tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Brick wall as railing.....nice unique also, some more FOC... go for it man.

With the brick railings, I think ventilation will be blocked if the wind cannot travel up.

Brick railings mean less light. Stairways will look dark.

For my place, wind travel up to go out from my upstairs windows because

my front door is closed most of the time.

talking abt ventilation. If I stand/sit at the staircase landing (mid way), I can still see my living room. For some EMs, I think totally blocked.

Edited by hello88

Finally received letter from HDB..1st appointment in early sept..815am..so early.hope can wake up.everyone got to take leave liao..including parents in law.since we taking near parents grant.

cov got to pay during 1st appointment too hor? pay cash or cheque or cashier order?

heart pain sia..1st time will be giving away such a big sum of $$... :(

With the brick railings, I think ventilation will be blocked if the wind cannot travel up.

Brick railings mean less light. Stairways will look dark.

For my place, wind travel up to go out from my upstairs windows because

my front door is closed most of the time.

Not a problem for me,eExcept for raining days and outing, my door and windows are open all the time so that the QI will flow smoothly. I shall talk to my contractor can have FOC brick rail.

Finally received letter from HDB..1st appointment in early sept..815am..so early.hope can wake up.everyone got to take leave liao..including parents in law.since we taking near parents grant.

wow, such a long wait! Think resale market still getting very hot that's y got to wait for so long. Hmmmm.....or is it because the agent/seller 'booked' for a later 1st appt date? I suspect the latter as the earliest available date for Resale First Appointment on HDB website if submit doc today would be 26 Aug 08.

how much COV?

Not a problem for me,except for raining days and outing, my door and windows are open all the time so that the QI will flow smoothly. I shall talk to my contractor can have FOC brick rail.

yours a corner unit? Me also try to open the door most of the time but corridor windows very very seldom. Ya man, must squeeze dry your contractor and always try to ask for FOC stuff. :sport-smiley-004:

It's a corridor unit but i cannot stand closing up all the windows and door. Too stuffy, cannot breath so rather open wide wide and let the QI flow. Btw, my current 5I is a point unit but i leave the door open the moment i wake up.

I can say hi to my neighbors.

It's a corridor unit but i cannot stand closing up all the windows and door. Too stuffy, cannot breath so rather open wide wide and let the QI flow. Btw, my current 5I is a point unit but i leave the door open the moment i wake up.

I can say hi to my neighbors.

corner unit the best. No corridor windows and also got big recess area. Did your seller bought over the recess area and extend out the main door?

Edited by hello88

wow, corridor unit the best. No corridor windows and also got big recess area. Did your seller bought over the recess area and extend out the main door?

Sorry i did not make myself clear. My current 5I is a point unit, u can say it is a corridor unit without corridor windows. I always leave the door open for better ventilation.

As for my EM, it is a corridor unit with window and i will leave it open as well. Yes, the seller bought over the recess area extending to the main door. So my area is 151 sqm. Besides, my unit is just beside the stair way, so got a bigger recess area at the stair way to put my children bicycle and others.

Edited by chronograph

ok, tks.

that amt $580,....is for all window grilles? whole hse? include the bedrooms?

sori for so many qns.

I did my cast iron railing at $1.6K(cos the base sit on my tiles and obstruct my overlaying... so no choice but have to change). If i didn't change at that time. I would paint the railing of the same colour as the wall against the railing and hence make it less visible. I guess that is one way of hiding an ugly railing yet keeping it in simple color for practical usage.:) Hope it help

Mi staying at Blk 449:)

oops, I edited and forgotten to send that's y the confusion as I meant to say Corner unit the best.

Yours is 151sqm....how big is the recess area? Maybe layout different from mine cos my miserable recess area only 2sqm nia and cost more than 1k but paid from CPF.

hi hi morning to all EM kakis ;)

tell u all a joke.....i took all pix,..but, today just realised i 4gotten to take the stairs railings pix!!!!!

sotong!!!!

hahahaha :D

Not a problem for me,eExcept for raining days and outing, my door and windows are open all the time so that the QI will flow smoothly. I shall talk to my contractor can have FOC brick rail.

U might wan to insert some light within the 'brick' wall incase of darkness. BEST of all, these lights create nice ambience for you too (for cost effective use the energy saving tunsen light la)

I did my cast iron railing at $1.6K(cos the base sit on my tiles and obstruct my overlaying... so no choice but have to change). If i didn't change at that time. I would paint the railing of the same colour as the wall against the railing and hence make it less visible. I guess that is one way of hiding an ugly railing yet keeping it in simple color for practical usage.:) Hope it help

Mi staying at Blk 449:)

1.6k for brand new railings sounds pretty reasonable.

wow, such a long wait! Think resale market still getting very hot that's y got to wait for so long. Hmmmm.....or is it because the agent/seller 'booked' for a later 1st appt date? I suspect the latter as the earliest available date for Resale First Appointment on HDB website if submit doc today would be 26 Aug 08.

how much COV?

Ya lor..agent really registered 45days after signing OTP. :furious:

The letter state received my application on 07/07/08. and the appointment has been fixed on 04/09/08. Seems like its decided by HDB leh..

25k cov...heart pain to part with so much $$..could have used the $$ to change my car..guess now no change car for next few years...current ride is nissan sunny..fuel consumption is so bad..it appeared in an article in sunday newspaper. :dunno:

Ya lor..agent really registered 45days after signing OTP. :furious:

The letter state received my application on 07/07/08. and the appointment has been fixed on 04/09/08. Seems like its decided by HDB leh..

25k cov...heart pain to part with so much $$..could have used the $$ to change my car..guess now no change car for next few years...current ride is nissan sunny..fuel consumption is so bad..it appeared in an article in sunday newspaper. :dunno:

hi hi 666

ya, i agree tat nissan sunny's fuel consumption is real bad!

my bro used to drive that,.....and also been complaining to us abt that.