tristesse

Mansionette Owner

acrylic.jpg

YIPPEEEEE!!! this is my gate with the acrylic. later i go over during lunch time n i go take pics of my neighbor's house door which is about 6 month old and damaged by the rain water. =)

Aiyo.. still cannot. hahahaha.. wait wait.. i go figure it out

I install the bamboo blind to blocking the rain & sun,It's really work and not that costly

Oh the roller screens are installed by HDB FOC I think. Installation at the common corridor so think has to be done by HDB.

I think my neighbours use the acrylic panel not only to keep the rain water away but also stray animals.

However, if really heavy rain and strong winds coming in the direction of the door, I dont think it will stop the rain water from splashing on the main door.

Stray animals? You mean non-ground floor units the stray animals also will go up and erm... explore?

True re: really heavy rain/strong winds. Encountered a handful of times where the entire door got wet.

YIPPEEEEE!!! this is my gate with the acrylic. later i go over during lunch time n i go take pics of my neighbor's house door which is about 6 month old and damaged by the rain water. =)

Thanks for the pic!

How come 6 month old door so easily damaged? What material is the door made of? Mine is Nyatoh and still doing ok after a year plus. My old main door also was re-usable even tho I think it's 16 yo.

I don't really like the outlook of the entrance after putting the acrylic panel. Perhaps waterproofing the door and inatallibg those door "brushes" at the bottom door to prevent water / dust from coming in may be good enough :)

door2.jpg

This door is the old type.. my neighbor moved in 18yrs ago. dun think they change b4

door1.jpg

this door is less than a yr old. they bought the house last nov n reno for++ stay for about 8months. this is a veneer door if i'm not wrong

I didnt like the idea of the acrylic panel n did think of other ways to "waterproof" the door but then it seems quite silly to stick transparent laminate etc on the door. in the end, we thought the most long term measure was to install the acrylic. will probably install bamboo chip blinds at the corridor but then again, that will look quite unsightly after a while when it starts to mould/rot.

Oh.. and to add.. we wanted a dark colored door but becoz we saw our neighbor's door faded so we change to light coloured door

Edited by Piggicia

door2.jpg

This door is the old type.. my neighbor moved in 18yrs ago. dun think they change b4

door1.jpg

this door is less than a yr old. they bought the house last nov n reno for++ stay for about 8months. this is a veneer door if i'm not wrong

I didnt like the idea of the acrylic panel n did think of other ways to "waterproof" the door but then it seems quite silly to stick transparent laminate etc on the door. in the end, we thought the most long term measure was to install the acrylic. will probably install bamboo chip blinds at the corridor but then again, that will look quite unsightly after a while when it starts to mould/rot.

Oh.. and to add.. we wanted a dark colored door but becoz we saw our neighbor's door faded so we change to light coloured door

Wah. Valuable lesson learnt. Thanks.

aiyo.. i'm like the noob-est person here lor.. trying not to make too many mistakes in my reno n hopefully the reno can last. =) Learnt lots from here n envy all the glass panel staircases.. keke.. too bad too out of budget n have too many kids to make the glass a possibility. =)

My reno is almost wrapping up! 1 Dec will be Moving Day.. FSM said to move in on 9th but we decided to move in a week early if not gotta stay in the hotel for a week. Everything is done except the kitchen solid surface. today my other contractor is laying the chengai decking for the balcony.. happy happy. =)

aiyo.. i'm like the noob-est person here lor.. trying not to make too many mistakes in my reno n hopefully the reno can last. =) Learnt lots from here n envy all the glass panel staircases.. keke.. too bad too out of budget n have too many kids to make the glass a possibility. =)

My reno is almost wrapping up! 1 Dec will be Moving Day.. FSM said to move in on 9th but we decided to move in a week early if not gotta stay in the hotel for a week. Everything is done except the kitchen solid surface. today my other contractor is laying the chengai decking for the balcony.. happy happy. =)

Congrats on your reno completion and finally got to move in.Hope you have get the blessings done before moving in..... Btw, what is chengai decking?

Edited by potatoes

Congrats on your reno completion and finally got to move in.Hope you have get the blessings done before moving in..... Btw, what is chengai decking?

It's a type of outdoor wood for my balcony. So walk on wood instead of tiles lor. I just found out yesterday from neighbor that she didn't jump from the house but from the lift landing. They saw the body so trust their story. We will just do FSM recommendation n nothing else religious. Hope everything ok lor

Oh dear. Really bad huh? Maybe can consider asking HDB to install roller screen for your door. But am surprised the 8 month door is showing signs of weathering. Does your front door get rained on very often? My old door condition was ok so fingers crossed that my current door will continue to look ok. All good so far.

Pics pls! Or are you starting a t-blog? :)

Hehe. Congrats. I also try to work within budget de. Quite an accomplishment to seeing the transformation of renovation.

Ya. Was advised that 9 Dec is a good day to move too. But most prob moving mid next week. My ID doing some touch up and cleaning before hand over this weekend.

All the Best. Huat Ah!

Aiya.. But I can't possibly stay hotel from 1st to 9th right? Some more got 2 young kids. A bit crazy la. Forget about the 9th. Actually 2nd isn't that bad too.. Just that 9th is the best day in Dec.

Maybe I'll post some pics up.. I too noob to do up a T-blog la.. But ya.. It's nice to watch the transformation. I get happier every day..

Hehe. Congrats. I also try to work within budget de. Quite an accomplishment to seeing the transformation of renovation.

Ya. Was advised that 9 Dec is a good day to move too. But most prob moving mid next week. My ID doing some touch up and cleaning before hand over this weekend.

All the Best. Huat Ah!

Aiya.. But I can't possibly stay hotel from 1st to 9th right? Some more got 2 young kids. A bit crazy la. Forget about the 9th. Actually 2nd isn't that bad too.. Just that 9th is the best day in Dec.

Maybe I'll post some pics up.. I too noob to do up a T-blog la.. But ya.. It's nice to watch the transformation. I get happier every day..

Ya. Pls post some pics when u got time. Share your happiness and accomplishment. We learn from here, we also must return favor mah.

Projected mid next week to shift boxes for me la.

Ya. Understand got young kids quite difficult. They shift house and bigger space everyone happy can already.

I also got two kids. Both upper primary le....

All the best for your moving. :yamseng:

Just like some places have soft launch and official opening, you could probably do the same - move in on your desired date and then officially move in with all the ceremony, etc on the 9th. Problem solved.

Can meh?? Initial plan was to moving day 1Dec then do the "enter house ceremony" on the 9th morning. But according to FSM is the sleeping there that counts. But since we not so superstitious n it's not 7th month or a significantly bad day, then we think just do it la. Haha..

My place is well maintained (coz vacant & haunted) in original condition. We changed downstairs drastically but kept upstairs almost as-is.. On a whole, besides the suicide that dampen our spirits.. We are v excited to move into the place.. But.. I hate moving!! It's so painful!! Oh.. Unpacking is a nightmare too.. Gasp!!

Can meh?? Initial plan was to moving day 1Dec then do the "enter house ceremony" on the 9th morning. But according to FSM is the sleeping there that counts. But since we not so superstitious n it's not 7th month or a significantly bad day, then we think just do it la. Haha..

My place is well maintained (coz vacant & haunted) in original condition. We changed downstairs drastically but kept upstairs almost as-is.. On a whole, besides the suicide that dampen our spirits.. We are v excited to move into the place.. But.. I hate moving!! It's so painful!! Oh.. Unpacking is a nightmare too.. Gasp!!

Go for a holiday with the kids...... although short notice, maybe its good to go visit the in-laws? Otherwise a staycation...... there are cheap/reasonable hotels in Singapore if you know where to look? Sometimes you got to ask yourself, how much money would buy you peace of mind... and if you can afford it, probably its money worth spending.