tristesse

Mansionette Owner

of course by left can. Who's the owner? U or the contractor? If anything happen, HDB will be holding you responsible and your contractor can run anytime.

I also want to cover that void area, extending my master bed room but my contractor advice me not too, follow HDB guide lines.

Thanks for the reply...I understand there are people whom actually did this according to a contractor.

Hence wanted to clarify if this was a "by right cannot by left can" issue.

How much you spend for your marble floor polishing? railing redo ex? Nowadays EM advertise awhile, str8 ppl OTP. Now alot good EM ard at hougang area. When my turn to find a good EM. :(

Marble plus parquet flooring I think it was less than 1.5k, the railings was about 5k because the glass had to be custom cut and fitted for each panel.

EMs are quite a lot more expensive than back in January. Good luck finding one, don't give up.

Marble plus parquet flooring I think it was less than 1.5k, the railings was about 5k because the glass had to be custom cut and fitted for each panel.

EMs are quite a lot more expensive than back in January. Good luck finding one, don't give up.

Full Glass on staircase 5k? Mind snap shot? I ask ppl, they said ard 10k. Yours look cheap. Glass for railing look cool and spacious.

of course by left can. Who's the owner? U or the contractor? If anything happen, HDB will be holding you responsible and your contractor can run anytime.

I also want to cover that void area, extending my master bed room but my contractor advice me not too, follow HDB guide lines.

Thanks for the advise! I was just thinking about doing it hence need to hear some opinions.

I understand that HDB issues the permit but was just curious if anyone has tried and actually succeeded in applying the permit?

The additional space would really come in handy!

Full Glass on staircase 5k? Mind snap shot? I ask ppl, they said ard 10k. Yours look cheap. Glass for railing look cool and spacious.

Here's a picture:

IMG_3386.jpg

Be prepared to deal with fingerprints though

Here's a picture:

IMG_3386.jpg

Be prepared to deal with fingerprints though

Nice staircase :) With kids sure alot fingerprints around . Atleast look nicer then normal railing.

Hi folks, just signed OTP and got the LOs and should be paying the 4k and book 1st appointment liao.

How do i go about preparing for the reno?

Anywhere i can get ideas for the reno?

Also hor, got budget constraint lor. So wats the best way to save on cost and probably u guys will know wats necessary to do and wats not.

kam sia for the advice in advance.

Prepare for renovation by figuring out your budget and what needs to be done. Do your homework and read reviews about contractors and ID services.

You can get ideas for renovation by raiding the library for local interior design magazines that feature EMs. You can also get ideas from property ads for EMs that are in move-in condition.

What's necessary to do depends on what the condition of the place was in. The money I saved on re-redoing the floors was spent on the staircase and balcony doors. I've seen some EMs that have very outdated flooring tiles or are in very bad condition. You haven't got a choice but to redo it. The oldest EMs are in excess of 20 years old, the youngest are coming close to 10 years. You can save some money coordinating your own work, such as skipping the interior designer's services, bringing in your own aircon/plumber/painter/etc but what you save in money you pay in time. Hope you have a lot of annual leave ready to spend on monitoring your renovation.

Expect to spend quite a lot on toiletware, kitchen cabinetry and appliances. Even going cheap for everything I don't think you can renovate and furnish the whole apartment for less than 50k.

Be prepared......

Prepare for renovation by figuring out your budget and what needs to be done. Do your homework and read reviews about contractors and ID services.

You can get ideas for renovation by raiding the library for local interior design magazines that feature EMs. You can also get ideas from property ads for EMs that are in move-in condition.

What's necessary to do depends on what the condition of the place was in. The money I saved on re-redoing the floors was spent on the staircase and balcony doors. I've seen some EMs that have very outdated flooring tiles or are in very bad condition. You haven't got a choice but to redo it. The oldest EMs are in excess of 20 years old, the youngest are coming close to 10 years. You can save some money coordinating your own work, such as skipping the interior designer's services, bringing in your own aircon/plumber/painter/etc but what you save in money you pay in time. Hope you have a lot of annual leave ready to spend on monitoring your renovation.

Expect to spend quite a lot on toiletware, kitchen cabinetry and appliances. Even going cheap for everything I don't think you can renovate and furnish the whole apartment for less than 50k.

Be prepared......

Dang!!!

like that must go sell backside liao.

But i think luckily the floor no need to do, but kitchen and toilets are must lor.

Thanks for the advice on library books, i bought a few mags but doesn't seem to help alot. Now at least i have a new avenue.

Yes, it is true that HDB issue permit but only to those they list out in the guidelines, things like demolish wall, awning etc. But void area remains void, no chance at all, so don;t waste your time.

My contractor applied for awning permit but got rejected twice cos, the dimension not right. IN fact my contractor had submitted drawing with bigger dimension on the supporting wood block. But HDB said no, must follow guidlines, in the end HDB sent template to me. Use that to apply again and got approved.

Thanks for the advise! I was just thinking about doing it hence need to hear some opinions.

I understand that HDB issues the permit but was just curious if anyone has tried and actually succeeded in applying the permit?

The additional space would really come in handy!

Congrats.

Reno cost smelly smelly 50k up.

Hi folks, just signed OTP and got the LOs and should be paying the 4k and book 1st appointment liao.

How do i go about preparing for the reno?

Anywhere i can get ideas for the reno?

Also hor, got budget constraint lor. So wats the best way to save on cost and probably u guys will know wats necessary to do and wats not.

kam sia for the advice in advance.

Just doing the two toilets upstairs, plus wash area/toilet downstairs, plus kitchen would probably cost you in the region of 20k already. Just think of everything in each toilet, times three. 3 mixer taps, 3 shower heads, 3 toilet bowls...... the kitchen is a pretty standard sized kitchen so it should not cost more than your regular 4A or 5I kitchen to do up. Don't forget the amount of tiling work and cabinetry involved.

Have you got any pre-sale photographs to show? If renovation is more than 10 years old, you'll need to do quite a lot. All the walls probably need replastering.

You can save 2-3k if your windows and grilles are in good condition. Keep the existing doors if they aren't falling apart. If you don't mind the flooring design it can simply be refurbished. Cracks and deep gouges cannot be filled in but everything else can be polished back to look nearly like new. Avoid custom carpentry work like feature walls, cove lighting, etc and you'll save again. Just paint the walls and move your furniture in.

Just doing the two toilets upstairs, plus wash area/toilet downstairs, plus kitchen would probably cost you in the region of 20k already. Just think of everything in each toilet, times three. 3 mixer taps, 3 shower heads, 3 toilet bowls...... the kitchen is a pretty standard sized kitchen so it should not cost more than your regular 4A or 5I kitchen to do up. Don't forget the amount of tiling work and cabinetry involved.

Have you got any pre-sale photographs to show? If renovation is more than 10 years old, you'll need to do quite a lot. All the walls probably need replastering.

You can save 2-3k if your windows and grilles are in good condition. Keep the existing doors if they aren't falling apart. If you don't mind the flooring design it can simply be refurbished. Cracks and deep gouges cannot be filled in but everything else can be polished back to look nearly like new. Avoid custom carpentry work like feature walls, cove lighting, etc and you'll save again. Just paint the walls and move your furniture in.

Just went to exercise the option to purchase and took some pictures. will upload and let u gurus here take a look.

So far i see the 2 toilets upstairs and kitchen definitely need to do. I am also gonna make a WC downstairs plus rewiring. My agent suggest redoing the floor to homogenious tiles, he did his place 5k for that. The wall tiles on kitchen CMI lor, think need to redo also. Bedroom have to do cabinets.

Think my open kitchen concept go up in smoke liao. Hack wall build table island means $$$$.

Think i just have to tahan a bit 1st, when get more $$ then do another time!!

was planning to upgrade my home to either a EA or EM next year when I hit the MOP.

Just wanna check, any idea where is the youngest EM, cause most EM are hitting 20 yrs old.

Another thing, anyone knows whether you can remove the staircase and change it to spiral one? :P