tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Not yet :(

They have changed the appt to tomorrow evening.

I still have one more day to go!

Ha . . .

Which means it's today! Heheheh, just afew more hours to become an official EM owner. :P

Except that:

1. 1st floor no toilet

2. stairs no railings - kids hv nothing to hold on to. hv to do safety gates.

3. my island kitchen concept gone. stove & basin should not be in line - maybe need to change - bad FS

4. the utility room has been nicely done up as a home office area - I dun know what to do with it. ha...

5. Master bedroom - built-in cabinet with mirrors - have to be replaced - bad FS

6. Some storage cabinets laminate has chipped off.

Tot of replacing some with new laminates.

I am impressed by the 3dconcept - hougang EM design. Simply love it.

But as we aren't doing much, approaching a contractor seems more practical.

Just wondering when should I start contacting them.

Uncle Soon, M. Yeak or Jason?

Hehe, seems like u really dun need to do lots of stuff. Good good! Save on reno. Must show us more pics of the place k? :)

I like that hougang EM too! Love the large glass kitchen entrance. I wanted that too, but so x... hahahah. U can always check with them after u've gotten ur 1st appt date. At least there's a rough estimate of when u can get the keys. And since ur reno should be around cny, can check with them when they will start/stop work during that period. U'll be able to plan ur reno timing better. :)

Hi doodbug,

Heard that your unit was not marketed at all. You are lucky yo!

Yes - We loved the white too!

According to agent, should we secure the deal and sign OTP, our 1st appt will most likely be in Nov, which means we will only be able to complete everything in end Jan 2010.

Have to wait soooo long! I am still hoping we can spend CNY there.

Maybe we can still make it, cos we dun think we will be doing much.

As our concept in mind is pretty similar with the current owner!

Box up the stairs - done.

Toilet - re-configured - dun hv to do anything.

Balcony & Recess area nicely done too.

2nd level - Wall partial hacked and replaced to allow natural light in = same idea.

Kitchen storage all up / Cabinets hiding washing machines, microwave - exactly what I hv in mind.

Except that:

1. 1st floor no toilet

3. my island kitchen concept gone. stove & basin should not be in line - maybe need to change - bad FS

4. the utility room has been nicely done up as a home office area - I dun know what to do with it. ha...

5. Master bedroom - built-in cabinet with mirrors - have to be replaced - bad FS

Hi lukecas,

Congrats! Heard your current unit sold liao!

Hi Myswweetlittle things,

hey 667k is not a bad price cos the owner marketed that united for over 700k not too long ago! Which is why I didn't see the unit.

BTW, is it a 3rd level walk up unit? i don't know the details but for hdb, i know i am weird but i favour 2nd/3rd level unis especially now that i have a young daughter and a domestic helper. somehow feel that it is safer that they don't have to take the lift with strangers. okay i know i sound crazy but i was really quite scared of taking lifts when i was young..... and if the window grilles are already installed and are to your liking, you do save alot of money! My favourite is the walk up 3rd level EM :) Except that you have to consider what happens when they do lift upgrading - hopefully doesn't block your view or end up being some obtrusive dunno what.

btw, sunset way maisonettes are unique in they have many different types of layouts, many are not the traditional EM layouts that we know- the whole estate has so many permutations of EM layouts - almost feels like an EM experiment - though those EMs are called 5 room maisonettes (probably because the 4th room isn't really a room like in the 1st generation EMs). Your layout looks good. some of the sunset staircases are very strange, the staircase cuts the living/dining area i.e. the criss cross design rather than alongside the wall. of course the alongside the wall one is better - which yours is.

which school will you be sending your kids to? how old are your children? mine are 3 and 4.

Hi doodbug,

Heard that your unit was not marketed at all. You are lucky yo!

Yes - We loved the white too!

According to agent, should we secure the deal and sign OTP, our 1st appt will most likely be in Nov, which means we will only be able to complete everything in end Jan 2010.

Have to wait soooo long! I am still hoping we can spend CNY there.

Maybe we can still make it, cos we dun think we will be doing much.

As our concept in mind is pretty similar with the current owner!

Box up the stairs - done.

Toilet - re-configured - dun hv to do anything.

Balcony & Recess area nicely done too.

2nd level - Wall partial hacked and replaced to allow natural light in = same idea.

Kitchen storage all up / Cabinets hiding washing machines, microwave - exactly what I hv in mind.

Except that:

1. 1st floor no toilet

Hi lukecas,

Congrats! Heard your current unit sold liao!

Congrats! Waiting for ya t-blog soon! lol

Hi Myswweetlittle things,

hey 667k is not a bad price cos the owner marketed that united for over 700k not too long ago! Which is why I didn't see the unit.

BTW, is it a 3rd level walk up unit? i don't know the details but for hdb, i know i am weird but i favour 2nd/3rd level unis especially now that i have a young daughter and a domestic helper. somehow feel that it is safer that they don't have to take the lift with strangers. okay i know i sound crazy but i was really quite scared of taking lifts when i was young..... and if the window grilles are already installed and are to your liking, you do save alot of money! My favourite is the walk up 3rd level EM :) Except that you have to consider what happens when they do lift upgrading - hopefully doesn't block your view or end up being some obtrusive dunno what.

btw, sunset way maisonettes are unique in they have many different types of layouts, many are not the traditional EM layouts that we know- the whole estate has so many permutations of EM layouts - almost feels like an EM experiment - though those EMs are called 5 room maisonettes (probably because the 4th room isn't really a room like in the 1st generation EMs). Your layout looks good. some of the sunset staircases are very strange, the staircase cuts the living/dining area i.e. the criss cross design rather than alongside the wall. of course the alongside the wall one is better - which yours is.

which school will you be sending your kids to? how old are your children? mine are 3 and 4.

Yes, it's a 3rd level walk-up unit with only 8 units in the block - and no lift. :)

I think it should be quite unlikely to have lift upgrading.

My boys are still very young - 2 yrs old and a 10 months old baby.

Now the older one attending pre-school. :)

I've GOT it!!!!!!!! :yamseng:

Now I understand - if it's yours, it will be yours!

Everything just went so smoothly! Unbelievable!

Hooray!

congratulations! on being such a happy owner! Really i hardly see people so excited and happy over their purchases. I wasn't over the moon over my purchase, more relieved than anything else, haha. you know, the bonus of having a 3/4th level maisonette is that the ceiling is very nice and high on the 4th level :) there is a difference comapred with other non top floor EMs :) I made an offer for a 680k for a Toh Yi walk up level 3/4 EM - one of the reasons was that even with the false ceiling on the top floor, the ceiling was so nice and high and a ceiling fan looked great! the rest of our ceilings are about 2.7m or so :( top level at least 20cm more I believe. congrats congrats congrats!

Hooray!

Yay. congrats!

congratulations! on being such a happy owner! Really i hardly see people so excited and happy over their purchases. I wasn't over the moon over my purchase, more relieved than anything else, haha. you know, the bonus of having a 3/4th level maisonette is that the ceiling is very nice and high on the 4th level :) there is a difference comapred with other non top floor EMs :) I made an offer for a 680k for a Toh Yi walk up level 3/4 EM - one of the reasons was that even with the false ceiling on the top floor, the ceiling was so nice and high and a ceiling fan looked great! the rest of our ceilings are about 2.7m or so :( top level at least 20cm more I believe. congrats congrats congrats!

Thanks all!

I am thrilled cos finally I have a place of my own - a place I call "home"!

doodbug,

I dun recall my unit - [Wow! "MY UNIT" - this really feels good!] - with high ceilings.

But I am satisfied!!!!

Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

Thanks all!

doodbug,

I dun recall my unit - [Wow! "MY UNIT" - this really feels good!] - with high ceilings.

But I am satisfied!!!!

Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

i agree with doodbug. the ceilings are higher for 3/4th fl mansionette. mine's the same @ sin ming ave. you'll enjoy the spaciousness. crossing my fingers for lift upgrade. they said it's coming. check with your town council. congrats on your successful purchase.

Hooray!

Woohoo! Congrates congrates!! Ask ur agent to faster send the documents to HDB. Btw, u guys are still waiting for the valuation report right? When is it coming? :)

Thanks all!

Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

Congratulation! :) Welcome to the Club. I am also on the 3/4th EM cat. Heheh.

Hooray!

hey congrats on your purchase! welcome to Sunset Way Estate! :) yeahh another new neighbour-to-be :P

your block is a good one cos there are only 4 units at your level. So private and exclusive. Moreover, it is a corner! Oh yahh, I recalled you were asking about the floor plan, right? I can pm you my floor plan if you want. Just let me know :)

Keep us updated about the new valuation! Recently, I went to view one em on 2nd floor at block 116, the valuation was $638k and the asking price was $658k! The condition wasn't as good as your unit!

sunset way