ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 (edited) Hi May. You mean your friend also did his/her cabinet like this?Our contractor proposed the above layout if we don't want the L-shape. We also need to decide where we want to put our washing machine. Either beside rubbish chute, or outside common toilet. Initially I told our contractor to do two washer outlet, one beside the sink, one outside the common toilet, in case we want to swop the washing machine position, but hubby don't like the idea. If we place the washing machine on one side, the other side can see the outlet, which will be quite ugly. How do you guys think? Outside common toilet better, or beside sink? If we place beside sink, we cannot stack dryer there. Edited April 24, 2012 by ayazumi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
getzski 1 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 i know you don't like L-Shape, but if you need a sample L-shape to help you with your evaluation, i will open-house my kitchen to you. i think our kitchens are pretty similiar in size. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 Hi NeoBy. I guess they have not fabricated the cabinets yet, he has not given me the 3D design, and laminate not chosen yet. I asked for bigger piece laminates. The laminates in the catalogue book is too small, can't see the effect. And I haven't decide the cabinet layout, if not they would have done the kerb today liao. Now waiting for my answer by tomorrow morning, to decide how I want to place my cabinet. I saw your cabinet in your blog. Again, camera trick - From side angle, the cabinet looks small, but it may not be small from direct view in your kitchen. I proposed to do the L-end on the left side (which is beside the storeroom), instead of the L-end facing window, but contractor don't recommend putting the fridge beside the 2 pipes. Come to think of that, nobody wants to put fridge near rubbish chute too. Then he shouldnt build the kerb since you have decided because he has not given you the design. I find the space for mine ok. Then again if you cook a lot, it may not be adequate for you.My washing machine and dryer will be stacked opposite the cabinet. That one I need to confirm very early before tiling works cos the contractor will lay the drainage pipe before covering it with tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 Hi May. You mean your friend also did his/her cabinet like this?Our contractor proposed the above layout if we don't want the L-shape. We also need to decide where we want to put our washing machine. Either beside rubbish chute, or outside common toilet. Initially I told our contractor to do two washer outlet, one beside the sink, one outside the common toilet, in case we want to swop the washing machine position, but hubby don't like the idea. If we place the washing machine on one side, the other side can see the outlet, which will be quite ugly. How do you guys think? Outside common toilet better, or beside sink? If we place beside sink, we cannot stack dryer there.Actually my friend's fridge is same row as the cabinet. and the washing machine beside the sink outside common toilet. so on the right side, he put another small table so sometimes eat in kitchen and sometimes in the living room. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Akitsuki 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 help to give us some ideas :help: ... my brain juice depleted liao... :help: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 NeoBy: They have not built the kerb yet. Initially wanted to build today, but I need to think about the layout for a day, so by tomorrow morning let the contractor knows, so they will start to build the kerb tomorrow.May: So it means there is a separate bottom cabinet on the right to put the kitchen sink? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 NeoBy: They have not built the kerb yet. Initially wanted to build today, but I need to think about the layout for a day, so by tomorrow morning let the contractor knows, so they will start to build the kerb tomorrow.May: So it means there is a separate bottom cabinet on the right to put the kitchen sink?no no.. kitchen sink also same row on the left.... the right is only washer and a small table... moveable table. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 You can still have an L-shape with dish rack above the sink. Look at the photo below.I personally don't prefer dish rack though. Because i don't like the messiness of having plates and bowls laying on the rack. I prefer to wipe and keep them away. If I have a dish rack I tend to be lazy and leave them at the rack. This is what i think, I'm still struggling whether I should have one or not. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 (edited) By the way, I thought you are going to have your dining table in the kitchen?This is what i'm planning for my kitchen. There is a basin for my hand-wash clothes Edited March 22, 2012 by ValerieLow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 I personally don't prefer dish rack though. Because i don't like the messiness of having plates and bowls laying on the rack. I prefer to wipe and keep them away. If I have a dish rack I tend to be lazy and leave them at the rack. This is what i think, I'm still struggling whether I should have one or not. i agreed.... i also don't like dish rack above the sink as most of the time, the door will be opened up. Then will not keep the dishes back in the drawers / cabinets. but if you don't have enough space to put a table top dish rack, i guess that's the best solution. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 You can still have an L-shape with dish rack above the sink. Look at the photo below.I personally don't prefer dish rack though. Because i don't like the messiness of having plates and bowls laying on the rack. I prefer to wipe and keep them away. If I have a dish rack I tend to be lazy and leave them at the rack. This is what i think, I'm still struggling whether I should have one or not. i agreed.... i also don't like dish rack above the sink as most of the time, the door will be opened up. Then will not keep the dishes back in the drawers / cabinets. but if you don't have enough space to put a table top dish rack, i guess that's the best solution.I like the idea to have the rack like that, but I'm not sure if require false ceiling to install the rack, or can install the rack on the real ceiling wall. I intend to put the dining table on the right side of the kitchen.Been spending the whole day drawing and drawing the cabinet layout, and trouble my contractor to keep calling me to explain why my designs don't work, mainly because of the walking space, piping, etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
albertchng 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 Wouldnt they have fabricated the cabinets? You can still change? Have you seen mine? I find it ok leh.Once the cabinet base has been set or the drainage system has been done, changing the cabinet design or sink placement may not be possible, unless dont mind to pay more $$$ and drag a few days longer. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
albertchng 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 By the way, I thought you are going to have your dining table in the kitchen?This is what i'm planning for my kitchen. There is a basin for my hand-wash clothes See your fridge area is good fit good fit, no extra space? You very sure wont change bigger fridge in the future?If you do cabinet on both sides with a 6 ft walking space in the middle, you like mah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 (edited) I did consider to do a U-shape for the kitchen, but my contractor said the kitchen will be quite squeezy if we do this concept. I was considering maybe we get a smaller dining table that can accommodate 4 persons, or a extendable dining table, so when there is more people coming to my house for lunch/dinner, I have a bigger table to accommodate them. Not sure if a smaller dining table will make the kitchen less squeezy or not. Edited March 22, 2012 by ayazumi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 I did consider to do a U-shape for the kitchen, but my contractor said the kitchen will be quite squeezy if we do this concept. I was considering maybe we get a smaller dining table that can accommodate 4 persons, or a extendable dining table, so when there is more people coming to my house for lunch/dinner, I have a bigger table to accommodate them. Not sure if a smaller dining table will make the kitchen less squeezy or not.Is the yellow box beside the storeroom your fridge? and the one beside the rubbish chute your washing machine? if yes, then the cabinet beside the fridge is quite redundant as you cannot open the cabinet (unless you open from the door before and trying to stretch your hands in). it would be easy to store but even easier to be forgotten. a table inside the kitchen is ok.... but most of the time its against the wall lah or else sure no space to walk. WAsher next to rubbish chute is workable but no dryer then? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites