not only sticky feeling, can see the footsteps..... my platform have my footprint when i come out of shower.... so have to use magic clean to wipe it till not footprint stains.

Magic clean is laminate's best friend. Nowadays magic wipes are cheap; $1 per pack, that is imitiation of magic clean. I bought the imitation wipes and stick. The tissues are wet, but too thin to clean the floor. I need to use two pieces to wipe the floor. The stick is filmsy too. Conclusion: don't buy imitation.

haahha.... how true!!! i also have the same feeling. pay a bit more is better than using those imitation that doesn't help to do anything at all.

Must psycho my mum to use only magic clean. Good also.... Use traditional mop requires strength to twist the mop. I know there are many gadget that can dry the mop but my mum just like to twist the mop.....

magic clean is just to clean simple task.. still need mop to clean properly loh.

aiyo... then how laa... what is the good way to wipe laminate flooring? now confuse liao....

There is a better quality grade of laminate, I think it is called " rubber laminate ". I am not saying about the rubber floorings that our granny used in old 1-room flat, they are actually wood laminates. This type of floor laminate are water resistant, but more expensive than normal laminate. Though it is water resistant floor laminate, I don't expect you to pour water or wash the floor. I can't inagine what will happen to the flooring. Valerie, you can consider about this.

Got contractor told me that you cannot use vacuum and mop on laminate floorings but you can use vacuum and mop on parquet.

They are call Vinyl tiles; 100% waterproof but water may sip in through the edge. You can glue the edge when laying them so they really become water proof but that doesn't mean you can pour water freely over them.

Edited by albertchng

Why leh? I also plan to use magic clean. I think for living room or bed room it's ok to use magic clean. Maybe not for kitchen. Need to clean thoroughly if do heavy cooking.

aiyo... then how laa... what is the good way to wipe laminate flooring? now confuse liao....

you would still need to use mop but make sure its as dry as possble. then it will not last forever lah... after a while, water will still seep in.... so just take it that for laminate, the most can use for 10 years or less.

10 years long enough...

i am using e LAMINATE friendly liquid solution. you take a cloth, soak it, wring it dry, then mop.

fyi. i use my feet to mop. two clothes on 2 feet, and i just walk and mop. very efficient and clean.

Friends,

I need some help and I know some enthusiast will respond to me.

any body used a combination of metallic grey colour laminate along with glossy piano white (or any glossy white) in their kitchen ?

When i say combination, may be the lower half you use one laminate (glossy white) and the top cabinates you use dark shade laminate.

Any one ?

I saw this one ( http://www.45mqdesign.com.sg/images/vipportfolio/4a5738.jpg ) , and my wife like it a lot. I dont find a similar color except this one in EDL (http://www.edleuro.com/edl_laminates_that_express.html , choose 'Lush Brush' under 'Laminate range' and see 'EGB 0025B periwinkle-B'

What is your thought on this combination ?

Friends,

any body used a combination of metallic grey colour laminate along with glossy piano white (or any glossy white) in their kitchen ?

When i say combination, may be the lower half you use one laminate (glossy white) and the top cabinates you use dark shade laminate.

Any one ?

I saw this one ( http://www.45mqdesign.com.sg/images/vipportfolio/4a5738.jpg ) , and my wife like it a lot. I dont find a similar color except this one in EDL (http://www.edleuro.com/edl_laminates_that_express.html , choose 'Lush Brush' under 'Laminate range' and see 'EGB 0025B periwinkle-B'

all the laminates makers has a range of solid-glossy color for you to choose from. ask you contractor to provide you more catalogs.

Friends,

Any one ?

oh...it looks good. i like it.

I totally agrees.... laminate and parquet are equally difficult to maintain...

my parents' old house have parquet and after a few years, its full of termites. Just because we lives in flat doesn't mean there are no termites. you can check here where there are people having termites issues.

As for laminate, the feel is not good at all. nice to see, not nice to step on. You can read some regret that friends78 have on installing laminate.

Tiles are cold but at least its durable and you can clean it as much as you like. you will appreciate tiles when you have babies... when they are crawling all over and you can mop with dettol etc. not sure whether laminate can stand strong cleaning liquid.

I agree with u that both parquet and laminate wood flooring are difficult to maintain. They need special care and unlike tiles, we cannot use wet mop on them if they r to last a long time.

Laminate wood is certainly more scratch resistant than parquet and cheaper.

I m currently using laminate wood for all my bedrooms. I do like the warm feeling as compared to tiles. So need to wear slippers. My living and dining is using marble.... Nice to look at but gives me a very cold feeling.... I have to wear slippers to keep my feet warm..... Perhaps I m getting old... Hee hee :)

My personal preference: I like only my bedrooms and staircase to be wood but I don't like the whole house to have woody feeling.

Thanks , some one considered replying this poor soul.

I greatly appreciate

I am going to EDL today to take a look at bigger samples.

I will update my blog after that.

oh...it looks good. i like it.

Is that a 3D photo? From 3D it is very hard to gauge the material used. But from the look of it, i like they gray laminate for top cabinet. It looks a bit metallic. Hee...

Friends,

Any one ?