jshome

Not An Em, Just A 5Am

Whenever I run out of ideas or need some inspirations on certain part of the house designing, I will always head to freshome.

Lots of ideas for each zone of the house and lots of different design theme for inspiration.

You will find yourself spending hours reading their blog.

Enjoy!

Staircase. Railing got to go but will retain the timber strip.

staircase-1.jpg

Keeping the staircase flooring will certainly save u quite a bit..... U starting your reno soon?

If you didn't mention that its a 5Am, I would think that it's a Em. Exact layout leh minus 1 room nia! From what I see, minimum reno can already. Place is so well kept. Congrats!

I think the problem sometimes is not whether the place is well maintained or not..... It must be to your liking. That's why some people still tear down everything and redesign to their preference :)

True, true. Just signed contract and looking at the reno cost makes me paranoid liao. :P Every little gritty change or installation is $$$.

Keeping the staircase flooring will certainly save u quite a bit..... U starting your reno soon?

I hope it will save a fair bit, getting a re-quote from contractor for keeping the flooring.

U r going to overlay your marble flooring with wood?

Yes overlaying but not wood, it will be resilient vinyl flooring. Very high maintenance for wood flooring, and we want to minimise hacking.

Renov should be starting very soon, just hope HDB don't give me problem.

I think the problem sometimes is not whether the place is well maintained or not..... It must be to your liking. That's why some people still tear down everything and redesign to their preference :)

True, true. Just signed contract and looking at the reno cost makes me paranoid liao. :P Every little gritty change or installation is $$$.

Not only 1 room less, smaller balcony and more void area in upper floor, so I think smaller bedroom also. But overall, it's a good size for a family of 4.

Our initial plan is minimum renov, without touching upper floor. Then after meeting IDs, we went overboard. Seeing the quotation, we almost faint! So now, trying to cut cut cut, do away with unnecessary item.

I have a question for house moving, hope someone can enlighten me.

How do you clear your unwanted stuff, example old radio or any electronic stuff, old toys, old furniture and etc?

How do you destroy confidential documents? Like bank statement etc. I used to file it neatly, but now I just dump it in a box. Can I just throw it in the chute?

For new and hardly used stuff, you can sell this online (ebay, I think)or print leaflets and stick them on the notice board outside certain cold storage store. I know Great World City has one. Or you can sell the whole lot to cash converter. Can get some $$ back. I've done that with old toys etc :sport-smiley-004: For still usable old furniture, call Salvation Army and see if they are interested. They will get their workers to carry it away. I got rid of my old sewing machine and whole cane furniture set that way :rolleyes: . For spoilt stuff, sori, you'll have to cart them to the rubbish dump. For bulky items like mattresses, try asking TC how to get rid of them. If not, chiam siong with your TC cleaner lor.

For bank statements and confidential documents, I would shred them, mixed them up a bit in different plastic bags and throw on different days. Hehehe. I know this is extremely kiasu :rolleyes: If not, you can burn them in a metal container. Don't think you should burn them in the public incense burner though.

I've done all the above except going online. Stuff not attractive enough to post mah. Friend had sold handphones, laptop, branded jeans/T-shirts online and got good $$ too.

For new and hardly used stuff, you can sell this online (ebay, I think)or print leaflets and stick them on the notice board outside certain cold storage store. I know Great World City has one. Or you can sell the whole lot to cash converter. Can get some $$ back. I've done that with old toys etc :sport-smiley-004: For still usable old furniture, call Salvation Army and see if they are interested. They will get their workers to carry it away. I got rid of my old sewing machine and whole cane furniture set that way :rolleyes: . For spoilt stuff, sori, you'll have to cart them to the rubbish dump. For bulky items like mattresses, try asking TC how to get rid of them. If not, chiam siong with your TC cleaner lor.

For bank statements and confidential documents, I would shred them, mixed them up a bit in different plastic bags and throw on different days. Hehehe. I know this is extremely kiasu :rolleyes: If not, you can burn them in a metal container. Don't think you should burn them in the public incense burner though.

I've done all the above except going online. Stuff not attractive enough to post mah. Friend had sold handphones, laptop, branded jeans/T-shirts online and got good $$ too.

Thanks for your tips. Good idea to sell to cash converter. I will donate all the old toys and clothes to salvation army, My SO also tell me burn the doc. Maybe I should buy a mini burner to burn, faster than shredding. Shredder machine spoilt due to over heating!

Oh forgot one! "Cash for Trash" for spoilt, broken items. Just categorise them by plastic, metal, paper as they pay differently by weight. To them, electronic stuff is considered plastic :dunno: So, instead of throwing them away, get $ for them. But if you need to travel by car or bus just to get to the designated 'Cash for Trash" setup, then it's not worth it. They pay peanuts. My area has Colex Recycle Collection on alternate Wed. So I regularly "donate" my clutter. Collector will knock on my door if they did not find my regular blue bag of old newspaper outside. :thumbs up:

Earlier I mentioned looking for sofa up-hostelry. I tried my luck to look for that shop who help me customised my sofa previously. It's located at Bedok Industrial area, the shop is no longer there but but but the sofa maker is still there!! :dancingqueen:

Went in talk to the small boss, choose the fabric and discuss on the modification of the sofa.

As you can see from the photo, the body of the sofa is made of steel, it is necessary due to the 2.75m length. But now this is giving us problem. (Can't fit the life and cant go up the stair).

036.jpg

Simple Solution... Saw into half and welded it back using nuts upon delivery. Yippy!!!! :sport-smiley-004:

This is the fabric chosen

SofaFabric.jpg

Edited by jshome

Floor Selection!

A major decision for us! As I have mentioned earlier, we wanted to minimise hacking, so we shall overlay the existing marble flooring.

We can overlay with Parquet, tiles, or laminates.

We love parquet, having lived with parquet for the past 6 years, we simply just loved it with no regret, we took care of it very well. But ever since the kids came along, scratches, knocks are inevitable, we just closed both eyes!!! At least with the soft flooring, it minimize the impact from their numerous falls.

With the new house, we just have to give parquet a miss, any scratches on the floor will definitely make us boil!!!

For Tiles, we just don't like the hard and cold surface!

Narrow down to just laminates. We have our reservation for laminates, we heard horror story about laminates, how it budge after water seep in, the hollow sound, etc etc.... We source from various flooring company but still not satisfy with it.

When we are sourcing from ID firms, one of them suggested Vinyl Flooring, a type of rubber laminates, and it is resistant to scratches and impact, insulate against sound. Sound good!! We research a little bit more on it and decided to give it a go!

And since we are leveling up the kitchen, dinning and living area, laying the whole ground floor with vinyl, we have selected the high-end resilient flooring, 100% waterproof... minimising lots of stress and maintenance.

We got the sales person to bring down some samples, and we are still discussing with our IDs the colour scheme we are going. But most likely we will go for the Oak Black!!

030.jpg