tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Dun knw what condition yet, viewing this wk end. If value+cov = about 500k, is it worth? (17 years unit seems very old already, still so high value) Have you bought from resale flat before. How to see the water pipe leaking, white ants problem? any tips to see is it involves with ah long?

actually u cant guage the price of the flat merely by looking at the age of the flat. A number of those EMs in Bishan are close to 20yrs but the fetching price is close to 600k or even more. In fact, majority of the EMs in our little island are already more than 20yrs with some hitting the figure 20 in just a few years time. Only a handful just reached 10yrs like those in Sengkang. I think the youngest lot is 9 yrs old located at Jurong East.

for leakage, zoom in especially on the bathrooms and kitchen's ceilings. Look for tell tale signs of new paint works on the ceilings and do ask questions if u do see any uneven patches on the ceilings. Look at all the ceilings if its a top floor unit as my friend's EM suffered a leak in her MBR after she shifted in but luckily its under the preview of HDB. Just had to put up with the inconvenient and apply leave to oversee the rectification by HDB.

white ants? I'm not sure about this but i think HDB flats are generally safe from white ants. The previous owner of my cousin's place (bungalow) got the contractor to inject some chemicals or treatments to prevent white ants. If its not ground floor then its ok as my dad's friend just got a ground floor 3-room at TPY and the flat had to undergo some major treatment as there were white ants. 3 months later, the white ants came back :bangwall:

Edited by born_again

Hmm...actually there are still many factors. Like, whether the reno in the hse is to ur liking and whether you need to redo alot of things?

And...the direction? and which floor is it?

the environment?

Near Mrt...can the sound be heard? Is it near the main road?

I bought my EM for 470k. Just 5 min walk from Yew Tee MRT, with wet market and Yew Tee Point.

Highest floor also. And minimal reno needed. I spent 22k + 1.4 k for the whole reno.

The place is nice...and quiet and can't even hear a little of the sound of MRT.

Can hear your comments, did you consider DBSS type before like The Peak, City View etc. Convenience place, minimal reno cost, new house?

Reason I asked, need to upgrade to EM to get HDB loan. Because bank loan so high interest.

Hi all EM owners,

I have been reading this thread for a long time.

Currently, I'm staying in a 4 room flat in Sembawang for 9 years +.

I have 2 kids, a boy & a girl age 5 & 9 respectively.

I'm plannig to upgrade to an EM in Sembawang end of this year.

Reason why I choose Sembawang is because we've already gotten use to this place & I don't want my daugther to change to a new school & disrupt her studies as she's already in P3 this year.

Was wandering, is there any Sembawang EM owner here? :D

Would like to know the floor area & how the layout looks like. :P

Sembawang EM owners if you have any floor plan please share. ;)

Hehehe.. soon soon! :dancingqueen:

Tell them sorry, but cannot loh. How can they so late then ask for extension. When will ur contractor start work? If possible, let the sellers stay for a couple of days more or a wk. But I feel that that's the max. Sorry lah, but who ask them ask so late. :P

i scared they will delay mr yeak's time slot....

Hi Poh,

I encounter sort of similiar problem as you. Although, my owner has a valid reason. However, we need to protect ourself if we decided to be soft-hearted and give in a bit. :)

From my own view.

Legal actions end up to be more expensive and time consuming and ugly if we can settle it by talking out terms with the owner. My view is to settle it with owner directly. Owner I think has no right to change the 2nd appointment directly with HDB. Both parties need to agreed upon since it is already fix during the first appointment.

Do you have a property agent? Perhaps, he can be a middleman. Sometimes, a middleman would be easier to talk through and think calmly. Depending on the property agent I guess. For my case, I don't have a property agent, thus, I am going direct with HDB and owner.

Another thing which I thought of is don't turn on the gas and electricity first after second appointment since you know his pattern. I think during second appt; owner need to sign something and terminate the electrcitiy and gas. You can don't turn on first... lock the door; gain access to your EM. Then, u proceed to HDB again to turn on. troublesome. I thought of this...

Hmm...as in legal actions? Yes u can. As the flat is legally yours.

HDB actions? I think they wouldn't do much. They would just concentrate whether paperwork is done and second appt is agreed within 2 parties.

Most people would go for rental basis approach if you are not in the hurry to shift in and reno. I am not sure if you are a traditional chinese....there is 2 ghost month this years.. I think Sept is another ghost month... so you need to calculate your timeline or whether u mind..as reno EM depending on how comphrensive it is....mean X weeks.

Last but not least, my priorities was listed in my mind to solve my issue was.

1. Make sure my wife is happy if I decided on any options. She is not happy. I am in deep ****.

2. I also make sure that if talks failed... I go for: agreed with 50% of his terms and 50% of my terms. For my case, I cut short his proposed second appt date. I manage to cut it back to 2 weeks and both parties agreed. I allow them to stay for extra 1 week also.

3. Friends told me why I give in... 50% of me was because I am soft hearted to be frank after knowing the owner's reason. 50% is because this period before 2nd appt, I don't want hidden problem to occurs. Like owner later hate me...start to "disturb" the stairs....the tiles....watever....since after second appt. is buyer problem.

hmm..can't offer much suggestions or direct answers for u. Can only tell u wht was floating in my mind when I encounter this problem.

last night went to his place...he threatened to kill me and his agent....his wife wants to beat me up....ha..they said their agent did not warn them about contra handing over and taking over......they bang table at us and shouted at us......i really dunno how to handle them...

husband and wife are 50+....plus a 80yr old granny and 20 yr old ns boy son...

if i call police to evict them, would the police give them like 24hrs to move out? what if they still do not want to move out?

should i call police everyday?

i believe his agent would have warned him that he would have to handover the keys and take over keys on same date for contra...

i rem...at the 1st appointment...the HBD office also told him that he had to give me the keys on the 2nd appoinment

Hi all EM owners,

I have been reading this thread for a long time.

Currently, I'm staying in a 4 room flat in Sembawang for 9 years +.

I have 2 kids, a boy & a girl age 5 & 9 respectively.

I'm plannig to upgrade to an EM in Sembawang end of this year.

Reason why I choose Sembawang is because we've already gotten use to this place & I don't want my daugther to change to a new school & disrupt her studies as she's already in P3 this year.

Was wandering, is there any Sembawang EM owner here? :D

Would like to know the floor area & how the layout looks like. :P

Sembawang EM owners if you have any floor plan please share. ;)

In Sembawang, the only block you can find EM units are at block 310. Two years ago, I have wanted to buy an EM unit in this block. However, all the main entrance does not having the direction I needed based on my "8-characters". In the end I shifted to Woodlands (near Admiralty MRT station). The floor plan for this block 310 units is almost the same as mine ... if you do a search, you can find my EM floor plan posted sometimes back in this EM thread.

last night went to his place...he threatened to kill me and his agent....his wife wants to beat me up....ha..they said their agent did not warn them about contra handing over and taking over......they bang table at us and shouted at us......i really dunno how to handle them...

if i call police to evict them, would the police give them like 24hrs to move out? what if they still do not want to move out?

Perhaps you can.....

1. SMS the agent that you might make a police report. Would required his assistance as the witness since there is no voice recording on the threat.

2. SMS the owners that there is no room for negotiation for extension of stay; do not call I suggested. But sms, and if he sms u back with threating words. It can be shown to the police.

3. Notify the HDB officer who liase the resale transaction, and let him know your suituation.

Utimately, after the second appointment, the flat is legally yours. You have every rights to seek helps from the police. Usually, I think the police and HDB will

go up to the flat with u if the family still insist their way. There is still MP who u can seek help.

Hmm...I think police report on the threat is impt... be a real or false threat by the old couple...it will be recorded officially to safe guard you in the near future also.

Can hear your comments, did you consider DBSS type before like The Peak, City View etc. Convenience place, minimal reno cost, new house?

Reason I asked, need to upgrade to EM to get HDB loan. Because bank loan so high interest.

Hello, I didnt think about those as I wanna space.

And I couldnt get a bungalow as I am a poor man...lol...so the next alternative is EM. Both of us love space...and big areas. :)

New house....not into consideration as we tot of getting a hse as soon as we got married...and new hses are small!!

Yeps...we talked about the reno....we tot of choosing the hse which requires the least reno. and yes, we got it! After 3 months of search. The owners are wonderful people. They even clean up the house the day before they passed the keys to us. Very clean!

What actually is the reason that they cant move out? Why they only inform u last min? SInce they make it ugly, dun have to give face. I WILL threaten to sue as well as beat him up as well.

Poh, ur sellers so violent...threathening u leh...I suggest u go make a police record with the agent as a witness.

Try not to see them face to face...u never knw what will happen. I hope they do turn up on the 2nd appt...after that, that house is yours, can ask them to shift out. But with old folks, I am alittle more soft hearted....

Poh, ur sellers so violent...threathening u leh...I suggest u go make a police record with the agent as a witness.

Try not to see them face to face...u never knw what will happen. I hope they do turn up on the 2nd appt...after that, that house is yours, can ask them to shift out. But with old folks, I am alittle more soft hearted....

What if the seller refuse to turn up on the 2nd appt and also dun answer calls? What option do Poh have??

my personally opinion is tat...they can't move out in time....cos they dilly dally...and they only wanted to move little by little a day...

he's a grass root leader...i guess too many people give him face all these while. he said he's RC's head...dunno true or not..

when they threatened me with violence...i could sense that they were stressed and hot tempered...

just called agent to remind the seller that its their duty to invite the buyer for an inspection...what should i take note during the inspection?

What if the seller refuse to turn up on the 2nd appt and also dun answer calls? What option do Poh have??

if my seller doesn't turn up...my seller's seller will sue him......this is what i heard from the my seller's agent.

i scared they will delay mr yeak's time slot....

i believe his agent would have warned him that he would have to handover the keys and take over keys on same date for contra...

i rem...at the 1st appointment...the HBD office also told him that he had to give me the keys on the 2nd appoinment

my personally opinion is tat...they can't move out in time....cos they dilly dally...and they only wanted to move little by little a day...

he's a grass root leader...i guess too many people give him face all these while. he said he's RC's head...dunno true or not..

when they threatened me with violence...i could sense that they were stressed and hot tempered...

just called agent to remind the seller that its their duty to invite the buyer for an inspection...what should i take note during the inspection?

Oh my.. Wat a drama seller u have. But since they are so rude, I feel that u shouldn't be kind back. So wat if he's a RC head. So wat if he's 50+ with 80plus granny. Chinese saying.. He ate more salt that we ate rice. All the more he should know how to be polite and considerate. If he appeal nicely, I would still try to extend however much I can, if I'm u.

Agree with the rest, go ahead and call the police. But it'll be impt to have proof that he's threatening u. If u do meet up with them again, have other people with you who can vouch for u if ur seller threaten u again.

During inspection, take note of any defects. Not too sure wat are the stuff that the sellers have to rectify b4 handing over to u. Maybe u can check at HDB webbie. Take pics of things, esp items that u intend to keep. At least if after 2nd appt, the items are purposely damaged by ur seller, u have pics as evidence and can take out as proof to make them repair for u. :)

U also signed up with Yeak? When do u intend to start ur reno? Hehe, Yeak's good. :D