May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 Ai ya, your house lay-out very perfect, won't have issue with WiFi. For me a little challenge, currently on 1 Desk-top, by next year, will need to get 1 more. (maybe 2 more) (Kids have more and more online homework !!!) & typical Desktop don't comes with Wifi & I would prefer LAN as it is easier, don't have to worry if wifi don't log-in and need to re-do for kids.so think might need to pull just 1 A-B point ba. Got to crack my head to map liao... :bangwall:desktop comes with wifi lah .... because of the way everything goes by wifi, desktops all come with wifi too. my desktop that i bought in March IT show (only $800) also have wifi. my old HP desktop (abt 4 years) also comes with wifi leh.... as long as there is 1 desktop that have LAN then the rest can be on wifi. cos once they reach their teens, they will be online very often on youtube, facebook and games. then you will be able to set when the wifi will be on and when will be off. then the one connected via LAN will be the "master" to set the wifi loh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 desktop comes with wifi lah .... because of the way everything goes by wifi, desktops all come with wifi too. my desktop that i bought in March IT show (only $800) also have wifi. my old HP desktop (abt 4 years) also comes with wifi leh.... as long as there is 1 desktop that have LAN then the rest can be on wifi. cos once they reach their teens, they will be online very often on youtube, facebook and games. then you will be able to set when the wifi will be on and when will be off. then the one connected via LAN will be the "master" to set the wifi loh. :sport-smiley-004: I got Dell desktop, to select Wifi means need to top up LoL... so for me no wifi ;pThat's why I do LAN easier, everytime they switch on PC means auto on internet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 :sport-smiley-004: I got Dell desktop, to select Wifi means need to top up LoL... so for me no wifi ;pThat's why I do LAN easier, everytime they switch on PC means auto on internet.is it? i know all desktops have wifi. I was at IT show asking for all brands, even Dell.ya lah, like i said, if LAN then cannot control when they can go online and when they cannot loh. most probably they will be online playing games all the time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MamaO 1 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 Hey Lemonades, thanks for the info. Zenterra is supposed to have emailed me a revised quote half an hour ago which I have yet to receive. If the revised quotes are as what you have stated, it is more reasonable. LAN pt from your $90 to ours $150 is ridiculous. They are charging us $10 for lighting installation! I have been to their shop at Jurong East and saw that their KDK 3 blades ceiling fan is priced at $220 while my lighting shop downstair (also catered for contractors) is priced at $195. Seem like their price is pretty high. Is Zenterra sub con from your ID? You are getting quote from Ah Soon too right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 @ MamaO - Yeah, Ah Soon gave us a rough quote of $3800(says ours a bit complicated) which is $155 cheaper than the discounted rate we got from Zenterra. To give our ID face, we are using Zenterra.We've concluded that Zenterra is not systematic in their quotation. It all boils down to whether you know the market rate for each individual item as well as your bargaining skill for further discount. Looks like they prefer to deal direct with the customer than through a contractor.There are other electricians around like the one used by RT- jshome. The rate seems good too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2012 My desktop does not have WIFI too. It has a bigger capacity which is much needed by hubby for his work. Even if he upgrade his desktop to one with WIFI, he will still want to run on LAN in case WIFI got disconnected. Our other laptops will run by WIFI.Daughter also requested a LAN in the entertainment room, don't know for what leh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MamaO 1 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 @ MamaO - Yeah, Ah Soon gave us a rough quote of $3800(says ours a bit complicated) which is $155 cheaper than the discounted rate we got from Zenterra. To give our ID face, we are using Zenterra.We've concluded that Zenterra is not systematic in their quotation. It all boils down to whether you know the market rate for each individual item as well as your bargaining skill for further discount. Looks like they prefer to deal direct with the customer than through a contractor.There are other electricians around like the one used by RT- jshome. The rate seems good too.That is not much diffierent since they can give u the discount price. Good! Anyone got list like market rate or better for all these electrical as I not do not know about the Pricing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MamaO 1 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 Increase so much ah? We have 26 light pts, 13 light looping pts, 3 single, 22 double, 2 LAN, 2 SCV and supposedly 37 lights to install. Andrew's initial estimation is abt $3.6K (certain items was omitted). When quotes came in, the total shows $3751 but after adding up the total just to be sure (my habit),the actual total is $4661. We even transfer all listed items onto excel and let the computer calculate in case both our eyes go "shoot the birds". Since Andrew is the one who decide the qty of lights, will have to ask him to re-assess liao. < lights = < pts = <$$ Llching, I don understand y the total n the total u add up is so much diff Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 My desktop does not have WIFI too. It has a bigger capacity which is much needed by hubby for his work. Even if he upgrade his desktop to one with WIFI, he will still want to run on LAN in case WIFI got disconnected. Our other laptops will run by WIFI.Daughter also requested a LAN in the entertainment room, don't know for what leh!LAN in entertainment room for downloading of movies loh.... next time, we can buy movies online and get it straight to pc/tv. so if its LAN, then faster mah.. or else how get the movie in HD format or even 3D format. for children, its better to be on wifi so can set their access. So as long as 1 is on LAN, that should be enough. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 My desktop does not have WIFI too. It has a bigger capacity which is much needed by hubby for his work. Even if he upgrade his desktop to one with WIFI, he will still want to run on LAN in case WIFI got disconnected. Our other laptops will run by WIFI.Daughter also requested a LAN in the entertainment room, don't know for what leh!LAN in entertainment room a must. Those media box (stream movies from internet) only cost $1xx - $3xx (depends on specs). All movies, drama, etc all FOC. That's why now a days, everyone want a LAN line.When using LAN, you don't have to set SSID/password etc. Plug & go. With WiFi, everytime you change SSID/Password, you have to start changing all the rest of equipment, very troublesome lar.Also LAN more stable, for WiFi, occasionally the signal can drop to zero for like that 0.5 seconds, and re-connection takes another 2-3 seconds, very disturbing lar.LAN in entertainment room for downloading of movies loh.... next time, we can buy movies online and get it straight to pc/tv. so if its LAN, then faster mah.. or else how get the movie in HD format or even 3D format. for children, its better to be on wifi so can set their access. So as long as 1 is on LAN, that should be enough.For my children PC, they login using their Profile. I install norton online family, its free. You can monitor their surfing and web access & set the control you want.But for LLChing, her kids so big liao, don't need lar. ; p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 That reminds me .. no wonder she was looking at smart TV and also ask the electrician about wiring for "box??" for surround effect, I think??? Since she's in the media industry, entertainment room will be her baby. Woa lan bo chap. Whenever she ask us whether we catered for this, that etc, we blur lah! To us, she's like speaking alien Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 LAN in entertainment room a must. Those media box (stream movies from internet) only cost $1xx - $3xx (depends on specs). All movies, drama, etc all FOC. That's why now a days, everyone want a LAN line.When using LAN, you don't have to set SSID/password etc. Plug & go. With WiFi, everytime you change SSID/Password, you have to start changing all the rest of equipment, very troublesome lar.Also LAN more stable, for WiFi, occasionally the signal can drop to zero for like that 0.5 seconds, and re-connection takes another 2-3 seconds, very disturbing lar.For my children PC, they login using their Profile. I install norton online family, its free. You can monitor their surfing and web access & set the control you want.But for LLChing, her kids so big liao, don't need lar. ; pi just download/stream my movies etc to my pc that are connect via LAN then watch on my tv. mine is the most simple kind of set up to download/stream. hehehehe.... my nephew and niece able to crack the password for them to access WIFI 24/7 which my sis set to off after midnight. so my sis have to keep on setting new password. if its on LAN, then i cannot imagine what time they will go to bed. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 That reminds me .. no wonder she was looking at smart TV and also ask the electrician about wiring for "box??" for surround effect, I think??? Since she's in the media industry, entertainment room will be her baby. Woa lan bo chap. Whenever she ask us whether we catered for this, that etc, we blur lah! To us, she's like speaking alien Oh... like that ar. Then when doing electrical work, say if you have 2 X double for your TV area supply, get them to split both Double to 2 different CU. So that it can take more load. If you have power Amp, Pre Amp, DVD player, media box, Surround Processor, etc etc, Say you have 4 X double, than at least split these 4 double to 2 or 3 or 4 CU so that the load don't goes to a single point.For me, I have 2 X double at TV area, they will be split to 2 separate CU so that supply are more constant and minimise surge returning to the audio system. So for me, all TV, router, cable box, etc will use 1 X double, all Audio equipment will use another double.Saw this when I was googling something : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1243139/allScary !!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 That reminds me .. no wonder she was looking at smart TV and also ask the electrician about wiring for "box??" for surround effect, I think??? Since she's in the media industry, entertainment room will be her baby. Woa lan bo chap. Whenever she ask us whether we catered for this, that etc, we blur lah! To us, she's like speaking alien no need smart tv if have the "box". if lan straight to smart tv, the most can go on youtube and a few other programme on the tv. not really that smart to be able to go to china website for free download/streaming. surround sound then need wiring for all the speakers etc. no wonder not so simple, like Ah Soon said. hahaha.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2012 i just download/stream my movies etc to my pc that are connect via LAN then watch on my tv. mine is the most simple kind of set up to download/stream. hehehehe.... my nephew and niece able to crack the password for them to access WIFI 24/7 which my sis set to off after midnight. so my sis have to keep on setting new password. if its on LAN, then i cannot imagine what time they will go to bed.For LAN, I will configure security/control directly on the Router. That will be harder to crack. If they do crack, easy lar, put the router in her room, just switch it off, than no more internet access ; pIf they don't listen, remove the access to the computer as well... That's why for me, the computer & study will be in the Dining area. Where at least the PC faces out, they can't really hid in the room & do hanky panky stuff.. :sport-smiley-004: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites