tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Gold fish will never survive even 0.1 sec in my tank..... don't hate me hor.

I didnt keep goldfishes cos.. they dun survive anylonger in my tank too!

haha are you referring to my house? hee yupp i am having my reno now. just that i have no time to post pictures of my flat yet. according to my interior designer, my reno will be completed by 1st week of oct! yeahh!

windows should be up by this wed!

Erm, it along the MRT tracks towards Clementi Station. Its the 2nd floor unit facing the main road. Is that yours? I was assuming yours to be at Sunset Way. Anyways 1st Oct coming soon.. quite fast hor...

Hi...

If I m not wrong.. the Mais at 12X has valuation of about 500k...

And the 600+ ones which is opposite West Mall has valuation about 550-600k...

Your 450k could be 22X with the Val of about 400+

(99% confident)

Hmm.. opposite the swimming pool de.. a little walking distant but not far from MRT...

Agt also call that area BB Central...

I was looking at Bukit Batok/ Gombak area for about 1 year...

before i settled for my current unit.. with the Valuation of 425k..

and I paid for a rather low cash .. Cos .. the flooring on the 1st floor.. ermm.. remind me of the canteen in my current working school o.0"

But in anyways.. will still have to redo my 1st level/kitchen/toilets de... so i gave it a GO! lo...

Hee~ :dancingqueen:

WAH! Even if it is 22X, if the place is ok and my wife likes it, i guess shouldnt be an issue. I din know there is another swimming pool in BB area. I thought mine was the only at St 22.

Wow spend a year looking.. but i think if you found your dream place and what you want, its still worth it la..

I am taking my time but if the price and location is right.. why not.?? hehe

guess should view both..when me & my wife started out..we were looking at 4A units,then 5i 5A.....nearly bought a 5A unit but the agent really sucks..1 moment agree,then nex moment say got higher offer..then ding dong..

end up buying an EM instead...happy with it so far except the delay.

Same, Initially I thought 4 room enough la. But I always like the idea of climbing stairs.. makes you feel like you owned a private house. hahahaha...

Yeah I guess i should keep my options open. Go view until happy!

Hiera,

I still don't dare to buy from HDB, cuz duno if my submission go through liao anot mah. The agent just mailed the docs on Sat. So may take a couple of days for the HDB staff to go through them loh. Maybe end of the week bah. :)

so u havent got your 1st appt date? y not check the status of your resale application online?

WAH! Even if it is 22X, if the place is ok and my wife likes it, i guess shouldnt be an issue. I din know there is another swimming pool in BB area. I thought mine was the only at St 22.

Wow spend a year looking.. but i think if you found your dream place and what you want, its still worth it la..

I am taking my time but if the price and location is right.. why not.?? hehe

Actually u can look at gombak area.. Like that neighbourhood..

CC.. super market.. MRT.. sports stadium.. Moutain (thou small small de)

Not so expensive also... we can be neighbours!

2XX is good also.. walking dist away from BB MRT..

Hehee

so u havent got your 1st appt date? y not check the status of your resale application online?

Morning! Was thinking of checking yest, but din tink it'll go through so fast. I just went in to check, my first appt date is 11Nov. Hehehe... So many days to count down. hahhha... :P

Oh, and just bot the floor plan. Can't be bothered to wait for the agent to zap a copy liao. Hehehe.. hopefully it'll cme asap! :D

Edited by Angel81

Morning! Was thinking of checking yest, but din tink it'll go through so fast. I just went in to check, my first appt date is 11Nov. Hehehe... So many days to count down. hahhha... :P

Oh, and just bot the floor plan. Can't be bothered to wait for the agent to zap a copy liao. Hehehe.. hopefully it'll cme asap! :D

Good morning all.

Angel81, what a long wait.... at the meantime u can start sourcing for quotations and furnishing.

Hi Chronograph!

Tell me about it! 47 days till 1st appt! Oh well, I tink 2nd appt will b a xmas present bah. hehehehe...

Yeah, last sat we went looking around for furnishing again. Confirmed our dining table (cuz my hb loves it), but haven buy la. Hehehe... gg to wait till nearer to the date then buy. Now gg to wait for floor plan to come, then approach IDs/contractors loh. :sport-smiley-018:

Thats what happened to me.. i bought it cos i dun wanna wait..

it took about 1 working day for them to send me the wrong one.. LOL..

and one afternpoon for them to get it right...

I saw a nice sofa one Home&Deco...

Dunno can fit into the living room not..

Its a 4 seater.. with leg long leg rest at each end..

Can have big family meeting le.. Heee

U are so fast.. u even see dining table le..

BTW.. can anyone explain the process of searching for a contractor?

I just explain to him i nid to hack flooring living/kitchen/toilet... den he will quote for me ah ?

Will there be any form of obligation pressure?

Very scared of such..

Edited by Hiera

I just explain to him i nid to hack flooring living/kitchen/toilet... den he will quote for me ah ?

Very scared of such..

Of course got pressure..... but not obligation pressure. We will be not in the right mind to sign if the quote is way out of our budget. :yamseng:

During my search, I received countless call in one day from a ID. "I have given u further discount and i have spent some much time and effort in this your case and i need only your case to hit sales for this month. U just need to place a $500/- deposit." in the end i never signed with him. Each time he call i told him out of my budget. I will consider if u will revise further. In the end no news from the ID, the hole saga lasted 3 days nia.

Experience contractor/ID will give u a full list of things to do base on your information or u might want to meet up and explain your theme and design if u have something in mind.

Thats what happened to me.. i bought it cos i dun wanna wait..

it took about 1 working day for them to send me the wrong one.. LOL..

and one afternpoon for them to get it right...

I saw a nice sofa one Home&Deco...

Dunno can fit into the living room not..

Its a 4 seater.. with leg long leg rest at each end..

Can have big family meeting le.. Heee

U are so fast.. u even see dining table le..

Very scared of such..

Hehehe... Hope that they'll get mine right the first time. :)

Haha, we even roughly confirmed our sofa liao. We liked one from Furniture Club. Think our dining table fr Red Apple. My hb loves those dining table with marble top. Happen that we saw tat last time at IMM, so went back again and see again last Sat to confirm that it's wat we wana buy loh.

Hehehe... we went to see furniture when we started searching for hse in Apr.. Actually only went to IMM *blush*. But found wat we liked there. So next time will go other places to see if got similar yet cheaper ones loh.

Hmm.. this is wat I intend to do when I go search for contractors. I'll be listing down roughly what I wana do for the whole house (eg: hack where, build in cabinets where, remove wat, add this/that), and ask them to quote/advice based on that. This is to make it easier for us to compare quotes when we receive them. If not, one contractor add this in, or omit wat we wan, then it's abit like comparing apples to oranges mah.

I tink like wat chronograph said.. sure will have pressure to sign with them. But rem that it's ur hard earned $$! Hehehehehee... dun sign till u r happy with the quote and price.

Edited by Angel81

Very scared of such..

Hmm... contractor and ID is slightly different.

Anyway, here is the process that I'd been thru' with quite a number of IDs, not sure if it helps:

1) Get layout from HDB and study it.

2) Decide what you want to do. (e.g. change floor tiles, hack kitchen wall, install wardrobe in which room etc)

3) List down all the things you want to do on a pierce of paper, number them, and mark those numbers on the layout. For some items, you may wanna make some simple sketches

I think it's good to be more specific with your description. (e.g. wardrobe, do you wanna a walk-in-wardrobe, or normal one? one with casement door or sliding door etc). Reason being, the ID will quote you differently depending on what you need. Thus, to have fairer comparison, be more specific.

Of coz, if you don't wanna think so much, just throw all the decision to the ID. What's what we are paying them for in the 1st place.

4) Send your requirement list and layout to IDs, or contractors. I like to email them instead of going around Singapore searching for them. Or you can make copies and visit the Home Deco fair in Expo (usually they have one every 2 months or so). Pass them to the IDs / contractors as you meet them.

In your mail, ask them to break down the items and give you unit price as far as possible. If not, some may just give you a lump sum for the whole project.

5) Wait for them to contact you. Some will just email you a rough quotation. Usually doesn't really cover everything you wanted. Those who give you the price break down allows you to compare the prices for individiual components or items. Another advantage is once I know how much each compenent/item costs, I can decide whether to remove them or keep them in my requirement list depending on my budget.

E.g. a built in study table costs you $1000. You can remove that and look for a ready made table at say $200 or even $80 from Ikea. It's your choice. But if the price is lump sum, it's very difficult to do such filtering.

6) Some ID/contractors will want to meet you to go thru' your requirements before giving you a quotation. Visit them if you are free. Some of them give good suggestions in doing certain things that you may not have think of. Of coz, if these new suggestions, it means you can't compare directly with other quotations that you'd receive.

7) Basically, the above process will be repeated many times with different or even the same IDs/contractors becoz of their suggestions. In the end, you will have to decide which IDs/Contractors know your requirement best, can give you value added suggestions, not pushy, work within your budget, which one your feel more sincere and you are more comfortable with etc.

8) Remember, to check with them, if the contract is signed, can you still make changes to the requirements? Usually yes. It will be variation order. For items that you remove from contract, they should minus off the amount from the contract sum and not say replace them with vouchers or something.

9) You may also want to check with them the warranty period, the likely duration for your project

10) Continue to search for more info in this forum and read others' feedback on a certain ID/contractor. Go for show flat if free.

All the best and hope the above helps. :)