tristesse

Mansionette Owner

was planning to upgrade my home to either a EA or EM next year when I hit the MOP.

Just wanna check, any idea where is the youngest EM, cause most EM are hitting 20 yrs old.

Another thing, anyone knows whether you can remove the staircase and change it to spiral one? :P

Spiral staircase looks nice and saves space but how to get your bed and mattress upstairs :bangwall::D.

Got keys. Reno started today.

RB

Spiral staircase looks nice and saves space but how to get your bed and mattress upstairs :bangwall::D.

Got keys. Reno started today.

RB

Hmm, everything built in lor :) can always use futon instead of mattress. But not sure whether it is legal for HDB EM.

Then I would suggest build in stuff before change stairs else cannot get wood to build in stuff up stairs ;) .

Suspect cannot be done but would look great if it could. Maybe a curving staircase would also look nice but suspect HDB see the stairs as structural so no touchy touchy.

I like the floating stairs which are just attached to the wall with no underneath support.

Oh and spiral stairs also loose storage area under standard EM stairs.

RB

was planning to upgrade my home to either a EA or EM next year when I hit the MOP.

Just wanna check, any idea where is the youngest EM, cause most EM are hitting 20 yrs old.

Another thing, anyone knows whether you can remove the staircase and change it to spiral one? :P

Newest EM are probably in the Toh Guan, Sembawang, and Seng Kang area.

I don't think you can change the staircase but I may be wrong though. Best to check with HDB for approval.

Staircase can change, those on the walls can be done. need approval. Heard on of my friends doing it.

Can change to what extent ?

Can change to ladder, spiral etc (changing the whole shape and structure) or can change handrails and material of the steps.

I am also interested as we hate the stairs we currently have :)

RB

In theory, some EM will have a void area right? Wouldn't it allow you to "lift" any items to the 2nd floor? :)

I think the bulky staircase really waste of space and kinda ugly, heh.

Tampines are around 550->600k+ from what I saw when looking at the end of last year.

We did see one for around 525K+ 17->20K COV but it needed a full reno, 2nd floor next to a busy road.

RB

Get a good agent as the agencies have their own lists which are not available on-line. We found ours through the agent and half the places we viewed were not on the websites.

I can give details of our agent who was pretty good for us if you wish. Just PM me. Any ERA agent should have the same access to the list he had.

RB

Got a question for those who already own an EM le. The resale i bought already had the utility room hacked away liao. I realise the problem of storage comes in wor. Any ideas how we can get storage area without goin to the 2nd level. I tot of false wall coverin half of the ex utility room to make storage but it seems like its not enuff. My head is bursting from thinking where i can have this storage area, coz i dun really wanna use the whole ex-utility room again.

Also, i heard there a a few places along paya lebar road where there are a few good local furniture shops but i dun exactly know where. Anyone have any idea?

Thanks in advance for answering my noob questions.

Under the staircase? You can have a little storage area there. I managed to slot in two Toyogo 4-level storage chest of drawers in there and still have space on the side for ironing board and vacuum cleaner.

The alternative is also that the lack of the utility room forces you to minimize the tendency to hoard and add clutter.