LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 Andrew came at 10pm and left at 1am. During these 3 hrs, we more or less covered all areas - taking measurements, our preferences and concerns. Alamak! He sure is honest!! Disclosed certain things which no other ID would want a potential client to know. Most IDs will present a modern, sophisticated picture and everything you want also can but he is more practical in his approach. That is what we like. He will submit his quotes to us by early April due to his very heavy schedule as well as he needs to look for similar marble slab as my current flooring. Quite a bit of hacking and plenty of carpentry works. As we did not limit him to any budget constraint, estimated damage would be $45K - $50K.We should be using him Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 With most things being fixed after the renovation, it will cure me of the habit of shifting big items around. I can still move the beds, sofa, piano and decorative items though. Kekeke. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 @mihochris - Think I'm in luck this time round. Should be using the same contractor as Battle and May_Dream1. Maybe you would like to consider him? Have a look at Aristotle's blog too. His contractor is Roy from IR Design. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 Ya, I am all in for practicality! That's why my flat very simple and practical so I can clean easily. Hehe.... Do build in beds and sofa then you won't be able to shift those around too. Haha..... Hope everything will go smoothly! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
potatoes 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 Ok ..ok.. confession time I like housekeeping . Generally, most fixtures you see are already 14 yrs old. The teak wood sofa set is 22 yrs old while the 26 yr old marble floor was from the original owner. Having 2 young kids and only 3 weeks to spare, a most basic renovation was done 14 yrs ago. The house is functional but lacks excitement. I have been repainting walls and pipes every 2 yrs, shifting furniture around every 2 months, accessorize and whatnots to create a sense of "newness" and I must say, I have ran out of ideas and energy . No more strength to push and pull liao. Though neighbour below hasn't complain about leakage, I think it is time to change the 2 toilets to be more "lady friendly". We have problem of not having enough as well as wrong positioning of power points too. My children had also asked for an entertainment room while my hubby wants a home office. Aiyo! So many demands ... might as well do everything once and for all In my opinion, a functional home is most impt. Everything in the house should be practical including the positioning. I also love to move my furnitures around once a while. It instills creativity.... I m sure this reno is going to be very exciting for u. All the best to ur reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2012 I totally agree with you, potatoes. I have tried to keep things to a minimum. I do not even have a dinner table and chairs. We eat Korean style, using our square coffee table. Yeah, due to insufficient planning and unforeseen circumstances yrs ago, part of MBR became hubby's home office. Imagine having to share the room with the desktop computer, laser printer, fax, shredder apart from my beloved every night ... Yup! I will be enjoying the whole renovation process.@May - wahaha .. then I'll change the doors around. Still got the numerous lights. One day change 2 bulbs again shiok! Hehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 26, 2012 @May - wahaha .. then I'll change the doors around. Still got the numerous lights. One day change 2 bulbs again shiok! Hehehe How to change doors? no fun changing light bulbs lah.... you can try to change the design of the lights loh.. hehehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2012 Wah, you are like my seller. Really take good care of the house. Everything looks so good condition.What I really like Andrew is really his approach. (for me with a budget constrain, after 5% cash + COV lar :jawdrop: )There are things he will say : this one no point do lar, cause it will cost you a bomb, might as well go buy those ready one, much cheaper, I help you fix up, looks like custom made like that ( ) Don't think U'll here this from another person !! Like that help his customer save $$$$$ wor, where to find ??? ya ya, also now after viewing the house, he actually ask me again, U see, this one, U think U want to keep ? I can help you do some painting over, at least looks diff !!! ( save $$$ again ). Think next time, Andrew going have bigger & bigger panda eye liao :bangwall: . meetings getting later and later.... ; p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2012 Andrew came at 10pm and left at 1am. During these 3 hrs, we more or less covered all areas - taking measurements, our preferences and concerns. Alamak! He sure is honest!! Disclosed certain things which no other ID would want a potential client to know. Most IDs will present a modern, sophisticated picture and everything you want also can but he is more practical in his approach. That is what we like. He will submit his quotes to us by early April due to his very heavy schedule as well as he needs to look for similar marble slab as my current flooring. Quite a bit of hacking and plenty of carpentry works. As we did not limit him to any budget constraint, estimated damage would be $45K - $50K.We should be using him So when will you start your reno ? Should be able to start anytime right ? Any hacking of walls ? Ay, so U'll be staying there while he reno ? Like that very challenging wor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rain 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2012 Maybe u want to try this guy call Sky Chong frm Basic Image interior. My frend found him from recommendations in renotalk. Quite nice and patient as well.Sky came to my place to take measurements but disappeared without a trace without giving me a quotation! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2012 Intend to start hacking May 28. I will have a normal open concept kitchen. Doors of common toilet and MBR will be relocated. Hacking walls from girls' BR through storeroom to MBR to make way for a small WIW for the 2 girls. Hubby's home office occupies the balcony.We will move out for abt 6 weeks during renovation. After knowing how costly it is to move a piano, I'll just leave it in the house all wrapped up.Andrew said I'm the "yim jim" type as I like cleanliness. Since the windows are still of the current design and well maintained, I can keep those and he'll get someone to change any rusty locks and dried up plastic safety devices. Will get his men to vanish my teak wood bed and "gu dong" weighing scale.@Rain - I waited 3 wks just to get an appt with my ex-shortlisted ID. Then the house visit date just kept postponing. One mth liao and still no show. Altogether wasted 2 mths on him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Sky came to my place to take measurements but disappeared without a trace without giving me a quotation!A lot of those recommended will get very busy. It's quite normal cos a person only have 24 hours a day. If it doesn't work then find another person. It's all based on luck as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 You got to move out for 6 weeks? Really not easy to do Reno while still staying there. Excited for u! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Wah. moving out for 6 weeks also very challenging task. Ah. 28 May school holiday starts... Think that's the best time to minimize kids disruption & school.so 6 weeks of holiday travelling :dribble: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
getzski 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2012 Wah. moving out for 6 weeks also very challenging task. Ah. 28 May school holiday starts... Think that's the best time to minimize kids disruption & school.so 6 weeks of holiday travelling :dribble:good timing....convert accomodation cost into a holiday Share this post Link to post Share on other sites