IPineapple

Reno Must Be Jai Yen Yen ........and A Super, Super Overdue One

wow.... you really have a big house, big kitchen and big balcony. I thought it's private housing, really a rare find!

By the way, welcome to the hammer zone, my place although far from yours but also under hammer... :P

haha...Thanks jshome..how i wish. Actually not that big lah..the look big in photos only. U hammerer too. I'm ex-hammer, now move back to hammerland. Who knows 5yrs later...we might become thurder again.

Hi Ipineapple, thought I saw the checkered tiles in Hup Kiong Balestier, right at the back of the shop, can check it out... I like ur toilet theme & will prob be doing the same thing too. :)

Btw saw ur post on another thread re the white EM chairs. Lush now selling at $110 each promo price, can check it out.

Hi, had been to Hup Kiong, they have that for wall tile but not the floor. :o BTW I got my short white brick tile from Hup Kiong.

Really, the shorter subway tiles are more expensive? I have not checked on the pricing for both the short & long size subway tiles. I trust my ID & let him decide the subway tiles size.

I do realised that the tiler will need a longer time for the shorter subway tiles and man, it is not easy to make sure it is all in line.

Yup,its about $3plus psf. Thought they selling by per piece. The long one is cheaper. Yup, the brick tile is more labour intensive.

ok some updates on the masonry work

IMG_0903.JPG

The partition walls are up. With the walls separate my wet, dry and laundry area...suddenly feel the kitchen area is bigger. Labyrinth effect. :D

IMG_0864.JPG

Laundry area

IMG_0925.JPG

Dry kitchen with the brick tiles

IMG_0926.JPG

Wet kitchen

IMG_0872.JPG

Windows guys are here to dismantle my windows. Balcony work going to start soon.....my biggest problematic area. It's been delayed cause...raining almost everyday. :furious:

IMG_0882.JPG

Actually it looks better with the windows gone..haha..

IMG_0916.JPG

Have to cover this portion if not rain will splash in.

Feel starts coming for the common toliet.

Edited by IPineapple

During my inspection, i found the subcon left his bag of coffee on my marble floor. What worst was the coffee actually leaks out from the coffee bag and left a stain on my marble floor...siao liao. I'm worried about the permanent stain. :furious::furious::furious:

IMG_0874.JPG

Called Donny immediately to raise this issue. Very quickly Donny called the subcon and warned them not to leave their coffee on the marble floor. He also gotten his marble specialist the following day to look into this and assured me that this can be salvaged. It's good to have a responsive and responsible contractor. At least i felt assured things are taken care of.

Wow, very fast progress! My reno started earlier than yours, until now still havn't started with the tiling. Slow.. ZZzzz

Are you going to tile all the kitchen walls or only the back splash?

Wow, very fast progress! My reno started earlier than yours, until now still havn't started with the tiling. Slow.. ZZzzz

Are you going to tile all the kitchen walls or only the back splash?

My ID works very fast.... sometime i have to catch up with him......haha.

How come urs still not started tiling? I thought hacking at most take 2 days only. Last i went to check my place, they were four tilers working. :sport-smiley-018:

Na...i use the tiles as my backsplash. No glass for me and tiles are definitely cheaper. Give give me the cottage feel as well.

Edited by IPineapple

Nice tile for your kitchen. I can foresee it will be very angmoh look! :good:

Thanks...haha..dun know if it will turn out fine or become rojak. :unsure: Still have not decided on my cabinet laminate.

The kitchen looks like a maze. So many corners and walls. Can play tag.

haha..ya...it's like a maze. It's to seperate my old kitchen into three areas. In futuree can play hide and seek with my kids. :P

My ID works very fast.... sometime i have to catch up with him......haha.

How come urs still not started tiling? I thought hacking at most take 2 days only. Last i went to check my place, they were four tilers working. :sport-smiley-018:

Na...i use the tiles as my backsplash. No glass for me and tiles are definitely cheaper. Give give me the cottage feel as well.

checking..so your whole place is english countryside or ?

Hi bro. Humm...not really English countryside, it will only have a touch of european kitchen feel (mainly the white brick effect). My cabinet design is more towards modern (i hate country style cabinet design :rolleyes: ). I can say the feel is more towards european cafe.

ok gotch it.... european cafe. want to see how u interpret it through your home.

haha..still dun know how it will turn out. Might look rojak...fingers crossed.. :D

ok some updates on the masonry work

IMG_0903.JPG

The partition walls are up. With the walls separate my wet, dry and laundry area...suddenly feel the kitchen area is bigger. Labyrinth effect. :D

Wow!, this will be an envy to many HDB dwellers. It is nice to separate all the wet, dry and laundry areas. I like such configuration as it makes the whole kitchen area very specific and hence, the neatness that follows.

Hope your balcony issue is resolved.