Akitsuki

Serangoon North Renovation By Defong Interior Design

Yes Valerie. We previously compared the other 2 room dimensions with the MBR. Somehow we feel that the MBR is smaller, but on the floor plan, it looks the the 3 rooms are equally divided. Maybe my floor plan is not accurate? Either we sacrifice the king bed or the wardrobe, in the end we chose king bed.

Albert: Good idea. Next visit I bring some for them. Earlier they were asking me if there were cold beers for them. I said I bought only coke, next round I bring some beers.

Not a good idea to bring beers... wait your tiles will be lay YY too.

Maybe if happen you bump them at nearby coffee shop, then buy them a crate (12 bottles) of beers.

I felt that our MBR is very small. The 2nd bedroom is even larger than MBR. I can only have a queen sized bed as I need a dressing table and bedside table.

Give you an idea... dont use bedside table. install a small shelf on top of your headboard, mounted at about 140cm from floor, install 2 X double gang power socket under this small shelf, 1 each for LED lamp and the other for charging iPhone.

Edited by albertchng

I felt that our MBR is very small. The 2nd bedroom is even larger than MBR. I can only have a queen sized bed as I need a dressing table and bedside table.

ya.. indeed our MBR room is very small lor.. i wanted to hack the wall between the 2 bedroom to link them into 1 big room.. but wife was against the idea so in the end didnt proceed. if not.. can have bedroom and study room merge together.. and can make WIW with the enlarged space.. but that would mean another 4-5k of cost... and that is way over our budgeted amount.. :bangwall:

DAY SIX

Electrical wires and casements are dismantled

IMG-20120320-WA0016.jpg

And I didn't ill-treat the workers. I bought them each a Coca Cola to reward them :D

When I was about to leave the house, I saw another worker came up with many other tools. They told me that they will be doing the cement and sand tomorrow, then Thursday will start the tiling works. I supposed I will see the debris gone by this evening or tomorrow morning.

oo! your casement is like build in kind! so wont look so bulky hor! nice! initially got the though of doing so too, but might nd top up if more hacking included, so didn't suggest.. hahahaha your reno looking good!

All the best yar!

Hi Grace. Thank you for visiting, and thank you for your best wishes. My contractor, Kevin, just called me and said it is illegal to do built-in casements, unless the wall is partition. He will tell his workers to cover up the holes. The ex-owner did the illegal way to conceal the casements to make them look nicer. We found they lay electrical wires under the floor tiles too - I think this is illegal too.

Yup, for hdb, it's illegal to conceal wiring. Inside walls or under floor....

lol. My wife very nice.. everytime reply very fast.. than i no need to reply :dribble::bleah: thanks everyone for the warm wishes and hope those that are doing reno now have a smooth journey too :) please dont think that i'm rude or anti social bcoz i feel that my wife have replied already, so no point double posting. can save more space to post more useful informations to share with everybody. was reading may's blog.. woah... very very long blog.. wonder when than our blog will have so many pages. :yamseng:

May: We didn't know at first. We were still happy happy wanted to ask our contractor to do built-in casements for new electrical points/locations, until we heard ILLEGAL, we were shocked. Now everything has to be covered up.

lol. My wife very nice.. everytime reply very fast.. than i no need to reply :dribble::bleah: thanks everyone for the warm wishes and hope those that are doing reno now have a smooth journey too :) please dont think that i'm rude or anti social bcoz i feel that my wife have replied already, so no point double posting. can save more space to post more useful informations to share with everybody. was reading may's blog.. woah... very very long blog.. wonder when than our blog will have so many pages. :yamseng:

Whenever I see your signature above my post, I thought I did double posting. I need to see the ign, if it was me who posted it. You look like a duplicate of me.

was reading may's blog.. woah... very very long blog.. wonder when than our blog will have so many pages. :yamseng:

My blog full of nonsense lah. Women chatters... Haha.... If you want your blog to be long, then always come in here even after Reno are done.

May: We didn't know at first. We were still happy happy wanted to ask our contractor to do built-in casements for new electrical points/locations, until we heard ILLEGAL, we were shocked. Now everything has to be covered up.

How you know why our electrical points and plugs are always so bulky and showing out all casement for the wiring. Hehe....

My blog full of nonsense lah. Women chatters... Haha.... If you want your blog to be long, then always come in here even after Reno are done.

haha... i think the 1 who will always come in here and chit chat will be my wife lor.. i like to stay in the shadow.. :notti:

If too long then difficult for anyone to read abt the real stuff. Haha....

under the tiles is permissable i think, cos my contractor volunteer to do it for me for free. but you will have no way to "touch" it once it is seal up.