kim76

Our First Home At Cck

I will feedback after I got them... :sport-smiley-004: Your kneelguard is the big piece one? I don't like those big one cos I will be looking like a uncle running... Just one piece of strap still look pretty good.. Like part of my running accessories... Haa.. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

The cable strap not that expensive ma... Less than US$4 for 50 pcs leh :bleah: :bleah:

I am also think about the same synology.... But I was thinking do I really need a NAS or I just need a HDD enclosure? :dunno:

I'm eyeing this Probox and it is selling at SLS for only $169 for USB3 & eSATA, $259 for extra RAID function. I may get one to backup all my stuff first :notti: :notti: then if next time I really need a NAS, then I upgrade...

Still thinking.....

ya...the big one (and very unglam) but it works lor... ;)

depends on wat u need it for lah - i have a lot of music and photos (and some personal stuff) that need to be backed up in a reliable fashion...synology (and qnap etc) win in the software aspect - you are actually paying for the software which makes it easier to setup backup schedules, decide which files/dir to backup and more importantly, the recovery is easier and faster... :good:

if you wanted to build, the h/w aspect is the easiest - juz get chassis, psu, m/board, cpu and hdd, install your favourite flavour of linux and you're done...the problem is actually getting a good usable piece of software to configure the backup and recovery...my friend hasn't found anything truly solid yet - and he's in this biz... :P you can repurpose your existing pc too, provided you got enuf internal HDD slots, ur PSU has enuf voltage and ur m/board got enuf SATA ports...

technically, u can also configure the hdd enclosures to do raid, if you get a raid card on your pc...i think some brands/models (WD ?) can also do it if you buy the same brand/model using their own software...

raid 1 vs raid 5 - main diff are in startup costs and data recovery...raid 5 is very expensive and frankly, even tho the selling point says you can have about 75% usable (raid 1 is only 50%), it's a little less than that and recovery is a bit dicey and tough unless you're an expert - experience courtesy of my friend mentioned above so he says go raid 1 is safest for home users... :sport-smiley-018:

update : i was just looking at the probox and realised that it can only support 2TB HDD - something to think about huh cos the synology can support up to 4TB per disk...

Edited by dragonnite

Tell me about it! :sport-smiley-004: I'm user for DAS & NAS for a longest time. :thumbs up: At the moment, using 2 bay DAS with raid 1 for my mac's backup, I had since ditched away a few brands in 2/4 bays cat., like Probox(build quality not up to my expectation), Stardom(psu issues), Icydock(decent but abit firmsy), finally settled DataTale :thumbs up: I loved DAS with multi support on input, ie; USB, FW400/800 etc. Now I'm toying with the idea of Thunderbolt :sport-smiley-004: Sign! As I had been lazy to configure backup directly to my NAS yet.

As for NAS, I did toyed with the idea of setting up a pc, build up from spec point of view, but like Dragonnite had mentioned, no proven software, time consuming, to me, waste of time unless I'm in IT line. :notti: :notti: So, I ventured into NAS, I trusted 1 brand, Synology, way back almost 5-6 years, when they started to hit the market on consumer side! Having said that, current NAS still expensive in my true opinion, largely due to 1 distributer as before, but now, things had changed, so prices had since turned decent with harddisk bundled in the deal so to speak.

Go for at least 4 bay if budget allows, 5/8 bay! Raid 5, expensive? Nah to me, I had the view of raid 1 on raid 1 in 4 bay as entry :notti: , that is expensive! :bow: Data are collected through years, over a long period, especially impt documents, photos of family etc, so spending a small sum/token seems cheap if you had work that over the period.

DAS is good, if you are a single user, never had the idea of setting small network at home, if yes, NAS will be the best bet!

My current setup, 2 sets of 4 bay NAS, 1 set of 5 bay NAS with add-on of additional 5 bay. 2TB for 4 bay setup & 3TB for 5 bay setup. Using it mainly for movies(HD quality), music(HiRES ie; FLAC, WAV, AIFF), documents (ebooks in various format), not just that, can stream content in your own home network over the air at ease. Save the crumblesome affairs in plugging in & out to get connect, once setup, always there to enjoy the return for a longest time!

PS: As above, in view that hardwares are in working order & never mal-function! :bleah: :bleah: Had 1/2 encounters, still decent in NAS, disaster in DAS :bow:

My current setup, 2 sets of 4 bay NAS, 1 set of 5 bay NAS with add-on of additional 5 bay. 2TB for 4 bay setup & 3TB for 5 bay setup. Using it mainly for movies(HD quality), music(HiRES ie; FLAC, WAV, AIFF), documents (ebooks in various format), not just that, can stream content in your own home network over the air at ease. Save the crumblesome affairs in plugging in & out to get connect, once setup, always there to enjoy the return for a longest time!

PS: As above, in view that hardwares are in working order & never mal-function! :bleah: :bleah: Had 1/2 encounters, still decent in NAS, disaster in DAS :bow:

:bow: :bow: wah say ! so much ! you run raid 5 on ur 5 bay huh ? synology or otherwise ? the prices have come down since i was looking 2 years ago when i came home so that's y i'm looking to bu now...currently i have multiple copies across my DAS, both 3.5" and 2.5" - yes i'm paranoid :lol: ... but having had data loss b4 :~ (which i recovered from), i think spending on this is ok, especially since i got so much irreplaceable stuff...

i want to do raid 1 cos recovery is the fastest and easiest... :sport-smiley-004: i can do raid 5 recovery lah, but it's a hassle and the older i get, the lazier i get... :notti: :notti:

:bow: :bow: wah say ! so much ! you run raid 5 on ur 5 bay huh ? synology or otherwise ? the prices have come down since i was looking 2 years ago when i came home so that's y i'm looking to bu now...currently i have multiple copies across my DAS, both 3.5" and 2.5" - yes i'm paranoid :lol: ... but having had data loss b4 :~ (which i recovered from), i think spending on this is ok, especially since i got so much irreplaceable stuff...

i want to do raid 1 cos recovery is the fastest and easiest... :sport-smiley-004: i can do raid 5 recovery lah, but it's a hassle and the older i get, the lazier i get... :notti: :notti:

The 2TB setup mainly for backup only. To me raid 1 or 5 in term of recovery is subjective. The bigger the size, the longer it takes, can't do much if 2 bay but 4 bay, best go raid 5, recovery is decent, been there & done that.

Multiple copies across can be frustrating especially for large file size. You dropping by my please next Saturday, have a look at mine before you venture further :notti:

The 2TB setup mainly for backup only. To me raid 1 or 5 in term of recovery is subjective. The bigger the size, the longer it takes, can't do much if 2 bay but 4 bay, best go raid 5, recovery is decent, been there & done that.

Multiple copies across can be frustrating especially for large file size. You dropping by my please next Saturday, have a look at mine before you venture further :notti:

:good: :good:

oh ho, i was just checking what new stuff has been released by some of my favourite tb sellers and i saw these...for those of you who are looking for stools, check these out :notti:

NBF北岸 Vitra Eames Elephant儿童大象椅 便携凳 儿童椅 装饰凳

T2PxpFXaXNXXXXXXXX_!!104549987.jpg

北岸 Miura stool 鲨鱼嘴吧椅 创意吧台凳 欧式简约亚克力酒吧椅

T2hVqsXotbXXXXXXXX_!!104549987.jpg

especially the 2nd one, very unusual bar stool... :good:

wow, for those of you looking for industrial themed chairs, these ones are cool - from the description, the metallic bit is actually a thin "skin" of aluminium alloy, based on the definition

如典家具 金色小狗家族卡通椅 时尚手工铝皮儿童玩具凳 特价促销

T2wTySXl4aXXXXXXXX_!!1016592254.jpg_310x310.jpg

如典家具 Ball Chair球椅 时尚休闲单人太空椅 简约 新款特价促销

T2EvyTXn4aXXXXXXXX_!!1016592254.jpg

ottoman gotta slowly look and think - dunno the chinese word for it... :P

Any nice ottoman? :notti:

disclaimer : i din verify if these sellers are any good, juz going by whether the design caught my interest huh... :sport-smiley-018: search term for ottoman is 沙发凳

i think this one is interesting cos it really looks like a layer cake, comes in a stool version too

SAMYOK原创 可拆洗布艺沙发凳 换鞋凳穿鞋凳 床尾凳 搁脚凳 长凳

T2TTpWXi4dXXXXXXXX_!!792030784.jpg

this one is simple :

几度家居 客厅沙发 多功能真皮沙发脚踏 皮艺 转角组合沙发

T16X6ZXkJhXXcrs7k._112817.jpg_310x310.jpg

i like the legs of this one :

汉尊欧洲真皮沙发正品多功能时尚组合转角E628脚踏 团购特价

T2hkJJXo0cXXXXXXXX_!!913079121.jpg

Edited by dragonnite

I like this too! :dribble:

can custom make length and colour... :notti: :notti:

amazon stuff arrived, here's the Amco Collapsible Steamer, Stainless Steel:

p1010909r.jpg

fully extended

p1010910nk.jpg

i like it that it is quite solid, and easy to furl and unfurl - and stays locked if you decide not to fully extend it, :good: for smaller pots...legs are quite long too :D

for those of you thinkng about buying the small square or OXO Good Grips Large Silicone Drying Mat, i would say go with the large...i oredi have the small square one and that one can fit a 16" saucepan comfortably but this larger one that i ordered is probably more versatile...luckily i need the small square one for my water jug and also to double up as a trivet...

[..continued..]

next up, a whole bunch of stuff here:

Oxo Good Grips Locking Tongs with Nylon Heads - 9"

OXO Good Grips Silicone Pastry Brush

Progressive International Stainless-Steel Magnetic Measuring Spoons, Set of 5

p1010912b.jpg

the 9" tongs is just nice for me...of special mention is the magnetic measuring spoons - look mom ! they stand ! :good: :good:

p1010913cw.jpg

and having 2 for each measurement is good cos one side can be used for dry ingredients and the other, for wet ingredients...

Joseph Joseph Square Colander - small

p1010915c.jpg

p1010916gc.jpg

again, size-wise is just nice for a 1-2 person household - the ones sold at tangs, bhg etc r the medium to large versions...frankly, even if you do have a 3-4 person household, this thing is pretty deep so should be good enough...and storage wise, of course this is better lah, for those of us with small kitchens... :P

Edited by dragonnite

i think everyone has seen mrsloo's collection of OXO containers so after thinking about it for a while, i decided to bite the bullet and get the OXO Good Grips 5-Piece POP Container Set

p1010918ika.jpg

p1010920c.jpg

as you can see, the tallest one (2.1 qt) fits spaghetti just nice (i almost bought the wrong size :o ...heng ah) the medium one (1.5 qt) fits loose coffee/tea and the 0.9 qt ones fit just about anything else....i have no idea what to do with the smallest one :P

that's it for now...until the taobao stuff arrives... :sport-smiley-004:

[..continued..]

Joseph Joseph Square Colander - small

p1010915c.jpg

p1010916gc.jpg

again, size-wise is just nice for a 1-2 person household - the ones sold at tangs, bhg etc r the medium to large versions...frankly, even if you do have a 3-4 person household, this thing is pretty deep so should be good enough...and storage wise, of course this is better lah, for those of us with small kitchens... :P

There is some sort of a feet at the bottom of the colander right? If I throw cooked spaghetti in, do you reckon the pasta may stick out from the hole / touch the sink?