tristesse

Mansionette Owner

We gave our contractor 5 weeks. Kept floor tiles in living, dining, storeroom, staircase, 2 balconies & all 4 bedrooms. Hack floor tiles in 3 toilets & kitchen. Bathroom amenities, aircons & partial carpentry & partial electrical were ready when we moved in. Most carpentry work not finished. The worst was the solid table tops in kitchen & bathrooms were not ready, which meant taps, sink & cooking hob cannot be installed, we didn't forsee it'll be such a nightmare. It's not fun having to eat out for 3 weeks everyday, and can't do basic washing over sink.

Prioritise what must be done by the time you moved in & tell your contractor.

We made the mistake of not ensuring that cooking facilities must be ready & all sink & tap must be installed when we moved in.

Be prepared to bear with the din of on-going carpentry work after you moved in. May need to touch up cement on corners & edges around windows if you've changed windows as they may not be patched back evenly, and having the workers coming into your rooms with pails of cement walking around your beds, sofa & stuff can be rather nerve-wrecking.

Wow.. 5 weeks and he cant even do most carpentry work???? Mind to share the firm??? This is bad... I am following closely on the work of the ID, he had hacked the whole house in 2 days, and already started to put in tiltes and bathtub, etc by the 4th days.. Finger cross, i also dun want a fast but sloppy job..

*Hi-Five* Totally understand how u feel. hehehehe.. Even the chores are fun when u love the house. hahha

I am looking forward..eagerly for the day to move in :)

Has anybody been played out by seller on the hand over date before? my 2nd appointment is scheduled on 23jun. on 18 jun seller asked for 1 more month for them to move out.

What are the legal actions that I can do?

What actions will HDB take?

my seller is doing contra....his seller handed over to 1 week ahead. but my seller wants 1 more month from me.

My contractor's schedule has been booked. my leave has been applied.....pls help

Has anybody been played out by seller on the hand over date before? my 2nd appointment is scheduled on 23jun. on 18 jun seller asked for 1 more month for them to move out.

my seller is doing contra....his seller handed over to 1 week ahead. but my seller wants 1 more month from me.

My contractor's schedule has been booked. my leave has been applied.....pls help

Is the 23rd appt still on? it it is just go ahead an signed. Officially the house will be yours. Charge them 4K rental per month then. How can they do such act at the last min? I am not sure if they can insist on pushing the 2nd appt later another month thou....

I am looking forward..eagerly for the day to move in :)

Hehehe.. soon soon! :dancingqueen:

Tell them sorry, but cannot loh. How can they so late then ask for extension. When will ur contractor start work? If possible, let the sellers stay for a couple of days more or a wk. But I feel that that's the max. Sorry lah, but who ask them ask so late. :P

Anybody can advise paying for Mansionette (17 years old) at S$480K, is it expensive? Location not bad near MRT. Besides, staying at mansionette is it good?

u face a problem that another forummer shared with me...but his is resolved :)

If they are going to pay u rental and you are not in a hurry to reno, let them stay for another month and earn your rightful. If they are not paying rental to you, just ask your contractor to start work after the 2nd appt! They have no rights to hog on to the place leh...

If they need to extend their stay, they should have discussed with u long ago and not now.

Anybody can advise paying for Mansionette (17 years old) at S$480K, is it expensive? Location not bad near MRT. Besides, staying at mansionette is it good?

u ask EM owners we sure say good!!! hehe...we love our place for sure!

where is the location? but 480K near MRT sounds not too bad to me. wat's the condition of the flat? 480k is it the valuation? or the value+cov?

Hi Poh,

I encounter sort of similiar problem as you. Although, my owner has a valid reason. However, we need to protect ourself if we decided to be soft-hearted and give in a bit. :)

From my own view.

Legal actions end up to be more expensive and time consuming and ugly if we can settle it by talking out terms with the owner. My view is to settle it with owner directly. Owner I think has no right to change the 2nd appointment directly with HDB. Both parties need to agreed upon since it is already fix during the first appointment.

Do you have a property agent? Perhaps, he can be a middleman. Sometimes, a middleman would be easier to talk through and think calmly. Depending on the property agent I guess. For my case, I don't have a property agent, thus, I am going direct with HDB and owner.

Another thing which I thought of is don't turn on the gas and electricity first after second appointment since you know his pattern. I think during second appt; owner need to sign something and terminate the electrcitiy and gas. You can don't turn on first... lock the door; gain access to your EM. Then, u proceed to HDB again to turn on. troublesome. I thought of this...

Hmm...as in legal actions? Yes u can. As the flat is legally yours.

HDB actions? I think they wouldn't do much. They would just concentrate whether paperwork is done and second appt is agreed within 2 parties.

Most people would go for rental basis approach if you are not in the hurry to shift in and reno. I am not sure if you are a traditional chinese....there is 2 ghost month this years.. I think Sept is another ghost month... so you need to calculate your timeline or whether u mind..as reno EM depending on how comphrensive it is....mean X weeks.

Last but not least, my priorities was listed in my mind to solve my issue was.

1. Make sure my wife is happy if I decided on any options. She is not happy. I am in deep ****.

2. I also make sure that if talks failed... I go for: agreed with 50% of his terms and 50% of my terms. For my case, I cut short his proposed second appt date. I manage to cut it back to 2 weeks and both parties agreed. I allow them to stay for extra 1 week also.

3. Friends told me why I give in... 50% of me was because I am soft hearted to be frank after knowing the owner's reason. 50% is because this period before 2nd appt, I don't want hidden problem to occurs. Like owner later hate me...start to "disturb" the stairs....the tiles....watever....since after second appt. is buyer problem.

hmm..can't offer much suggestions or direct answers for u. Can only tell u wht was floating in my mind when I encounter this problem.

Edited by red_devil

Hi Poh,

I encounter sort of similiar problem as you. Although, my owner has a valid reason. However, we need to protect ourself if we decided to be soft-hearted and give in a bit. :)

From my own view.

Legal actions end up to be more expensive and time consuming and ugly if we can settle it by talking out terms with the owner. My view is to settle it with owner directly. Owner I think has no right to change the 2nd appointment directly with HDB. Both parties need to agreed upon since it is already fix during the first appointment.

Do you have a property agent? Perhaps, he can be a middleman. Sometimes, a middleman would be easier to talk through and think calmly. Depending on the property agent I guess. For my case, I don't have a property agent, thus, I am going direct with HDB and owner.

Another thing which I thought of is don't turn on the gas and electricity first after second appointment since you know his pattern. I think during second appt; owner need to sign something and terminate the electrcitiy and gas. You can don't turn on first... lock the door; gain access to your EM. Then, u proceed to HDB again to turn on. troublesome. I thought of this...

Hmm...as in legal actions? Yes u can. As the flat is legally yours.

HDB actions? I think they wouldn't do much. They would just concentrate whether paperwork is done and second appt is agreed within 2 parties.

Most people would go for rental basis approach if you are not in the hurry to shift in and reno. I am not sure if you are a traditional chinese....there is 2 ghost month this years.. I think Sept is another ghost month... so you need to calculate your timeline or whether u mind..as reno EM depending on how comphrensive it is....mean X weeks.

Last but not least, my priorities was listed in my mind to solve my issue was.

1. Make sure my wife is happy if I decided on any options. She is not happy. I am in deep ****.

2. I also make sure that if talks failed... I go for: agreed with 50% of his terms and 50% of my terms. For my case, I cut short his proposed second appt date. I manage to cut it back to 2 weeks and both parties agreed. I allow them to stay for extra 1 week also.

3. Friends told me why I give in... 50% of me was because I am soft hearted to be frank after knowing the owner's reason. 50% is because this period before 2nd appt, I don't want hidden problem to occurs. Like owner later hate me...start to "disturb" the stairs....the tiles....watever....since after second appt. is buyer problem.

hmm..can't offer much suggestions or direct answers for u. Can only tell u wht was floating in my mind when I encounter this problem.

GREAT! so the one who shares similiar issues can offer better suggestions :)

where is the location? but 480K near MRT sounds not too bad to me. wat's the condition of the flat? 480k is it the valuation? or the value+cov?

Dun knw what condition yet, viewing this wk end. If value+cov = about 500k, is it worth? (17 years unit seems very old already, still so high value) Have you bought from resale flat before. How to see the water pipe leaking, white ants problem? any tips to see is it involves with ah long?

Hard to tell u if it's ex anot leh. Can tell us the area u're looking at? Different areas have different price range. My area is around $400k-$450k bah. JW ave 1 will be cheaper since its at the expressway and further from mrt. I always hear Hougang, Tampines, Bishan area to be more x. U'll also have to look at the condition of the place.

i agree with Angel. Why not you view the place and see the condition first?

Even at pasir ris near MRT, sea view...at least selling more than 500K and some even selling at 600K and COV is like 40 -60K.

the worth of the house also depends on the feel it gives you. If u pay higher COV but needs minimal or no reno, then it should be quite a gd deal. many factors to consider actually.

Definitley, probably that is the reason why i think EM owner are more actives in the forum???

Hmm...actually there are still many factors. Like, whether the reno in the hse is to ur liking and whether you need to redo alot of things?

And...the direction? and which floor is it?

the environment?

Near Mrt...can the sound be heard? Is it near the main road?

I bought my EM for 470k. Just 5 min walk from Yew Tee MRT, with wet market and Yew Tee Point.

Highest floor also. And minimal reno needed. I spent 22k + 1.4 k for the whole reno.

The place is nice...and quiet and can't even hear a little of the sound of MRT.