XTR

S&s Self-Designed Home In The East

omgawd...weird to the max. even i am :help:

think u are the 1 or 2 ppl in sg who will keep that.

my wife smiled when u recognize the Tribute sandals. think u made her day. :help: lol

Haha, you can't not love those Tributes. :D

Btw, Courtney Love (wife of the late Kurt Cobain) is a fan of those mannequin heads too, she ordered a blond mannequin from the same artist. Yeah! :P

I love everything about Dita Von Teese , take a look at her home .

http://inspirationsdeco.blogspot.com/2011/04/la-maison-de-dita-von-teese.html

Love it! :)

so your bf also got some of your taste/like? surely got something similar with u....

interesting... dont know whois Dita von teese but visited the link. eccentric and parisian. take away the flowery flowery items, i can appreciate her style and taste. unique items.

leopard rug from louboutin. wuhuuu

:dancingqueen: :dancingqueen:

Hi Adidaem / XTR

This is the image i have in my mind but could not put it in words. white epoxy flooring !!!! finally got a technical name to it.No grout lines, white expanse space feel. based on both your experience, any contractor can do this type of flooring ? also does epoxy comes in white or isit because the cement screed floor is painted white thereafter coated with epoxy.

May I know where is Pomelo House store located. would love to go and see for myself if this is what i really want.

Hey thanks to both of you again and again. weeks of research on the net could not lead me to what you both had shared. so grateful for this.

Glad to have helped. You can find lots of discussions about epoxy flooring in overseas sites. Mostly for garages tho. Pomelo's floor has flakes (like the pics shown on this site: http://www.epoxy-coat.com/)

Spoke to Raymond from Pomelo about his floor before, and he mentioned not to put white flakes on white floors cos no contrast. You'll understand when you examine his floor. :)

By the way there are a few good places for food and drinks near Pomelo:

- Dong Ya kopitiam for kopi n traditional toast

- Oriole Roasters for ang mo kopi

- Zi char at Dong Ya or Kok Sen kopitiam

- Charsiew and roast pork at Foong Kee

May as well make a good/fun trip out of going all the way to Pomelo/Keong Saik area if you stay a distance away. :)

Epoxy flooring comes in many color but most other colors remind me of carparks and not easy to match with furniture too. You can see more pics of this gorgeous HDB with epoxy flooring here: http://emrenoblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/minimalist-5-room-hdb/

Remember to research the brand of epoxy coat that your contractor proposes tho. You may like to check on toxicity (gas emissions), anti-skid properties for the top/clear coat, flame-retardant properties etc. Lots of different brands out there with different 'specialities'.

we also do like luxurious theme. but its not cheap to achieve the whole look. will need money like adidaem then only can. :rolleyes:

but luxurious also got different categories. we definitely are not on the baroque-side. we like these too but can we afford?

white-and-black-livingroom.jpg

Ehhh... mine is not 'luxury' theme leh. It looks a world away from the pic above. :rolleyes:

We also no money for the luxury theme... my place lacks the 'polished' furniture that luxury homes usually have - actually if you see my place in real life it's really very simple looking. Just a lot more white than usual homes. And unusual exhibitionist toilets.

YES definitely. there was a forumer here that had a handheld buffing tool and he was willing to lend it (last yr). I didnt want to spend money to buy it for a one off occasion. having it would have saved a lot of time. but we did enjoy chatting while working our own floor. to be more detailed for others- we had to use medium grit to remove bigger bumps in the cement and then fine grit to polish it.

we didnt embed any metal strips into the cement. er, it helps?

Thought 'expansion strips' or joints can help with cracks? Not sure if it's usual practice for homes tho.

Erm not sure if it's usually metal or some filling material... one of those random nuggets of info I can't remember where I picked up from.

thanks for the salute aargh!

yes can earn side money. can easily mark up the price and it will still be cheaper than the professionals.

but i wont want to do it again man. S H A G .

:rofl::rofl:

For luxury style, i actually prefer those with warm lightings. Maybe I am wrong to say these are luxury?

dining.jpg

I like this first picture d*mn alot.. Too bad my house is not big enough for such a luxurious design. :bangwall:

4-4.jpg

I like those "hidden" lights coming out from the bed head. What are those lights called?

5-4.jpg

5-5.jpg

Hi adidaem, thanks for the link! So these are called modern baroque? I agree for the first picture is more of morder baroque. How about those pictures with warm lightings too? (the bedrooms) I don't know.. :unsure: I only know I like warm lightings, lines, wallpapers, nice feature walls and overall give a sense of luxury style of living. So I call it luxury. :lol:

Spoke to Raymond from Pomelo about his floor before, and he mentioned not to put white flakes on white floors cos no contrast. You'll understand when you examine his floor. :)

By the way there are a few good places for food and drinks near Pomelo:

- Dong Ya kopitiam for kopi n traditional toast

- Oriole Roasters for ang mo kopi

- Zi char at Dong Ya or Kok Sen kopitiam

- Charsiew and roast pork at Foong Kee

May as well make a good/fun trip out of going all the way to Pomelo/Keong Saik area if you stay a distance away. :)

Thought 'expansion strips' or joints can help with cracks? Not sure if it's usual practice for homes tho.

Erm not sure if it's usually metal or some filling material... one of those random nuggets of info I can't remember where I picked up from.

dont like flakes .... dont know why ang mohs like to put flakes into their epoxy. cuz of the glitter?

will check out the places recommended since we like to just hang around that area. :rolleyes:

i dont know if the steel strips will help with the cracks. maybe only jaskel can help out with this info.

There were stainless steel strip embedded into the cement to divided the area; it does help to prevent smaller cracks in less stressful area.

:rofl::rofl:

4-4.jpg

I like those "hidden" lights coming out from the bed head. What are those lights called?

i like the pics posted so dont worry about spamming my thread. eye-candy pics.

as long as u got chandelier, its more of baroque styled already.

those warm lightings that reflect off walls/ledges can be called your cove lights.

marigold, do be careful of your furniture. a lot of couples buy for eg, in the pic above, the bedside lamp hoping to have that condo/atas/luxurious feel. but more often than not, the lamps cheapens the reno and room because of the built and quality. i also do fall into the trap of seeing something nice and then trying to make it fit into the overall theme. luckily i have a wife who spends her childhood looking at sites like apartment therapy to diss me for wanting that "stylo" lamp. what i am trying to say to all is to think twice and come back to the shop a 2nd time to visualize if the item can fit into the whole theme; let your brain run from temptation and rethink.

sorry, sorry if i appear like i know all. I dont! ... the above is just my own opinion k. its a waste that we pay $$$ money to make our place look nice but in the end it doesnt. i also got a few items that we bought wrongly currently, so i hope i am just saying what a lot of renotalkers have gone through. :furious:

also, what may be ugly to me may be beautiful to many. there are so so so many bloggers here who have done up their homes in such a remarkable way.

Edited by XTR

There were stainless steel strip embedded into the cement to divided the area; it does help to prevent smaller cracks in less stressful area.

:sport-smiley-018:

dunch know. dunch know if it really helps. the problem of the cracks appearing is because of the uneven drying. putting in beams like in the construction of a new building will surely strengthen the flooring but confirm it will even out the drying?

eh u materials engineering?

:sport-smiley-018:

dunch know. dunch know if it really helps. the problem of the cracks appearing is because of the uneven drying. putting in beams like in the construction of a new building will surely strengthen the flooring but confirm it will even out the drying?

eh u materials engineering?

If you want even drying, then use pre-mix cement. Best if can use stainless steel strip about 1 inch wide to divide the area.

oh, i see. thanks! should have done that.

so your bf also got some of your taste/like? surely got something similar with u....

interesting... dont know whois Dita von teese but visited the link. eccentric and parisian. take away the flowery flowery items, i can appreciate her style and taste. unique items.

leopard rug from louboutin. wuhuuu

:dancingqueen: :dancingqueen:

I guess the boyfriend tolerates all those weird shabby chic, mannequin, pink/flowery stuff I have in my present home. We do have completely different taste in furnishings. :D

Thank God he has his own place and I have my own haha. :P

Nevertheless he has agreed to help me plan for my new place next year and of course I showed him some ideas just the other day and he was like, " Are you sure you wanna do this ? "

Why am I not surprised. :D

marigold, do be careful of your furniture. a lot of couples buy for eg, in the pic above, the bedside lamp hoping to have that condo/atas/luxurious feel. but more often than not, the lamps cheapens the reno and room because of the built and quality. i also do fall into the trap of seeing something nice and then trying to make it fit into the overall theme. luckily i have a wife who spends her childhood looking at sites like apartment therapy to dish me for wanting that "stylo" lamp. what i am trying to say to all is to think twice and come back to the shop a 2nd time to visualize if the item can fit into the whole theme; let your brain run from temptation and rethink.

sorry, sorry if i appear like i know all. I dont! ... the above is just my own opinion k. its a waste that we pay $$$ money to make our place look nice but in the end it doesnt. i also got a few items that we bought wrongly currently, so i hope i am just saying what a lot of renotalkers have gone through. :furious:

also, what may be ugly to me may be beautiful to many. there are so so so many bloggers here who have done up their homes in such a remarkable way.

that's very good advice indeed!

i like the pics posted so dont worry about spamming my thread. eye-candy pics.

as long as u got chandelier, its more of baroque styled already.

those warm lightings that reflect off walls/ledges can be called your cove lights.

marigold, do be careful of your furniture. a lot of couples buy for eg, in the pic above, the bedside lamp hoping to have that condo/atas/luxurious feel. but more often than not, the lamps cheapens the reno and room because of the built and quality. i also do fall into the trap of seeing something nice and then trying to make it fit into the overall theme. luckily i have a wife who spends her childhood looking at sites like apartment therapy to dish me for wanting that "stylo" lamp. what i am trying to say to all is to think twice and come back to the shop a 2nd time to visualize if the item can fit into the whole theme; let your brain run from temptation and rethink.

Wow!! Really very nice and informative!! Thanks loads XTR!! :yamseng: