I don't like the idea to have lights above TV. I feel it too glaring and hurt the eyes too.

must take care of eyes leh.... don't let lights shine into them directly, not good.

hi valerie, the electrician that i PM you, they also have a shop in Jurong east that sells lights. (not those arty farty types) they are very reasonably priced. and if you buy both product and services, you get special price.

my sister also did track with spot lights at her house without false ceiling. the track runs across the length of the living room. track light gives you the flexibility to add/remove the holder any time, and you can adjust the holder angle, i.e. some lights can be used to shine on paintings, others for ambient lighting....etc.

if you do downlights, don't forget to include every downtime is considered one lighting point. i think you need to add up another $30 per point in your electrical cost.

This is where it kills your budget.

sigh.....i've 25 downlights.....no one tell me about that previously. learn the hard way.

25 downlights are not that many lah.... i have 12 too but i have a lot of cove lights as well.

sigh.....i've 25 downlights.....no one tell me about that previously. learn the hard way.

I didn't know too, until I saw the quotation. So I went home to consult my father. He is also a renovation contractor, but doing A&A work, don't do HDB. So he helped me source for cheaper alternative.

no matter how cheap, it's still 16 lighting points in my living room....still heart pain

Each downlight is smelly smell 70 bucks. 30+ for the light, 30 for each electrical point, 10 for installation fee.

Heee... If we do L-box and downlight, my electrician quoted me per switch is one lighting point, not by per downlight. If 3 downlights link to one switch, it is still consider one lighting point.

no matter how cheap, it's still 16 lighting points in my living room....still heart pain

never mind lah, already done. and your living room is so big.... so no choice loh.....

I thought using track light is considered one point? A 2 meter track can accommodate about 5 modules. But end of day it's still 1 lighting point.

Hi Darnie,

They were discussing about down lights.

hi valerie, the electrician that i PM you, they also have a shop in Jurong east that sells lights. (not those arty farty types) they are very reasonably priced. and if you buy both product and services, you get special price.

my sister also did track with spot lights at her house without false ceiling. the track runs across the length of the living room. track light gives you the flexibility to add/remove the holder any time, and you can adjust the holder angle, i.e. some lights can be used to shine on paintings, others for ambient lighting....etc.

Really? I will contact him and see if i can get a good deal for lights. I have estimated about $1k for lighting only.. is this too much or too little? :o

Good enough. If you don't do false ceiling/L-box, $1k is enough. You need to factor another $200-300 if you intend to buy track lights.