tristesse

Mansionette Owner

I just got my keys and so excited on it.

Now I'm looking for contractor to redo my kitchen. Any good recommendation on afforable kitchen?

Thanks in advance.

Looking for a contractor now. Any reccomendations, pls let me know.

Heard it cost a lot to renovate an EM

I basically have to REDO everything cos its in "Not nice" condition.

Thanks Thanks

go to renovation firms section and look for hobee. no hidden cost + honest.

try to stay away from doing the staircase if possible.

cos it's the most expensive part in a EM to reno

parquet = $3k++

tiles = $1k++

the above prices - handrail not included hor.

Then, just realised my next door-->a contractor too~ The auntie came over to say hello and showed me her kitchen. Probably will get them to give me a quote too. Neighbour mah, you know, very likely will give a better range of product and if got defect, just walk over and tell her. :)

imho - i wouldnt do that. cos if neighbour is a lousy contractor with lousy workmanship. it's going to be very very difficult to live side by side.

a contractor's house is of cos perfectly done up - but his customers' houses? nobody knows.

Suddenly this thread has gone quiet... :(

Not many replies in the thread...

When I first join renotalk was so excited to see a **** long EM thread & I acherli read thru the whole ting. :P

Im now waiting for my 1st appointment, really excited now..but oso sad coz my bank a/c be depleted..coz of the 30k COV..so not much $$ left for renovation

Isit better to renovate part by part or whole renovation...will it be cheaper doin whole renovation?

do we need to pay the COV at the 1st appointment or 2nd appointment?

Suddenly this thread has gone quiet... :(

Not many replies in the thread...

When I first join renotalk was so excited to see a **** long EM thread & I acherli read thru the whole ting. :P

Im now waiting for my 1st appointment, really excited now..but oso sad coz my bank a/c be depleted..coz of the 30k COV..so not much $$ left for renovation

Isit better to renovate part by part or whole renovation...will it be cheaper doin whole renovation?

do we need to pay the COV at the 1st appointment or 2nd appointment?

We are all working, takes a while for a reply, it will come just be patient.

You have to pay the COV during 1st appointment, either full or partial depending on whether COV has exceeded a certain % of your val.

As for reno, if possible, take a reno loan and get it done once and for all. Try to include the "must have" stuff in your reno list and try to salvage as much as possible on the existing reno to save cost.

However, if yours is really run down then a full overhaul is inevitable but try to save by using cheaper material, like laminate flooring on 2nd floor instead of parquet.

go to renovation firms section and look for hobee. no hidden cost + honest.

try to stay away from doing the staircase if possible.

cos it's the most expensive part in a EM to reno

parquet = $3k++

tiles = $1k++

the above prices - handrail not included hor.

imho - i wouldnt do that. cos if neighbour is a lousy contractor with lousy workmanship. it's going to be very very difficult to live side by side.

a contractor's house is of cos perfectly done up - but his customers' houses? nobody knows.

Wow, you are saying the parquet on the stair alone cost 3k? What about making the whole 2nd floor parquet, 10k at least?

I have not inquire about parquet costing as my EM already comes with 2nd floor full parquet from stair up.

I understand..im working too..surfing at same time.hehe

Lucky the EM i bought..quite alot of stuff can salvage,dun tink will be doing what some of the guys doing,overhauling the unit.

Some stuff i can tink of is

-Levelling the balcony

-Thinking of redoing the stair case but u guys say expensive

-Parquet/laminate 2nd floor

-Redoing all 3 toilets

-Some other minor stuffs

Now current owner used the 1st level toilet to put their washing machine. I wanna use the 1st level toilet.Where do you guys put the washing machine. I see like no space in kitchen to put.

hi i'm back.. disappeard for a few days cos' travelling.. now logging from hotel..

i checked some online quotation on hdb web and they have diff prices for parquet. btween 9psf to 18psf.. assuming the floor area of 150sf per room - that works out to be btw 1400 and 2700. that's just one room.

btw, im in a dilemna cos' the plc i bought comes w parquet flooring on stairs + bedroom but the look is abit dated. dont know how to post pic so need to describe.

the parquet strips are lined in squares and the squares are lined horizontal alt w vertical. so one square horizontal, one square vertical..

these days longer strips are more popular..

But im reluctant to spend 10k to hack cos' the condition is v good.

I understand..im working too..surfing at same time.hehe

Lucky the EM i bought..quite alot of stuff can salvage,dun tink will be doing what some of the guys doing,overhauling the unit.

Some stuff i can tink of is

-Levelling the balcony

-Thinking of redoing the stair case but u guys say expensive

-Parquet/laminate 2nd floor

-Redoing all 3 toilets

-Some other minor stuffs

Now current owner used the 1st level toilet to put their washing machine. I wanna use the 1st level toilet.Where do you guys put the washing machine. I see like no space in kitchen to put.

Same here, i will be doing all toilets and the current owner also put washing machine in level 1 washroom. I will be converting the washroom level 1 to toilet. The washing machine will probably locate else where in the kitchen, that the ID will propose, i will not worry about it.

FYI, for all 3 bathrooms overhaul, i'm getting quote form 10k to 13k.

Another headache too coz the kitchen is done up but not really my taste but still can use for years..bit sayang to destroy the kitchen..

Dat time went to see..really no place to put the washing machine. I think maybe have to place washing machine upstairs. :(

I just got a quote from Prestige Image.

I am doing quite a major overhaul.

Hack everything except for bedrooms , redo whole kitchen n toilets, balcony

my quote from them was abt $42K

Another headache too coz the kitchen is done up but not really my taste but still can use for years..bit sayang to destroy the kitchen..

Dat time went to see..really no place to put the washing machine. I think maybe have to place washing machine upstairs. :(

I will overhaul my kitchen also cos really cannot make it, 80 style. I'm ok with 80's style but wife said kitchen is hers....u know what i mean,

hi i'm back.. disappeard for a few days cos' travelling.. now logging from hotel..

i checked some online quotation on hdb web and they have diff prices for parquet. btween 9psf to 18psf.. assuming the floor area of 150sf per room - that works out to be btw 1400 and 2700. that's just one room.

btw, im in a dilemna cos' the plc i bought comes w parquet flooring on stairs + bedroom but the look is abit dated. dont know how to post pic so need to describe.

the parquet strips are lined in squares and the squares are lined horizontal alt w vertical. so one square horizontal, one square vertical..

these days longer strips are more popular..

But im reluctant to spend 10k to hack cos' the condition is v good.

Save the $$$.

What you need is to varnish your parquet and it will look as new.

btw how much did u buy the EM and where is ur EM?

My wife cincai..now she heart pain to pay so much COV, she juz say need to renovate toilets..tink she ok with the kitchen.

btw how much did u buy the EM and where is ur EM?

My wife cincai..now she heart pain to pay so much COV, she juz say need to renovate toilets..tink she ok with the kitchen.

my em at 471 jurong west st 41, val 375k, cov 40k. my wife, si mi ma ai, guess at the end of the day sure burst my budget.

Edited by chronograph

Wait and see other quotations, maybe u can list out what they quote you for?

42k pretty reasonable i think

i overhaul mine for $55k...except rewiring....and i did not change the staircase....but we did quite a bit of carpentary works...