tristesse

Mansionette Owner

My awning motor is faulty. Unable to hoist up! Only can heard the motor running when pressing the roll down switch. Call a few contractor to fix appt. Mostly quote - switch faulty - $180/- Motor faulty (included scafolding and a new switch)- $950/-

Faint*

Bento28,

How long have u been using the awning. I need to get a system that is good and reliable. There is no need to get Hdb approval right?

Edited by potatoes

There is no need to get Hdb approval right?

There you go...

Very easy to check. Just refer to 'Awning':

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/HomeRenoGuidelinesBuilding?OpenDocument

Totally allowed, no permit required. Just drive along PIE and you'll see that hundreds/thousands of EM owners have installed such shutters. I don't think any owner would flout illegal installations so blatantly... :)

Types of Building Work: Installation of retractable canvas awning up to single storey height within balcony of double storey executive maisonette

Need Permit?: No

Subject to the Following Guidelines/ Conditions:

- Awning is to be fixed at the upper floor beam structure (Note: Fixing onto refuse chute wall is not allowed).

- The retractable awning should not protrude beyond the balcony

Types of Building Work: Installation of roller shutter at double story balcony [Note: This is not applicable for loft unit]

Need Permit?: No

Subject to the Following Guidelines/ Conditions: Installation must not be fixed onto refuse chute wall.

Lizards / lizard poops.... I use the traps but sometimes they r so smart... They refuse to get into the sticky trap leh... Haha :)

I also use insect spray to exterminate them and prevent them from reproducing in my place. Have killed more than 10 lizards since I moved in last Oct.

Eww... their bodies creep me out. I can't handle touching their bodies... :help: How do you pick up the dead ones?

I can't even stand holding the cardboard with the dead lizard... :bleah: :bleah: :bleah:

I shoo them away - they help to keep other nasty insects at bay! My wife refuses to let me kill them anyway, and I suppose they're quite harmless. Only needs us to keep cleaning up after their poop. If you had a pet dog/cat you'd have to do the same...... :thumbs up:

Haha, that's why I can't keep pets! And I really really hate to clean up lizard poop on walls. Super gross. :bleah:

Actually a cat will help you shoo them away. =X

Erm, HDB not allowed to keep cats. Anyway, we are not pet people lar. The closest to 'pets' I've kept are sea monkeys and I killed them (unintentionally!). So better not inflict my brand of care on innocent lives...

Bento28,

How long have u been using the awning. I need to get a system that is good and reliable. There is no need to get Hdb approval right?

As infd by TS, no permit required! Yeah!!

I does not know my awning contractor as my unit is a Pre-loved!!

Maybe u can considered Paul aluminum as recommend by TS.

Adidaem,

U don't keep a bigger "problem" to remove the small "problem"

Cat's fur, furniture scratch marks, etc. anyway if your cat is well -fed, they dun bother to catch those pesty!! Maybe play to kill them n u hav to dispose em... Yucky

I shoo them away - they help to keep other nasty insects at bay! My wife refuses to let me kill them anyway, and I suppose they're quite harmless. Only needs us to keep cleaning up after their poop. If you had a pet dog/cat you'd have to do the same...... :thumbs up:

I hate to clean their poop. After cleaning, they still leave marks on the wall. What is even more disgusting is they sometimes crawl up my kitchen table to look for food. I dare not leave any food exposed for fear they might have walk over it without my knowledge! Haha... If anyone has good ways of getting rid of them, do share :)

We don’t have kids or a fear of heights. Guess most people can’t install such windows and install grills for safety or security reasons. :P

Hate grills cos it gives the prison effect.

p1050011.jpg

p1050012.jpg

p1050086.jpg

We did install window grills on the corridor side for security reason.

No roof cos I love the double volume space and want to keep the balcony. We have installed roller shutters tho cos it can get really windy and we get a bit worried about the fan and balcony doors.

Ur place looks so clean, neat and spacious. It is always an uphill task for me when it comes to maintaining it. With 2 teenage kids in my place makes it even more challenging. Things are growing and ever increasing..... Soon an EM will be too small for me. Haha :)

Bento28,

Offhand, I could suggest checking out coffeeshop awnings where they open and close it several times a day - sometimes the manufacturer's label is still on the awning.

When I repaired mine, I was advised not to open and close it within a short span of time because the motor could overheat(!). So far its still ok though.

Ur place looks so clean, neat and spacious. It is always an uphill task for me when it comes to maintaining it. With 2 teenage kids in my place makes it even more challenging. Things are growing and ever increasing..... Soon an EM will be too small for me. Haha :)

Aiya, you have kids and I don't so cannot compare. :)

Plus I tidy up before I take photos! My kitchen island and dining table is usually a mess cos we just dump stuff on the available surfaces. Actually those are old photos from before I installed cabinets under the window. Am waiting for a new piece of furniture before I take new pics.

I know with 2 pax for an EM we have ample living space, but I do frequently wonder where to move to after this. Must be centrally located with good transport network, must be spacious, and must still be affordable! Think cannot find... :P

Eww... their bodies creep me out. I can't handle touching their bodies... :help: How do you pick up the dead ones?

I can't even stand holding the cardboard with the dead lizard... :bleah: :bleah: :bleah:

Haha, that's why I can't keep pets! And I really really hate to clean up lizard poop on walls. Super gross. :bleah:

Erm, HDB not allowed to keep cats. Anyway, we are not pet people lar. The closest to 'pets' I've kept are sea monkeys and I killed them (unintentionally!). So better not inflict my brand of care on innocent lives...

Yes, you are correct that HDB cannot keep cats because they need the space to roam about and **** in other people's plants(thats y they are banned). Our's is a strictly indoor cat, which has low survivability outdoors, so no diff from keeping hamsters/rabbits. A well trained cat has relatively little maintenance, it decides when to eat and always **** in the litter. I've heard of cats that are trained to use the loo including the flush, but i dont have spare loo..

Aiya, you have kids and I don't so cannot compare. :)

Plus I tidy up before I take photos! My kitchen island and dining table is usually a mess cos we just dump stuff on the available surfaces. Actually those are old photos from before I installed cabinets under the window. Am waiting for a new piece of furniture before I take new pics.

I know with 2 pax for an EM we have ample living space, but I do frequently wonder where to move to after this. Must be centrally located with good transport network, must be spacious, and must still be affordable! Think cannot find... :P

Wah adidaem, 2 persons staying in an EM is indeed a luxury.

Thanks for the encouragement. Now I dont feel guilty about my "messy" place.

WIth kids around, no matter how hard I train them to put things back after using / cleanup their place after working, it works for a while and after that it is back to their usual messy lifestyle.:furious:

It is true that it is hard to get a good location @ an affordable price. I have looked around for more than a year. With rising cost, I would be most contented to stay in my EM for a long time and I dont expect any drastic drop in the price of housing in years to come.

Yes, you are correct that HDB cannot keep cats because they need the space to roam about and **** in other people's plants(thats y they are banned). Our's is a strictly indoor cat, which has low survivability outdoors, so no diff from keeping hamsters/rabbits. A well trained cat has relatively little maintenance, it decides when to eat and always **** in the litter. I've heard of cats that are trained to use the loo including the flush, but i dont have spare loo..

Oh ya, like the cat in Meet the Fockers right? :)

Wah adidaem, 2 persons staying in an EM is indeed a luxury.

Thanks for the encouragement. Now I dont feel guilty about my "messy" place.

WIth kids around, no matter how hard I train them to put things back after using / cleanup their place after working, it works for a while and after that it is back to their usual messy lifestyle.:furious:

It is true that it is hard to get a good location @ an affordable price. I have looked around for more than a year. With rising cost, I would be most contented to stay in my EM for a long time and I dont expect any drastic drop in the price of housing in years to come.

We are both super space wasters, if you go by government planner thinking... But it doesn't feel too big for us. Space is just right, and if anything I am worried there isn't enough space if family expansion happens. For this, I envy my Malaysian family/friends who stay in nice big houses/apartments. Based on casual chat they say about 1,800 sqft and above is normal for a family. Then again, my Hong Kong friends tell me 1000-1100 sqft is quite a 'luxury' size for a family in Hong Kong (the HK dramas show unrealistically big apartments!) so we just count our blessings lor.

Hehe, I am not a kid but also messy... 8| But I think EM is good for families toilet sharing wise anyway. 1 for mum & dad, 1 for kids to share, 1 downstairs for grandparents (assuming they stay downstairs for convenience/less climbing) and/or maid. It can be such a pain to wait your turn to visit the loo...

Btw today is a very windy day (from the Southern direction) and my fairly new roller shutters are being put to good use blocking the wind in the balcony. Now I understand why so many of my neighbors have installed roller shutters even tho my block doesn't really get the afternoon sun. Glad to have the wind back tho I wish it's a little less strong. Then again, I don't even have to switch on the fans today.

As for price... if the economy tanks, I'm prepared for a significant fall in ppty prices. But will just enjoy the place for the next 4 years and not think so much.

How is your awning project coming along?

Edited by adidaem

Going to collect my key tomorrow at 4pm ;-). Yesterday when for final inspection on can said I got a good seller they clean up the place for me and even teach me how to maintain the dryer. :-)

Kchinbeng, u must be very excited to collect your keys today.

Anyway, congrats!

Where is your EM? The last time you said u were looking for one in the east.

y

Kchinbeng, u must be very excited to collect your keys today.

Anyway, congrats!

Where is your EM? The last time you said u were looking for one in the east.

Yup. Bought one directly opposite loyang sec school