LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

Many thanks jshome ;)

The final lot of "contractor" came yesterday which signified that my reno is finally, totally completed. It is the 1st time that I am aware their speciality existed :thumbs up: Worker was wondering how long his trade will last since he does not do much carpentry work. I was concerned that his sense of smell is affected as he could no longer smell the thinner.

They are the carpentry makeup artiste. This small group of experts deal with touching up imperfection, roughness of lamination, smoothening laminate edges and cutting joints. They mixed different colors to create the closest match for each piece of furniture. It is a pleasure to see them at work as their artistic sense of color is superb. I've got a terrible headache the whole day from the fume of the thinner they used though.

By the time they are finished, we are unable to see the dark edges where 2 laminates meet. It looks like a wrap round. The edges are smooth to the touch too. Hubby likes it very much. :sport-smiley-004:

:dunno: Confused! Andrew called yesterday to inform us that electrical cables up liao and that he will come back from Malaysia on Wed??? Thought he went already?

Anyway, we were curious as to how the wirings can be up when the tilings are still in process. So we went and viola, it was done :notti: Our friendly chinese worker was there again doing patch up work to the walls. We jokingly teased that singlehandedly, he can complete the whole reno. He did the wall tiles, hollow blocks, put up the new door frames, cement screeding.

@piknik - Good for you for getting a good price. :yamseng: I am now comtemplating Mayer's Ariston or Deliza hood and hob. Got to see the quality and specs 1st since these are at a higher price. May have to consider 3 burners as 2 burners are pretty limited in choice. Aiya, can't decide yet. These are the only 2 items we need to buy by end June.

Can i have Andrew contact number? Would like to get a quote from him.

Many thanks jshome ;)

The final lot of "contractor" came yesterday which signified that my reno is finally, totally completed. It is the 1st time that I am aware their speciality existed :thumbs up: Worker was wondering how long his trade will last since he does not do much carpentry work. I was concerned that his sense of smell is affected as he could no longer smell the thinner.

They are the carpentry makeup artiste. This small group of experts deal with touching up imperfection, roughness of lamination, smoothening laminate edges and cutting joints. They mixed different colors to create the closest match for each piece of furniture. It is a pleasure to see them at work as their artistic sense of color is superb. I've got a terrible headache the whole day from the fume of the thinner they used though.

By the time they are finished, we are unable to see the dark edges where 2 laminates meet. It looks like a wrap round. The edges are smooth to the touch too. Hubby likes it very much. :sport-smiley-004:

Is there such thing! I should get mine to do it as well right? Got any picture to show??

Edited by jshome

Can i have Andrew contact number? Would like to get a quote from him.

Sorry ya! Forget how to PM liao. His number is 97493006.

Is there such thing! I should get mine to do it as well right? Got any picture to show??

Photo can't see lah! It's a "before makeup, you see the dark lines, after makeup, you can't see any lines" kind of effect and when you run your fingers over the edges, it feels smooth. Before, it cut my hubby's fingers.

Hi LLChing, is it possible to get the contact for the carpentry touch up from you? Thanks do much!

It's bundled together, with the main contractor, Andrew.

So cannot get to hire them separately.

yD42x.jpg Girls' room eLCtC.jpg Storeroom turned WIW for girls 8vkZ7.jpg Partially furnished entertainment room. R3u6I.jpg Entertainment room's TV console. Still need a 2 seater fabric sofa, a rug, a couple of throw cushions and a casement aircon to complete the room :rolleyes:Fq9fO.jpg Very difficult to take the common toilet when the space is sooo constrained.

It's bundled together, with the main contractor, Andrew.

So cannot get to hire them separately.

You've hit it right on the nail, May. Thanks! Yeah, normally, the carpenter will do all touch up after their project is done, if required.

mine also did that... i thought every touch up will be done the same way. didn't think much when they came to touch up..... that is why its called touch up. just like make up, need to touch up mah... isnt it? :dunno::dunno::dunno:

Went back to IKEA with hubby to have a 2nd look at girlie's sofa choice and decided to buy it for the entertainment room. IKEA staff said if we have ever assemble or dismantle IKEA's product, then we can save the installation fee of 8% and do it ourselves. Saw a suitable rug too but not sure how much floor space is left after the sofa is in. So that rug has to wait till next Tuesday.

Anyone buying IKEA products can save on installation of 8% and do it yourself. If this auntie here can do it, so can you :sport-smiley-004: It is really very simple. Need bull strength though for BIG items.

Wanted 3 stools, 1 white and 2 black ones for my dining table. Found a suitable one at Star Furniture (IMM). Stock is available (no stock at Toh Guan Br)only for 1 white and 1 black, so cash and carry them home. Realised that the black one is defective, so took it back to the shop.

Waited 1 week for the shop assistant to call us for the replacement. No such luck. Called her instead and was told that if we want our stool fast, then we should self-collect it at their warehouse in Sungei Kadut . Otherwise, she cannot guarantee when we will have our stool since they don't have any truck to replenish stock. :jawdrop: Even said "you are not in urgent need right? Can wait right? I will call you when stock is here but don't know when hor!" :bangwall: Ah the ...

So, hubby, being Mr Nice guy arranged for self-collection at Sungei Kadut. Only then did shop assistant email her HQ that she owe us 1 replacement. Plenty of stock there and hubby bought another black one. Star furniture has sooo many outlets but if none of them carry excess stock, then what is the point of selling the items at "cash and carry"???

Edited by LLChing