albertchng 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 (edited) I think baby oil is less sticky than cooking oil. Baby oil absorb quite fast. Like NeoBY said, it might be same concept as car polishing; don't apply too much oil on the sink - less is more. We don't do heavy cooking, probably just fry an egg or cook maggie mee. We use the sink to wash our hands only, don't really use the sink to wash other things, so the granite sink should be okay for us. We have also checked with our contractor, it is not advisable to undermount the sink as granite sink is very heavy, and like what you said, maybe we want to change our sink if we don't like it or the sink spoil we need to change a new one, so we will not undermount the sink.Wash hand sure to use soap or some form of cleanser, which use animal fat in the raw material. This leave a residue that will stick onto the surface of granite sink and make it whitish and sticky when it is wet. Fry an egg or cook maggi mee sure have to wash pot and pan at sink right? Please lah dont tell me you wash them in the toilet. Even you use happycall to fry a salmon steak, you still need to wash it at the sink, imagine the fishy smell stick to the surface of granite sink... eeeyeewwweee. Edited March 27, 2012 by albertchng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Hi Aya, you are right about the baby oil technique. We do that in commercial kitchens as well. In fact, once or twice a month, we will even use baby oil on stainless steel surfaces of items like fridges and freezers. Neoby is right about less being more too. Too much on on granite sink surface and you will get patches that takes a while to go away. So one way would be to lightly coat a cotton cloth with baby oil and wipe it instead of letting the oil soak on the granite surface. Hope that helps!really? on ss surfaces as well? wah!!! i am gonna try that!! my contractor said can use magic sponge on ss surfaces and shower glass screen. will keep it new as ever. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Hi Aya, you are right about the baby oil technique. We do that in commercial kitchens as well. In fact, once or twice a month, we will even use baby oil on stainless steel surfaces of items like fridges and freezers. Neoby is right about less being more too. Too much on on granite sink surface and you will get patches that takes a while to go away. So one way would be to lightly coat a cotton cloth with baby oil and wipe it instead of letting the oil soak on the granite surface. Hope that helps!Yes I agree, maybe paper towel is too rough for granite sink. A cotton cloth is softer and good for maintaining the granite sink without scratches, and as you have mentioned, baby oil is workable for stainless steel surface to maintain the shine (looks brand new again). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 really? on ss surfaces as well? wah!!! i am gonna try that!! my contractor said can use magic sponge on ss surfaces and shower glass screen. will keep it new as ever.what is magic sponge? i think my cleaning aunty just use newspaper... hahaahhah.....and the shower glass screen looks super shiny after she leaves. but after 2 days, its full of water droplets stains again. hahahaha..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pirvan 3 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 really? on ss surfaces as well? wah!!! i am gonna try that!! my contractor said can use magic sponge on ss surfaces and shower glass screen. will keep it new as ever.LOL yeah lor! Magic sponge seems to be contractor/IDs best friend. Donny uses it now for cleaning everthing. Even his toenail that day after general cleaning. muahahahahaha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Wash hand sure to use soap or some form of cleanser, which use animal fat in the raw material. This leave a residue that will stick onto the surface of granite sink and make it whitish and sticky when it is wet. Fry an egg or cook maggi mee sure have to wash pot and pan at sink right? Please lah dont tell me you wash them in the toilet. Even you use happycall to fry a salmon steak, you still need to wash it at the sink, imagine the fishy smell stick to the surface of granite sink... eeeyeewwweee.Hahahaha.. we don't use soap to wash hands. We use kirei kirei - 100% cleansing ingredient from plants. Who will still use soap to wash hands nowadays? Maybe my ah ma will, but not for us. Haha! When we start to use the sink to wash our dishes, pots, and pans, then we feedback the outcome after we experience it. For now, we don't know how good or bad a granite sink is, but it is a good try afterall. Have been using stainless steel sink for 20 over years, so it's good to try something new too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pirvan 3 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 what is magic sponge? i think my cleaning aunty just use newspaper... hahaahhah.....and the shower glass screen looks super shiny after she leaves. but after 2 days, its full of water droplets stains again. hahahaha.....May-whos-name-is-not-May Can i know how does part time cleaning aunty charge? Is it very expensive? Cos we were thinking of hiring one in future as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 what is magic sponge? i think my cleaning aunty just use newspaper... hahaahhah.....and the shower glass screen looks super shiny after she leaves. but after 2 days, its full of water droplets stains again. hahahaha.....u dont know what is magic sponge?? i used it to clean the wardrobe until almost clean. very good!!!Can get from Daiso. $2 nia. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Where to buy magic sponge? How does it look like? Can I get from NTUC Fairprice? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 May-whos-name-is-not-May Can i know how does part time cleaning aunty charge? Is it very expensive? Cos we were thinking of hiring one in future as well.pirvan, you learnt very fast! heheheeh....my cleaning aunty charges $12 per hour. you can request weekly or fortnightly, she is ok. I think she is quite cheap cos she is local and only charge $12. some foreigners charges $15 per hour leh..... but she only goes to those near to her lah. She stays at hougang so if got directly bus, then she is ok... i think she cleaning one house at pasir ris. can tell me what is magic sponge?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 u dont know what is magic sponge?? i used it to clean the wardrobe until almost clean. very good!!!Can get from Daiso. $2 nia.Daiso have so many things leh... all $2. how i know which one is magic sponge? hehehehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Akitsuki 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Tonight ask Neo post pic of it or Google it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
getzski 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 daiso has one section just selling magic sponge. very easy to spot. remember to buy those BIGGER piece type. not those 20 small ones in a bag. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
getzski 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 well...the smallest ones (5cm by 2cm) may be good to clean jewelery....lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Akitsuki 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Maybe I shall go daiso and grab some too.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites