tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Dear All,

I just bought an EM @ Clementi, 23 years old, well-maintained unit. 150 sq m, but it isn't a corner unit. Not doing any renovation work as the recent renovation was done 5 years back and it was well done. Not 100% to my taste, but the condition is too good to redo. Bought at valuation, though price is still high.... moving in Oct.

I'm converting the dining area to a study area with two L-shaped tables - will be using the area outside the kitchen as the dining area.

Thanks for all the tips received on this thread.

Best regards

Hey doodbug....

Congrats on your purchase! You got a good block anyway. :) Nice unblocked view. The ground floor em I viewed at Clementi Ave 6 was facing the MRT tracks and Commonwealth Ave West. The owner still dared to ask for COV! I didn't make an offer as the condition of the place was very bad! But, I guess I was lucky to get my current place. :)

Hi chronograph, the granite at my side didn't need polishing. aircon is a new mitsubishi electric one installed in feb. but the grills on the stairs are the original hdb ones!! don't want to hack it so will be painting the grilles as the owner has sanded the wooden handle portion and it kind of matches the parquet. the unit had no kitchen door and that is a major expense for me as i am installing a wooden folding door - the normal swing doow is not an option due to placement of switches in kitchen and i don't want the fridge to get rammed by the door.

Give u a tip, use wrought iron paint to paint your stair rail. Normal paint will not last. I done up sliding door, don't like the folding one cause my experience with folding door is not good, tends to spoilt easily.

Hey Sunset Way!

I love Sunset Way! But the permutations and combinations of EM sizes and layouts really confounded me :) haha. I was so suaku - never knew that Blk 206 extended inwards - thought it was entirely facing the MRT track. You are right, I settled for low flooc because it was an unblocked view :) Sunset more convenient in terms of immediate amenities like food though......

Guess bo pian had to move to Clementi cos have two little kids now and they will be schooling nearby; more importantly parents and in laws stay in West Coast/Clementi and they are helping with the kids so not fair to make them commute too far I guess....so have to live with the sticker shock at Clementi.

Give u a tip, use wrought iron paint to paint your stair rail. Normal paint will not last. I done up sliding door, don't like the folding one cause my experience with folding door is not good, tends to spoilt easily.

Hihi!

yah, using the same paint to paint stair rail and toilet pipes hahaha. The wooden part cannot paint one, as you say, the paint won't last, which is why the previous owner spent days and days sanding the paint off to get back to woody look. But the rails are not wood so have to paint with the paint for metals.

I explored the sliding door option, which is much much much much cheaper. But not practical as it will cover the switches for the lights. The alumnium or acrylic fold doors don't go with my overall look of the house wither, which is teakdy woody (aka old fashioned) and beigey granite. So the kitchen door will be the most expensive reno item cos got to build the nyatoh door frame and nyatoh fold door. the wooden folding doors are sturdier - the one in my rented apartment at Gillman Heights has exited for over 20 years and looks okay still .... hopefully this works. Cannot imagine constructing one door could be so troublesome hahaha.

Dear All,

I just bought an EM @ Clementi, 23 years old, well-maintained unit. 150 sq m, but it isn't a corner unit. Not doing any renovation work as the recent renovation was done 5 years back and it was well done. Not 100% to my taste, but the condition is too good to redo. Bought at valuation, though price is still high.... moving in Oct.

I'm converting the dining area to a study area with two L-shaped tables - will be using the area outside the kitchen as the dining area.

Thanks for all the tips received on this thread.

Best regards

Hi Chronograph,

It is a low floor unit (not ground floor) and at Clementi Ave 6, not Sunset, so it is lower than 600k. No complaints as the owner has a super metoculous maid that has upkept the house very well - she puts chairs back in their place when it is slightly out of place etc. Still, am changing the room doors, painting the whole house, changing toilet bowls and some light fittings plus ceiling fans and changing curtains (EM has so many windows and windows are soooo long - total about 15k inclusive of some new furniture pieces. Flooring is granite and parquet, so can't bear to hack as it is in pristine condition - kitchen already has solid countertop (in white). And no more balcony as living room has been extended and levelled with balcony, which is what I prefer. Still, I wish the older EMs had a smaller balcony.

Congrates on ur purchase! Clementi is good, lots of buses to go everywhere. :P Ooo! Is it the one facing the temple? Think that area should be very windy bah. :)

hi decruz, flat was 565k. in fact we transacted without knowing the price!! we just agreed to transact at valuation and it took two weeks to obtain the valuation. i like the owner very much - ht was super honest and i spent half a day yesterday listening to him brief me on the house - like the 7 tel points, switches, socket points, and he honestly told me he didn't install enough cable points (though i will probably stick with wireless internet) etc.

i will be painting the whole house white and the rooms orchid white. is that strange? i think white helps to make the house look bigger leh, and i prefer to use drapes and furniture to add colour. but dunno whether it is funny to paint ceiling cornice and walls all white leh....

Hello. Ok! Congrats once again! I didnt overhaul my EM too...the previous owner did the kitchen a few years back and they have 6 aircons installed recently, thus I spent on toilet and MBR and living room.

I didnt even do the tiles. :)

Hi dsman, how to post picture? then i can show you what happened to my balcony - it doesn't exist any more.

Hello. U can try flickr.com to upload ya pics! :)

Hello. Ok! Congrats once again! I didnt overhaul my EM too...the previous owner did the kitchen a few years back and they have 6 aircons installed recently, thus I spent on toilet and MBR and living room.

I didnt even do the tiles. :)

me too! oh my unit doesn't have aircon in the living room. funny never change flooring or anything like that but still some adjustments to the fittings and furnishings can still cost quite a bit hor...:) oh i bought 5 ceiling fans and all with light kits to solve my light problem. no L box or false ceiling cos the cornices are very ncie and i didn't want to upset them. Also in my previous EC i did L boxes and comapred with a unit without the L boxes, it really does look a lot smaller.

Congrates on ur purchase! Clementi is good, lots of buses to go everywhere. :P Ooo! Is it the one facing the temple? Think that area should be very windy bah. :)

yar yar! busstop almost literally just downstairs :P heh.

you are very familiar with clementi hehehe, yar facing the fire station more than the temple cos my unit is perpendicular to but still quite near the main road (commonwealth ave west) yah very windy so not installing aircons in living room. i always thought low floor no wind one but was pleasantly surprised!

argh i suddenly craving for rocky's pizza. you see that's why sunset location good ler.

yar yar! busstop almost literally just downstairs :P heh.

you are very familiar with clementi hehehe, yar facing the fire station more than the temple cos my unit is perpendicular to but still quite near the main road (commonwealth ave west) yah very windy so not installing aircons in living room. i always thought low floor no wind one but was pleasantly surprised!

argh i suddenly craving for rocky's pizza. you see that's why sunset location good ler.

Clementi side is a nice place. Near to expressway and mins drive to JE/IMM/Clementi central. I am also staying at low floor with tress infront n back. And i was also surprise by the strong wind that came in!

yah it did not occur to me how important it is to stay near expressway. nowadays the roads so jammed, though i am staying so much nearer town, getting from gillman heights to CTE entrance at bukit merah entails soooooo many traffic lights and takes an unbelievably long time at times.

noticed you are staying at bukit gombak - used to live at bukit batok and over the years, wah the road bukit batok east ave 3 leading to the pie/aye - got almost impossible after a while..... bukit batok central got a couple of blocks of new EMs but prices also quite high.......

how to upload photos onto this forum/this thread i mean? thanks much!

yah it did not occur to me how important it is to stay near expressway. nowadays the roads so jammed, though i am staying so much nearer town, getting from gillman heights to CTE entrance at bukit merah entails soooooo many traffic lights and takes an unbelievably long time at times.

noticed you are staying at bukit gombak - used to live at bukit batok and over the years, wah the road bukit batok east ave 3 leading to the pie/aye - got almost impossible after a while..... bukit batok central got a couple of blocks of new EMs but prices also quite high.......

You cant upload pics to the forum directly. U need to host the pictures somewhere and use the insert image tag to point to the link.

go to www.photobucket.com sign up a free account an follow de steps.. kinda idiot proof de..

Clementi! those 20X area?

I happen to teach in that area =p

Edited by Hiera