tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Harlow! Ya, there very x hor? Those newer ones directly next to West Mall around 550+k liao. And those across the road (Blk 100plus) also around the same, even though they are around 10yrs older than the newer ones.

Have u view any of the units at BB? When my hb and I heard tat it's ard 550+k, we decided against it and told the agents that we do not wana view liao.

Hehe.. I'm in the same situation as u. I'm looking for Jurong area, so that next time wen we bring our kids to my aunt's place for her to take care, it'll be much easier.

I heard the Jurong area should be cheaper, am still hoping the market will come down. I still prefer BB if possible, then my mum wun have to travel far.

I have 2 friend staying in BB's EMs. One is very nicer done and its near the West Mall. The other is the original set up nearer to Bt Gombak MRT, very noisy can hear the MRT.

My agent advise me that if can get a move in condition EM at BB, even at 500k plus should be quite ok.

I dunno, judging from what i read on this thread, even minimum reno would cost 40-50k :jawdrop:

Still waiting for my agent to arrange for some viewings, that's bcoz i had some specific requirements. I quite niao actually. hahahaha

Edited by Arahawak

Some good news for those on a lookout for EMs.

I am not sure if this is accurate, but my agent say to wait abit, Oct '08 to Feb '09 is the critical period. Market may drop. If you buy now, the only worry is you buy high. :bangwall:

I am playing the waiting game for now.

I heard the Jurong area should be cheaper, am still hoping the market will come down. I still prefer BB if possible, then my mum wun have to travel far.

I have 2 friend staying in BB's EMs. One is very nicer done and its near the West Mall. The other is the original set up nearer to Bt Gombak MRT, very noisy can hear the MRT.

My agent advise me that if can get a move in condition EM at BB, even at 500k plus should be quite ok.

I dunno, judging from what i read on this thread, even minimum reno would cost 40-50k :jawdrop:

Still waiting for my agent to arrange for some viewings, that's bcoz i had some specific requirements. I quite niao actually. hahahaha

Yoz,

Ya, Jurong area is cheaper in terms of val, but cov is higher then BB leh. Tink BB asking for lesser cov cuz the val already so high, so owners dun need to ask for mre cov. Those EMs in Jurong tat we enquired, all asking min 30k cov, even for those on 2nd flr. Higher flrs dun need to say, even mre la. Haiz..

Haha.. tink the least reno amt will be Jessie. Her's ard 12-13k onli. hehe.. Can go chk out her t-blog to see what she's renovating. hehe..

Some good news for those on a lookout for EMs.

I am not sure if this is accurate, but my agent say to wait abit, Oct '08 to Feb '09 is the critical period. Market may drop. If you buy now, the only worry is you buy high. :bangwall:

I am playing the waiting game for now.

Haha.. I did hear this from afew agents as well. Hope that it's true. But scarly mkt drop then all EM owners hold on to their units and dun sell... :(

Edited by Angel81

Yoz,

Ya, Jurong area is cheaper in terms of val, but cov is higher then BB leh. Tink BB asking for lesser cov cuz the val already so high, so owners dun need to ask for mre cov. Those EMs in Jurong tat we enquired, all asking min 30k cov, even for those on 2nd flr. Higher flrs dun need to say, even mre la. Haiz..

Haha.. tink the least reno amt will be Jessie. Her's ard 12-13k onli. hehe.. Can go chk out her t-blog to see what she's renovating. hehe..

Haha.. I did hear this from afew agents as well. Hope that it's true. But scarly mkt drop then all EM owners hold on to their units and dun sell... :(

Can point me to her t-blog? I think she is the luckiest EM owner so far to get it w/o COV from what i read la.

Market falling is a double edged sword.

hi, all

A new Em owner at tampines area. nice to meet you guys.

Just collected my key on August, started to source for reno firm recently..(due to 7 month..haha).

I got my first quotation which is ard 65k basically whole house floor, tiles, toilet build over. Is this price reasonable for EM?

Saw alot of EM in tampines area shield up their balcony with some kind of aluminium blind, which cover the whole opening of the balcony to block rain and sunlight. Looking to get one as well. Any owner of such gadget here? :)

happy homing..

hi, all

A new Em owner at tampines area. nice to meet you guys.

Just collected my key on August, started to source for reno firm recently..(due to 7 month..haha).

I got my first quotation which is ard 65k basically whole house floor, tiles, toilet build over. Is this price reasonable for EM?

Saw alot of EM in tampines area shield up their balcony with some kind of aluminium blind, which cover the whole opening of the balcony to block rain and sunlight. Looking to get one as well. Any owner of such gadget here? :)

happy homing..

U can do roofing/awning to your balcony. Am doing it right now...... still waiting for HDB approval before proceeding.

hi hi all ;)

hey Angel,.....i'd been lazy and did not even go up to my hse to check things out....hahaha :D

was told that they will be doing 1st round of washing on this Sat....think better take pix after they clean so that it won't be so messy lor.

will post up the pix here once took the pix.

also, this sat will install my new wrought iron gate

shouldnt be a problem......

why you so confident?

i really hope can sell that $$$ then i can *fly* liao....keke :)

Hi Mrsv,

i can totally empathise with you. My place is very old and needs to be totally revamped too, and i dun have the benefit of a parquet floor on level 2. So far, all the IDs and contractors have came back to me with a quotation of ~55k. This does not include all the box up pippings and other decorative features.

One of my ID have even quoted me 80k and the worst thing is, I like his design the most. haha.

Have anyone used timber strips for their flooring? I totally love the feel of stepping on timber but the big trade off would be cost.

Hi sundrops,

sorry for my delayed reply.. i've been busy doing garage sale, moving in with my mom while working with contractor on quote and design.. VERY busy!

Well, i just finished scrutinizing my contractor's quote - he reduced to 66k but still high. I realised his cabinetry is VERY expensive, while hacking and laying tiles etc are reasonable. Do u know, my shoe cabinet which acts as a divider between maid's room n dining is costing me more than 2000?! and it isnt even near 5ft long! and for wrought iron stairs he's charging 3800.. i definitely want to trim that one down..

my contractor says cannot box up water pipes in toilets.. :(

Hi sundrops,

sorry for my delayed reply.. i've been busy doing garage sale, moving in with my mom while working with contractor on quote and design.. VERY busy!

Well, i just finished scrutinizing my contractor's quote - he reduced to 66k but still high. I realised his cabinetry is VERY expensive, while hacking and laying tiles etc are reasonable. Do u know, my shoe cabinet which acts as a divider between maid's room n dining is costing me more than 2000?! and it isnt even near 5ft long! and for wrought iron stairs he's charging 3800.. i definitely want to trim that one down..

my contractor says cannot box up water pipes in toilets.. :(

My contractor quote me wrought iron rail for $2145 @ 33ft run. But i didn't do it, paint only to save cost.

Juz went for my HDB 1st appointment yesterday morning, was worried could not wake up on time as appointment was at 0815am siah.. :(

Process was quite smooth..expected hand over or 2nd appointment date is ard 01-12/10/08 but since agreed before hand to a 1 month extension. So should take over unit by mid nov 08... :dancingqueen:

sad part was giving my hard earn savings away as COV.. :(

Juz went for my HDB 1st appointment yesterday morning, was worried could not wake up on time as appointment was at 0815am siah.. :(

Process was quite smooth..expected hand over or 2nd appointment date is ard 01-12/10/08 but since agreed before hand to a 1 month extension. So should take over unit by mid nov 08... :dancingqueen:

sad part was giving my hard earn savings away as COV.. :(

how much do you have to come up with your COV?