Akitsuki

Serangoon North Renovation By Defong Interior Design

Hi Aki & Aya,

Your floor tiles for living room and other bedrooms different or they're the same? I see the pics seems like they're different colors (maybe my eyes playing a trick on me). Is yr living room floor tiles all / pure white? I love yr DIY bird cage. Yr kitchen wall tiles is nice too!

Hi Elise. Thank you for liking our designs. Your eyes are sharp. You noticed the difference of the tile colors. The living room and the bedrooms are in different tile colors and designs. Living room tiles are in light beige (sometimes look like white when there is sunlight coming from window), but the bedroom tiles are in slightly dark beige tone. I wanted to use my hp camera to capture the detail of the bedroom tiles, but it's so difficult to get the right picture, so I gave up. The bedroom tile design looks like wood grain. We like wood floorings but at the same time lazy to maintain, therefore we chose wood grain look-alike tiles.

My hubby says he can help you DIY the bird cage, if you want. We kiasu, bought 5 ikea pendant lights, but use only 2. He says he wants dinner treat, include me please! :P

Really??? He will DIY for me? Definitely not a problem! I always cook for friends but might not be hotel standard leh. Just normal home cooked food!

actually it's quite easy.. let me know when u feel like changing ur light ba.. :) but... bird cage light in the toilet?? lol what a place to put it..

Did Kevin changed the hollow tiles behind the kitchen cabinets? Kevin told me the hollow tiles behind kitchen cabinet no need to change, cos wun affect??? he will only change the tiles that is exposed or if I want to drill holes next time?

I dun quite understand his explanation..surely in 15 yrs time, if the wall tiles are not good, the cabinets will not be stable??

ya, Kevin doing my wardrobes.

Your kitchen wood laminate is nice, can share what is the code of your laminate?

Hihi, sorry for my late reply. The laminate is Pacific Cherry EWW 3506N (S) from EDL (from White Logic catalogue book)

actually it's quite easy.. let me know when u feel like changing ur light ba.. :) but... bird cage light in the toilet?? lol what a place to put it..

Why not?? Something special mah... It else normal light very boring leh. Hehe....

Did Kevin changed the hollow tiles behind the kitchen cabinets? Kevin told me the hollow tiles behind kitchen cabinet no need to change, cos wun affect??? he will only change the tiles that is exposed or if I want to drill holes next time?

I dun quite understand his explanation..surely in 15 yrs time, if the wall tiles are not good, the cabinets will not be stable??

ya, Kevin doing my wardrobes.

It depends whether you can accept or not accept this arrangement. As a consumer's point of view, if I find hollow tiles more than 30% hollowness (from what you told me today) behind the kitchen cabinet, then I demand for rectification. As a contractor point of view, to rectify the tiles means delaying a day's work for both tiler and carpenter, and this also cause delay to his other site projects. That's what I mean, it all depends whether you can accept the reasoning or not.

So, did you find any hollow tiles behind the kitchen cabinet?

Edited by ayazumi

This tool comes in handy for checking wall tiles and hard-to-reach places. Glad that it helps you in checking the hollow tiles. :thumbs up:

DAY THIRTY-NINE

Finally, after waiting for almost a month, the opennet people are here to install opennet box for us. There is no earlier appointment, other than today (the earliest date we were assigned for). We missed the time frame when Opennet offers free installation, hence we need to pay $220 for installation. Luckily, Singtel is kind enough to help us liaise with Opennet to make appointment since we are signing the fiber broadband with them. On top of that, they gave us free 6 months' usage of fiber broadband when we sign up for Singtel fiber broadband :dancingqueen: That means to say, our opennet box installation is FOC! We gain free 6 months' subscription fees, and we use this 6 months payment to pay for Opennet installation. It's worth it! :dribble:

This is how the Opennet fiber trunking runs. We try to find the best route and minimize the trunking route. Luckily Opennet installer said that the fiber can go through the electrical trunking at the bottom, then connect with new trunking, to the new Opennet box. Actually cannot run same trunking as electrical wires as this will influence the frequency of the fiber wire, but anyways, it is for home usage, so it doesn't matter.

47.jpg

48.jpg

49.jpg

50.jpg

It only took Opennet 20 minutes to pull the fiber and install the box. I would say they are efficient. Their installers are bangalah, mine electrician also bangalah, why he can't work as fast as them?! :curse:

Edited by ayazumi

DAY THIRTY-NINE

Finally, after waiting for almost a month, the opennet people are here to install opennet box for us. There is no earlier appointment, other than today (the earliest date we were assigned for). We missed the time frame when Opennet offers free installation, hence we need to pay $220 for installation. Luckily, Singtel is kind enough to help us liaise with Opennet to make appointment since we are signing the fiber broadband with them. On top of that, they gave us free 6 months' usage of fiber broadband when we sign up for Singtel fiber broadband :dancingqueen: That means to say, our opennet box installation is FOC! We gain free 6 months' subscription fees, and we use this 6 months payment to pay for Opennet installation. It's worth it! :dribble:

This is how the Opennet fiber trunking runs. We try to find the best route and minimize the trunking route. Luckily Opennet installer said that the fiber can go through the electrical trunking at the bottom, then connect with new trunking, to the new Opennet box. Actually cannot run same trunking as electrical wires as this will influence the frequency of the fiber wire, but anyways, it is for home usage, so it doesn't matter.

IMG-20120423-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20120423-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20120423-WA0003-1.jpg

IMG-20120423-WA0002-1.jpg

It only took Opennet 20 minutes to pull the fiber and install the box. I would say they are efficient. Their installers are bangalah, mine electrician also bangalah, why he can't work as fast as them?! :curse:

Ehh ask u hor,my contractor said he going install scv,so next time I subscribe home broadband the cable is plug from scv box?

If I subscribe singnet the cable plug to where?scv box too?

I never subscribe this thing before coz I use dongle to connect to internet

Need to know coz they going to install within tomorrow

Ehh ask u hor,my contractor said he going install scv,so next time I subscribe home broadband the cable is plug from scv box?

If I subscribe singnet the cable plug to where?scv box too?

I never subscribe this thing before coz I use dongle to connect to internet

Need to know coz they going to install within tomorrow

whether you subscribed to singtel or starhub for fiber optic internet, all will go through the opennet box. That is the only point for fiber optic internet.

If you subcribe to starhub cable broadband, then it will go through scv box. if you subcribe to singtel ADSL broadband, then it will go through the normal home telephone line.

so which type of internet that you would want? most ppl will go for fiber optic broadband as its so much faster. so having scv box or not, will not make the difference for fiber optic broadband.

May is right. Having SCV box can be redundant and also can be a backup. It depends which service provider you choose. I can sign-up with Singtel now, but in near future, I may want to switch to Starhub, then I don't need to worry if I have SCV box or not because I have already installed SCV box. One thing to take note, remember to ask your electrician to install telephone line beside the modem (where you want to put) so that you need not worry no telephone line for Singtel. My parents' house can only subscribe to Starhub because we want to place the modem on the TV console, but there is no telephone line near the TV console. This restricts us from subscribing to Singtel internet due to lack of telephone point.

We are subscribing to fiber internet, so SCV box becomes redundant, but maybe next time we don't like fiber, we want broadband cable, we have SCV box standby already

Edited by ayazumi

May is right. Having SCV box can be redundant and also can be a backup. It depends which service provider you choose. I can sign-up with Singtel now, but in near future, I may want to switch to Starhub, then I don't need to worry if I have SCV box or not because I have already installed SCV box. One thing to take note, remember to ask your electrician to install telephone line beside the modem (where you want to put) so that you need not worry no telephone line for Singtel. My parents' house can only subscribe to Starhub because we want to place the modem on the TV console, but there is no telephone line near the TV console. This restricts us from subscribing to Singtel internet due to lack of telephone point.

We are subscribing to fiber internet, so SCV box becomes redundant, but maybe next time we don't like fiber, we want broadband cable, we have SCV box standby already

i would think that within the next 2-3 years, no more other type of broadband except fiber.