LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

The hiccups had started. :( Mainly with the tilers.

It is a matter of whether we want to accept it as it is. Just hope the tilers are more conscientious when they come to laying the marbles, ONE wrong move and I'll make them dig up the whole lot!!! :angry2: I thought slow work produces better workmanship. Maybe our prayers for a smooth reno had expired liao. Must pray doubly hard with rice dumplings?? Battle, I envy youuuuu. :ph34r:

The hiccups had started. :( Mainly with the tilers.

It is a matter of whether we want to accept it as it is. Just hope the tilers are more conscientious when they come to laying the marbles, ONE wrong move and I'll make them dig up the whole lot!!! :angry2: I thought slow work produces better workmanship. Maybe our prayers for a smooth reno had expired liao. Must pray doubly hard with rice dumplings?? Battle, I envy youuuuu. :ph34r:

What's Andrew's view of the tiling work ?

Ay, for the tiling, will only be able to view it after they remove the protective paper. I only have 1 opportunity to view it under low light condition at night, even Andrew have not have the chance to inspect it before the covered all up with protective layer. So both Andrew and myself are just praying hard that after they remove the paper (think either this Friday or Saturday), we hope to see sui sui tiles. If uneven or got problem, both Andrew and myself will have big headache.

My MIL place will start HDB toilet upgrading on the 3rd July (so if I can't move in by then, will have to experience extreme inconvenience).

What's Andrew's view of the tiling work ?

Ay, for the tiling, will only be able to view it after they remove the protective paper. I only have 1 opportunity to view it under low light condition at night, even Andrew have not have the chance to inspect it before the covered all up with protective layer. So both Andrew and myself are just praying hard that after they remove the paper (think either this Friday or Saturday), we hope to see sui sui tiles. If uneven or got problem, both Andrew and myself will have big headache.

My MIL place will start HDB toilet upgrading on the 3rd July (so if I can't move in by then, will have to experience extreme inconvenience).

if got any problem, just tell him lah. he will rectify it if really bad.

battle, have you measure your cabinets? if yes, then next week should start the installation of it? then end of next week should be able to move in loh....

if got any problem, just tell him lah. he will rectify it if really bad.

battle, have you measure your cabinets? if yes, then next week should start the installation of it? then end of next week should be able to move in loh....

Yup, measurement done. But as the guys are busy with lots of work, they can only start installation on the 25th June, and according to Andrew, they need 2-3 days to complete cabinets. So pray hard lor. Cause 25th my bed will be delivered, I'm planning all my other delivery on the 25th so that I can start putting things up. (especially all my Ikea wardrobes)

mine started the installation on tuesday (supposed to be monday but was delayed 1 day) but by thursday, all done as well. so i think should be ok for 2-3 days of installing all cabinets.

its the tiling that took the longest time.... and after tiling, then seem like nothing much and suddenly everything is ok. scared me so much during that last few days 8|

In the presence of the tiler, showed Andrew the disputable area. Andrew will think of a way to rectify it. One floor tile had to redo because it was wrongly laid. I close an eye on another wrongly laid tile as it is small and against the wall. The fridge will eventually hide it from sight.

Was introduced to Ed, the carpenter. Seems he is a carpentry designer and not easy to "hire" him as he is always very busy. Battle - you got him too? I think mine can only be installed in early July. A lot of pieces to do :jawdrop: .

False ceiling for the whole place is up except the kitchen, whose floor was laid only yesterday. Should be up by tomorrow. Meanwhile, the guys are touching up the rest of the rooms.

mine started the installation on tuesday (supposed to be monday but was delayed 1 day) but by thursday, all done as well. so i think should be ok for 2-3 days of installing all cabinets.

its the tiling that took the longest time.... and after tiling, then seem like nothing much and suddenly everything is ok. scared me so much during that last few days 8|

Oh !! U have sooooooo many cabinets + WIW only 2-3 days complete liao !!

Like that mine scarli 1 day complete liao ; p

Cause mine very straight forward, 1 X top, 2 X full height, rest all base 1 layer only. Easy easy ; p

Yaya..... tiling dam scary, really take very long to do.

In the presence of the tiler, showed Andrew the disputable area. Andrew will think of a way to rectify it. One floor tile had to redo because it was wrongly laid. I close an eye on another wrongly laid tile as it is small and against the wall. The fridge will eventually hide it from sight.

Was introduced to Ed, the carpenter. Seems he is a carpentry designer and not easy to "hire" him as he is always very busy. Battle - you got him too? I think mine can only be installed in early July. A lot of pieces to do :jawdrop: .

False ceiling for the whole place is up except the kitchen, whose floor was laid only yesterday. Should be up by tomorrow. Meanwhile, the guys are touching up the rest of the rooms.

Think different carpenter ba. I also can't really remember who will be doing mine but only know should be the same group that does May's cabinet. So if those guys no run hand, should have at least May's cabinet standard :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Actually, I'm not so worried about carpentry. Easier to dismantle if things go wrong, TOUCH WOOD!! It's the tiling and false ceiling that's troublesome.

Till now, my reno has been pretty hassle-free. The workers are all very friendly and accommodating including the tilers. Plumber hasn't come in to change pipes yet.

Actually, I'm not so worried about carpentry. Easier to dismantle if things go wrong, TOUCH WOOD!! It's the tiling and false ceiling that's troublesome.

Till now, my reno has been pretty hassle-free. The workers are all very friendly and accommodating including the tilers. Plumber hasn't come in to change pipes yet.

Oh, I'm actually also worrying about carpentry as well. Cause if anything salar, siao, delay again, I head big big. :jawdrop: :jawdrop:

Ya, so far the workers all pretty nice to talk, my tiler pretty chatty as well ; )

Only person that doesn't give me a good impression is the electrician. I request to split the power source, and he comment : Why ? Got different meh !? :bangwall: :bangwall:

No different why do I make the request !? *faint*...

Oh, I'm actually also worrying about carpentry as well. Cause if anything salar, siao, delay again, I head big big. :jawdrop: :jawdrop:

Ya, so far the workers all pretty nice to talk, my tiler pretty chatty as well ; )

Only person that doesn't give me a good impression is the electrician. I request to split the power source, and he comment : Why ? Got different meh !? :bangwall: :bangwall:

No different why do I make the request !? *faint*...

I will ask the same question... Why? Got different meh!? Both ELCB still share the same DB, if 1 trip, the whole DB will trip. So got difference meh? Unless got 2 DB, then split the power source i can understand.

how abt the tiles that you were complaining? did Andrew do anything for you?

I will ask the same question... Why? Got different meh!? Both ELCB still share the same DB, if 1 trip, the whole DB will trip. So got difference meh? Unless got 2 DB, then split the power source i can understand.

Its not about tripping the circuit, but more on power surge. The difference might be minimal but I would prefer to have it since in future, I will consider upgrading my Audio equipment.

Reason being when you share multiple point under each ELCB, each time you switch on light/electrical appliance, it will cause a surge within the same ELCB. I believe it will affect the other ELCB since its from the same DB, but it is minimal comparing to the supplies withing the same ELCB.

Another way is to purchase a Powersupply filter to do the job. But now I only entry level, cannot afford to go there yet. So the easiest way is to split the power supply to minimize lor. Also the Powersupply filter really really very expensive...

Its just like we all know insurance is important to cover us in case of ...... but spending the $$$ is just a little pain as we can't see the return until we use it (but again we pray hard we never have to use it ; p )...

So contradicting right ; p

Its not about tripping the circuit, but more on power surge. The difference might be minimal but I would prefer to have it since in future, I will consider upgrading my Audio equipment.

Reason being when you share multiple point under each ELCB, each time you switch on light/electrical appliance, it will cause a surge within the same ELCB. I believe it will affect the other ELCB since its from the same DB, but it is minimal comparing to the supplies withing the same ELCB.

Another way is to purchase a Powersupply filter to do the job. But now I only entry level, cannot afford to go there yet. So the easiest way is to split the power supply to minimize lor. Also the Powersupply filter really really very expensive...

Its just like we all know insurance is important to cover us in case of ...... but spending the $$$ is just a little pain as we can't see the return until we use it (but again we pray hard we never have to use it ; p )...

i am actually surprised that i understand what you are trying to convey! :sport-smiley-004:

actually a good electrician would have already planned this out for you..

Power line filter removes artifacts from the AC that power your audio equipments from potentially damaging voltage surges. It has nothing to do with which power socket connect to which ELCB.

In my house, 1 or 2 units of double gang 13A power socket is link to a 20A ELCB; in the event of my power amp requires additional power, a slight surge wont trip my ELCB.

I would suggest you ask your electrician to label which power socket is link to which ELCB.

i am actually surprised that i understand what you are trying to convey! :sport-smiley-004:

actually a good electrician would have already planned this out for you..

I dont mean to pour cold water but both of you dont know what you are talking about... 8|

Power line filter is like a checkpoint, in-between the incoming AC and your equipment, when voltage surges were detected, it will filter out excessive voltages thus preventing them from reaching and damaging your equipments.

ELCB is not a power line filter; if you use a 10A ELCB and your equipment cause an outgoing surge that is more than 10A, the ELCB will trip. All the ELCB in my house are using 20A, so when my equipment cause a surge above 10A, my ELCB will not trip.

Edited by taichipanda