes it difficult to create a angle on the slope for the water to flow and we finally gave up the thought. He was nice, one day before he actually order the tiles he actually ask the master tiler to come to my house take a look at the bathroom to see if using larger tiles got problem and finally everything pass. So we end up top up some small amount to engage the master tiler himself to do the tiling personally as only he can do it with skills and we are getting larger tiles without worrying on the water flow problem. Water trap on tiles will create patchy mark.Best size of tile for toilet is 300X300... if use above 300X600, the gradient slope is very difficult to achieve on the longer side and the corner can prove to be more danger for bare footed. Pretty sure the master tiler will use the shorter side to create the gradient slope. The tiler that did my place is also a master tiler with 20+ years experience under his belt. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Albt...your window is white powder coated or ur ID paint it for u? I didn't know the old type of metal window panel got white powder actually...interesting.White powder coated for louver windows and grills. Just remember anything made of aluminum can be powder coated. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
denimart 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Albt, your house looks awesome and worth the price. I assume the final quotation will be less than $30K. That light fixture on the top cabinet is creative. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Albt, your house looks awesome and worth the price. I assume the final quotation will be less than $30K. That light fixture on the top cabinet is creative.Unlikely to be less than 30K cos reno quote from my friend is already 26K, still have not include carpentry works and the 16 feet of premium CaesaeStone quartz counter top. LOL. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
getzski 1 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 Hope you all dont mind the messiness... and my lousy photography skill.nice posts albert....change of style from your old house. lots of mess too...haha...just like me. everything i just dump into spare room when i've visitors coming. and how did you create the deep big hole in the TV wall? very nice leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2012 nice posts albert....change of style from your old house. lots of mess too...haha...just like me. everything i just dump into spare room when i've visitors coming. and how did you create the deep big hole in the TV wall? very nice lehThanks. On the opposite side of the deep big hole is a bar cabinet on top, it was done by the partition subcon. There are 2 double gang power sockets, 1 SCV point and 1 Network point in the big hole, there is a cable management conduit build into the wall behind the 55" TV. Neat hor? Not a fancy feature wall at all. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites