My tiles are not glossy one, they are cement tiles. The sales person treated these tiles so that it will be easier for me to maintain and wipe them if they are stained. I don't think i will put glass, cos glass is not cheap. :P

if cover with glass, then it would be another layer which might be thicker than the counter top. might not be easy to maintain or install....

weather not good, so hot then suddenly rain like crazy. :furious:

Week 4 9/5/2012

Havn't updated my blog for some time and havn't visited my house for few days.

This was what greeted me today when I made a trip up.

New Windows! :wub:

DSC00959a.jpg

The window looks sturdy and the quality is good. Unlike normal white powder coated aluminum window which are flimsy, this one definitely feels solid.

Bathroom sink is up!

DSC00971.jpg

DSC00963.jpg

DSC00968.jpg

Sorry for the dark and blurry photos, I took this in the low light environment. It was already 7+. Replaced a brighter photo.

My contractor drafted this on the cement screed wall. I thought that drawing on cement screed wall looks very artistic, probably I should retain the wall like that and do some drawings on it. Haha :D:P

DSC00951.jpg

Edited by ValerieLow

Please take care of your health. Renovation is long and tiring process, sometimes will feel mental and physical stress and exhaustion. Rest more and drink more water, take a break at times to loosen the tension.

if cover with glass, then it would be another layer which might be thicker than the counter top. might not be easy to maintain or install....

weather not good, so hot then suddenly rain like crazy. :furious:

Yah! It's a long and stressful journey, have to cope with work and other personal matters too. Plus the scorching hot weather recently, everyone has to take care!

Window Grill

We are still deciding which grill to use. We prefer A, but contractor thinks it is not so safe, he suggested C.

grill.jpg

Did you ask why he thinks A not safe? Cos the gap is too big? You have children? I prefer C as well cos I feel asthetically it looks nicer and it serves the purpose of guarding in/out.

Window Grill

We are still deciding which grill to use. We prefer A, but contractor thinks it is not so safe, he suggested C.

grill.jpg

I also prefer C... for ease of cleaning. I'm using C for my flat.

Week 4 9/5/2012

DSC00959a.jpg

The window looks sturdy and the quality is good. Unlike normal white powder coated aluminum window which are flimsy, this one definitely feels solid.

Bathroom sink is up!

DSC00965.jpg

DSC00963.jpg

DSC00962.jpg

Sorry for the dark and blurry photos, I took this in the low light environment. It was already 7+

My contractor drafted this on the cement screed wall. I thought that drawing on cement screed wall looks very artistic, probably I should retain the wall like that and do some drawings on it. Haha :D:P

DSC00951.jpg

Hi Valerie, nice basin you have but I think it is too shallow. Mine one is deep but the water keepl splashing out maybe the water running from my big-mouth tap is too powerfull. I also like to place the basin and WC opposite, it is space saving yet you can see your face when try to gek sai.

I also prefer C... for ease of cleaning. I'm using C for my flat.

He mentioned about the grill too thin not secure, something like that, I'm thinking we can get a thicker grill. I like A because it gives an illusion of lattice window. hehe

Hi Valerie, nice basin you have but I think it is too shallow. Mine one is deep but the water keepl splashing out maybe the water running from my big-mouth tap is too powerfull. I also like to place the basin and WC opposite, it is space saving yet you can see your face when try to gek sai.

:rofl:

Hahaha you are funny, the mirror is too high la, i don't think i can see myself when gek sai-ing. :P

I just realised that since you mentioned the basin is shallow, but too late liao already put it up cannot change anymore. But I guess that's the only basin i can use since its depth is only 32cm good for my narrow bathroom. The other basins which are 40cm are just too big for the small area.

Week 4 9/5/2012

DSC00959a.jpg

Bathroom sink is up!

DSC00965.jpg

DSC00963.jpg

DSC00962.jpg

Sorry for the dark and blurry photos, I took this in the low light environment. It was already 7+

DSC00951.jpg

Hi.. Mind to tell me how much does your window costed? I am thinking of changing too.. Your mailbox is full

Hi Terrain, I got my windows directly from my contractor. If not mistaken, it is $3k for all windows in my house. My house got more windows than normal 4-room cos we have a foyer.

Edited by ValerieLow

Hi Terrain, I got my windows directly from my contractor. If not mistaken, it is $3k for all windows in my house. My house got more windows than normal 4-room cos we have a foyer.

I c..

Actually i just wana change both my toilet windows but was quoted 400 each. Those normal louver design but with dun know so called better aluminium material.

Looking for cheaper alternatives. Best if can install KDK vent. fan type of window.

Thank you for your advise. :yamseng:

I c..

Actually i just wana change both my toilet windows but was quoted 400 each. Those normal louver design but with dun know so called better aluminium material.

Looking for cheaper alternatives. Best if can install KDK vent. fan type of window.

400 each? :jawdrop:

Is this the price from your contractor? Probably can look for direct window contractor.

If you want to install KDK vent, i think u should be using those casement type of window. They will make a hole to fit your fan.

I c..

ya, a bit ex leh... toilet windows for $400?

My sliding window at the kitchen/service yard area is only $280, and I find it expensive already, $400 for 1 small window at toilet? :fire:

I just realised that since you mentioned the basin is shallow, but too late liao already put it up cannot change anymore. But I guess that's the only basin i can use since its depth is only 32cm good for my narrow bathroom. The other basins which are 40cm are just too big for the small area.

Is good, so that you can save water by not turning the tap all the way to the end.. :rolleyes: