theitsybits

Love Nest @ Casa

hopefully lor! friends should be ok, don't like also won't keep saying..mil already complain abt my floor tiles, cuz we chose the same tiles for whole house instead of parquet for rooms..say rooms parquet better, else got kids slp on floor no good..also got ppl say my brick wall no good, very hard, my kids will bang their head..den my open concept white kitchen also kana..i guess my cement screed wall will get comments too..and my mosaic wall grouts.. :bangwall: not sure if i can take it if ppl go round my place nit-picking on everything.. :help:

got so hard to understand that i made my choices knowingly meh.. :bleah: i rather it look nice and don't last that long, than look ugly and last forever.. :furious:

its ur home ultimately, just have to filter the comments accordingly.

Day 8-9

**photos provided by K**

My brick walls were completed!

7180220167_d59d53a93a_z.jpg

The grouts were filled with white cement.

7365447590_5164f92e76_z.jpg

:thumbs up:

7365447488_e116d844a9_z.jpg

My mosaic wall in the MBR is also completed.

7369031970_d67d205980_z.jpg

My brick walls are now wrapped up in plastic, probably protecting it from potential cement screed splashes.

7180219669_d6102e2c31_z.jpg

And this is yesterday's sky when I walked back to the central after dropping by our place.

There was insufficient sand for screeding and more sand was delivered today. They'll finish screeding the whole place tomorrow to prepare for flooring.

Sadly, the permit to hack 2 more walls have not been approved yet! It's been more than a week, and hopefully it can be approved soon! ;)

We have also arranged for the air-con guy to do the trunking next week. I suppose that flooring and hacking should be completed by next week then we're more than half-way there :D

Edited by theitsybits

hopefully lor! friends should be ok, don't like also won't keep saying..mil already complain abt my floor tiles, cuz we chose the same tiles for whole house instead of parquet for rooms..say rooms parquet better, else got kids slp on floor no good..also got ppl say my brick wall no good, very hard, my kids will bang their head..den my open concept white kitchen also kana..i guess my cement screed wall will get comments too..and my mosaic wall grouts.. :bangwall: not sure if i can take it if ppl go round my place nit-picking on everything.. :help:

got so hard to understand that i made my choices knowingly meh.. :bleah: i rather it look nice and don't last that long, than look ugly and last forever.. :furious:

Haha I think i know all the possible comments you will received and ya lo how come they never realised that we made our choice knowingly. U exact same theory with me!! Haha rather nice and last 5 yrs than ugly and last forever haha. DIYing the mosaic grout again is not that difficult, you can do it every yr to renew it..

But ur brick wall comment is funny !! Plain concrete wall not hard meh? If ur kids really like to bang the wall even normal wall they also will go bang.. Nowadays kids are so smart, they have good sense of judgement for obstacles.

Yup during house warming I guess we really need to adopt selective listening technique!

But still I feel overall should be good comments, I have the confident...

Haha I think i know all the possible comments you will received and ya lo how come they never realised that we made our choice knowingly. U exact same theory with me!! Haha rather nice and last 5 yrs than ugly and last forever haha. DIYing the mosaic grout again is not that difficult, you can do it every yr to renew it..

But ur brick wall comment is funny !! Plain concrete wall not hard meh? If ur kids really like to bang the wall even normal wall they also will go bang.. Nowadays kids are so smart, they have good sense of judgement for obstacles.

Yup during house warming I guess we really need to adopt selective listening technique!

Ultimately, you are the ones gonna stay in the house, just do what you like. Just take the comments like a pinch of salt.

BTW, my 2-way heater switch doesn't work quite as simple as a 2-way for lights. Y'day K & my hubby were figuring out how it works and realised that both points have to be at the ON mode to activate the heater. My hubby vaguely explained to me & said it's not logic. I don't quite get him, but I will up and see for myself today. It's best for you to check with K again.

K is handing over the house to me (hopefully) today and we will go in to clean tmr. Big move on Sat!

think to them, any 'extra' work is too much work..i don't get the brick wall thingy too..normal walls got less hard meh? and if my kid do such things, den it's better for him to pain once and learn his lesson..haha! even flooring, i dun mind cooling tiles floor and won't let me kid sleep on floor ba! don't think i'll be one of those protective parents..

Ultimately, you are the ones gonna stay in the house, just do what you like. Just take the comments like a pinch of salt.

BTW, my 2-way heater switch doesn't work quite as simple as a 2-way for lights. Y'day K & my hubby were figuring out how it works and realised that both points have to be at the ON mode to activate the heater. My hubby vaguely explained to me & said it's not logic. I don't quite get him, but I will up and see for myself today. It's best for you to check with K again.

K is handing over the house to me (hopefully) today and we will go in to clean tmr. Big move on Sat!

haha yea will take it with a pinch of salt..but guess it's human nature to feel annoyed, and sometimes just keep quiet and let them go on and on, hoping that they can stop soon.. =/ but sometimes, just feel that it's quite rude and not very constructive..different ppl has different taste mah..if got nothing good to say, don't say anything!

we made quite a big fuss about the switch lei..we made sure that it was a 2-way switch, just like lights..if it doesn't work like what we wanted, i think my husband is going to make a big fuss about it again.. =_="

anyway, congrats and happy moving! =) free share some pics!

Don't worry too much, theitsybits.

I guess as long as both you and your partner like the house you design / plan, just take the rest of the comment with a pinch of salt. There will be some who don't like screed cement, brick wall, open concept, clour of the flat....etc

I guess that my design wont be too well liked by the older generation, even my wifey initially has some objection. We all want our house to be nice, slightly different from norm, imo!

hee far great progress thanks to K lor..but house still small la..it's only big cuz i used my wide-angle lens.. :unsure:

Hi there,

Love your bricks wall! Wishing you a smooth renovation journey! May I know what camera did you use? SLR type or normal digital type?

Nisa :)

Don't worry too much, theitsybits.

I guess as long as both you and your partner like the house you design / plan, just take the rest of the comment with a pinch of salt. There will be some who don't like screed cement, brick wall, open concept, clour of the flat....etc

I guess that my design wont be too well liked by the older generation, even my wifey initially has some objection. We all want our house to be nice, slightly different from norm, imo!

thanks! ur place is looking good too.. :) we're enjoying the whole process and taking the next 6 months to slowly do up the house and fill it up with things we love.. :P i'm more adventurous and like some retro/industrial elements while my husband prefers the very white and simple scandinavian style..we do have some disagreements, but mostly, we come to agree after some 'negotiation' :rolleyes: most importantly, i guess the house tells you something about the owners' character..

Hi there,

Love your bricks wall! Wishing you a smooth renovation journey! May I know what camera did you use? SLR type or normal digital type?

Nisa :)

thanks nisa! =) i am using a 3.5yo dslr with one of the widest lens in the market.. :P now you know why the tiny flat looks so wide, like 3D drawings.. :D

Hi can share how much it cost to do this wall?

:thumbs up:

Thank you.

Thinking of doing it for a longer portion of the wall.

Guess it will cost more.

Anyway, a friendly hello to a fellow neighbour.. :yamseng:

Thank you.

Thinking of doing it for a longer portion of the wall.

Guess it will cost more.

Anyway, a friendly hello to a fellow neighbour.. :yamseng:

hello! *waves* :drunk: which blk are u at? we did both walls (length of living/dining), it came to slightly less den 3k. but i really love it though..

We're at Blk 425. Corner falt but got a low floor one. All the high floors all gone by the time it's our turn to choose.

No complains though as our unit faces the open field... :thumbs up:

We're still choosing our ID. Renovation cost sure cost a bomb :dribble:

Thanks for the quote on the wall. Looks very rustic and nice.

wow... cement screed?

can you give me your ID contact number... in end of Aug, we will receive the key~

and how much for the brick wall ? My sis always wish for a red brick wall but everyone said its tedious, hard to maintain and expensive !?

I wish i was you to have clear thought on what exactly you want and actually archive it all one by one..

When see your journey of building a dream home with your hubby, make me wanna pray for you as well.

i also finding the ship lamp.. 航海燈。。。

also this...

gse-091j.jpg

We're at Blk 425. Corner falt but got a low floor one. All the high floors all gone by the time it's our turn to choose.

No complains though as our unit faces the open field... :thumbs up:

We're still choosing our ID. Renovation cost sure cost a bomb :dribble:

Thanks for the quote on the wall. Looks very rustic and nice.

it's ok la, it's a nice estate to stay at..i like the garden.. =)

we spent more than a month choosing IDs but end up going to contractors as it was cheaper for similar works..good luck!

i really love the wall too.. :D