LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Ohh yes.. we called Andrew last nite and met up this morning at 10.30am. The plumber are now at my place doing rectification. Tilers will come on Sat to change those tiles cracked and spoilt by plumber.Plumber is those typical uncle who thinks he eat salt more than we eat rice. Likes to grumble at other contractors if they get in his way. Very fixed in his idea. Supposed to do my place on Mon but said not free but will come on Wed morning with Andrew's presence, so that Andrew can instruct him how he wants things done. Suddenly turned up on Tue instead just because he is free. Expect Andrew to instruct him thru phone. Certain things cannot be explained over the phone one. By the time Andrew reached my place, the damage is already done Too bad, some things we can close one eye but not this time. He had install the storage heater so high up that he only left 1 inch from the ceiling for the false ceiling worker to do up a 2 inches false ceiling. When he install the bracket, Andrew specifically told him to leave enough height for the the false ceiling and he said "can, can, I know". Result - REDO lor! Wasted everyone's time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 I must say till now, Andrew has been doing a great job in keeping his contractors on their toes. It's just that there will be a couple of smart alec who think that they can get away with murder. Andrew is quick in spotting flaws and wants an even quicker redo before we spot them. They would want to try their luck of us not seeing the flaws. We may have "lau hua" but we are not blind leh. It is human nature that once I see you trying to cover up, I will make sure to scrutinie every single corner, tiles and pipes. Worse, right? His ceiling people are the best!! :good: They work not with just their hands, but with their eyes, brain and heart! :sport-smiley-003: Next week, we'll see which carpenter fair better :sport-smiley-004: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Ya loh, if plumber don't install correctly will affect filer cos most of the time, tiles have to be replaced. Mine had that too. But my plumbers are 2 young guys..... Hehe..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
heim 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 MBR ToiletMy current living roomSpacious!!! And bright love the kitchen and hallKitchenBalconyMy hubby gave me a hands-on lesson of how to upload photos taken with my camera. This is in anticipation of my future postings when actual renovation starts. @May - I think this time, it will work. He is rather easy to talk to. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
heim 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Hey Lemonades, thanks for the info. Zenterra is supposed to have emailed me a revised quote half an hour ago which I have yet to receive. If the revised quotes are as what you have stated, it is more reasonable. LAN pt from your $90 to ours $150 is ridiculous. They are charging us $10 for lighting installation! I have been to their shop at Jurong East and saw that their KDK 3 blades ceiling fan is priced at $220 while my lighting shop downstair (also catered for contractors) is priced at $195. :Sigh we spent a total of 7k on electrical. Is indeed expensive!! Can nego 1 w/Ferrine but still ex Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
heim 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Actually, I'm not so worried about carpentry. Easier to dismantle if things go wrong, TOUCH WOOD!! It's the tiling and false ceiling that's troublesome.Till now, my reno has been pretty hassle-free. The workers are all very friendly and accommodating including the tilers. Plumber hasn't come in to change pipes yet.Lol my husband took leave to oversee the final stage "carpentry, plumbing, etc" CRITICAL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
heim 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Ya loh, if plumber don't install correctly will affect filer cos most of the time, tiles have to be replaced. Mine had that too. But my plumbers are 2 young guys..... Hehe.....Lucky you! Mine was the blur blur uncle. Luckily husband took leave to oversee else haf to redo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
heim 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2012 Nice and spacious layout! Can't wait to see more pics Tell Andrew I say hi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 Muahaha .. Yesterday complain about plumbing .. evening redo ..tiles also changed. This morning I went up for inspection .. considered pass liao lah! I very lenient already. If hubby goes up, sure redo one spot again. Our plumbing uncle has an unusual aesthetic sense. He doesn't seems to like straight lines. I closed both eyes on that one. If not, the poor tiler has to come again and again and again .. thru no fault of his. Ceiling people already detected 1 leaking joint in front of us and Andrew yesterday. So ceiling people has an additional responsibility to check for leakage before any box up. Final stage of false ceiling and box up will be done today.Painting will be done over the weekend. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 Lol my husband took leave to oversee the final stage "carpentry, plumbing, etc" CRITICALIn that case, I better camp there when the cabinets are being installed early next week. Miao miao. Thanks heim for the warning Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 Heim, $7K for electrical? That's steep! Must have a lot of pts and lightings. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 Lucky you! Mine was the blur blur uncle. Luckily husband took leave to oversee else haf to redothose 2 young guys also a lot of things to say one lah... this cannot that cannot. if not because i "teah" with them a bit, i think they also will not do nicely and come back 3 times to get the things done correctly. not all their fault but i wanted to do this and that. Andrew also nice, never charged me extra.Muahaha .. Yesterday complain about plumbing .. evening redo ..tiles also changed. This morning I went up for inspection .. considered pass liao lah! I very lenient already. If hubby goes up, sure redo one spot again. Our plumbing uncle has an unusual aesthetic sense. He doesn't seems to like straight lines. I closed both eyes on that one. If not, the poor tiler has to come again and again and again .. thru no fault of his. Ceiling people already detected 1 leaking joint in front of us and Andrew yesterday. So ceiling people has an additional responsibility to check for leakage before any box up. Final stage of false ceiling and box up will be done today.Painting will be done over the weekend.ya, andrew can be fierce when he wants to. so i guess his team all also got to give face a bit. as long as you willing to talk to andrew if anything not happy, i know he sure will correct for you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MamaO 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 i thought helping hands quite good. only $250 per trip mah....May i called helping hand before is $280 per trip, maybe increase price? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 May i called helping hand before is $280 per trip, maybe increase price?maybe loh.... price increases all the time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 Sneak preview of my MBR toilet.Loving it! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites