kim76

Our First Home At Cck

Hi kim76 et al,

Can you share how your electrician charge you for cove light installation? If a row of cove light involves 2 units of 4 ft each joined together, does he charge 2 light points cost? Mine charges $38 + $10 installation cost per light point. For the 2 units of 4 ft, installation cos (excluding the t5 light itself) already set me back by $96. Very expensive way to install...

Rgds,

Luxray

Hi Luxray,

I do not have the individual charge as my ID arrange his electrician to do it. Btw, I only have 1 row of 3 t5 cove light in my living room. What is the $38 for? Installation of cove light is pretty easy for my case. I bought 3 t5 lights with 2 overlay cable from lighting.com.sg and the electrician just install it. Unless in your case, the electrician need to install a new set of wire for the cove light. :dunno:

Hi kim76 et al,

Can you share how your electrician charge you for cove light installation? If a row of cove light involves 2 units of 4 ft each joined together, does he charge 2 light points cost? Mine charges $38 + $10 installation cost per light point. For the 2 units of 4 ft, installation cos (excluding the t5 light itself) already set me back by $96. Very expensive way to install...

Rgds,

Luxray

$38 due to the wiring of power point for 1x cove light, $10 was charged to install the cove light. It is a pretty standard pricing. Why charge $38 per point?

Simple, ask yourself, was the point there in the 1st place? If no, $38 is chargeable as it is required to wire the point with eletricity supply. Likewise, if there is a lighting point there, only $10 will be charged.

Edited by ongcs

Hi kim76 et al,

Rgds,

Luxray

Not sure if it's relevant. When I installed my lights it was $30 + $7 per point. But I bought Philips lights from a shop and they have a contractor they provided so maybe cheaper? Having said that another light shop along bukit Timah told me $30 + $10. Dunno Leh.

Many thks to all who replied.

Was doing a search on t5 installation charge and then realized that we have been taken to the cleaners by my ID's electrician.

Anyway, here are the specific threads which talk about t5 lights installation charge. I will share my electrical cost on this thread so that more people can be alerted of such profiteering practice.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20953

Thks,

Luxray

Hi Luxray,

I do not have the individual charge as my ID arrange his electrician to do it. Btw, I only have 1 row of 3 t5 cove light in my living room. What is the $38 for? Installation of cove light is pretty easy for my case. I bought 3 t5 lights with 2 overlay cable from lighting.com.sg and the electrician just install it. Unless in your case, the electrician need to install a new set of wire for the cove light. :dunno:

Hi kim76,

Good for you.

See the following thread on how much my electrician charged me :curse::horse:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20953

Cheers,

Ask you all ah. This mr Ho do curtains one. How long does he take to get back to the house to fix up curtains? One month Liao he also never call. Maybe my business too cheap for him dint even bother to call or anything.

Forgot to add he quote me 650++ SGD for day and night curtain in my living room!! I was so shocked he quickly drop by about 80 or so. Feel like Kenna chop carrot.

Call him. I call him after 3 weeks and he will get someone to call u back to arrange timing. He is very busy.

Maybe I should not have release his contacts on my blog.... :dunno:

For price wise, I not sure one living room how much is the charge. Maybe u can get another quote? Measure the length & height and go to local curtain and see how much they charge.

hi there, may i know what brand is your hob??

as for your dish strainer i see that the compartment is rather small. isit bcoz u wanted to have a staight line o the bottom top cabinet that why the height cant be too high if not when it opens short prople wont have the height to close back. let me know ya...

cause i also intend to do the way like yours. dont mind i copy your concept ya... as for colors scheme, i will also do like yours just that the backing will be glass instead for the wall. as my total length for wash basin and cooker only 7ft long. seems to me your length is also not long. :rolleyes:

Hob - Electrolux EHED72CS

The top 2 side by side flip up cabinets are dish strainer. I can't have full height cos the cover will be too high to close back.

Please copy. That why I put in blog.. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

My length is also not long. How long can a new BTO kitchen be? :bleah: :bleah: haa....

Happy reno! :yamseng:

No lah. I not blaming you for sharing which I think is great. I dint know what to expect so now I call him bah

SO he respond? I also wanna do a roller blind for my toilet... but too lazy to call him... maybe will do it next week...

How is your moving in getting on? Tested the cable? Nice meeting you :sport-smiley-004: