LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

@May - Thought so as much. Opennet will be relocated from kitchen wall(will be hacked)to our new storage TV console(ceiling to floor) just beside our main door. We'll have our opennet, SCV, terminal Lan connector, 3 pt plugs for TV, modem, SCV box .. there. TV console will be just a huge, giant storage cupboard with no design to talk about. Have to play with laminates liao.

Very tired from dismantling the L-shaped metal shelves of our storeroom. So many bolts and nuts to unscrew :curse: Only 1/2 done.

oh i see, sound complicated. you ask the electrician lah... i dont know.... :dunno::dunno:

why you do it yourself? as andrew to get ppl to dismantle for you lah.

Hubby wants to set up the metal shelves in his office. Since I'm not working, I do the dismantling and packing lor. It's all done and hubby already delivered them to his office.

During the day, I'm the packer as well as supervisor/nagger for my 2 girls. Hubby became house mover after work.

Andrew's shortest visit, hahaha. Came with Zenterra electrician Daniel and finalised how many light pts, double pts, LAN pts etc we need. Final review of 3Ds and this time, we are pretty satisfied with them all except the entertainment room. Girl wants a black feature wall for her TV console, not white. We opted for a simple, ordinary design and pale coloured tone throughout the whole house.

you know, before reno, i never thought electrical can cost so much. now i know that it can cost easily $8-10k leh. my budget for it was less than $3k. imagine how much more i have to pay. :furious::jawdrop:

Yeah lor! Just the wirings, light pts, 3 pt plugs, SCV, Data pts, tel(depends on the number of lights etc) will easily cost us $4-5K. LED, T5, Energy saving lights will cost another $3-4K. This is our estimates :jawdrop: . If cost too much, may cut some unnecessary lightings which is for show nia.

you know, before reno, i never thought electrical can cost so much. now i know that it can cost easily $8-10k leh. my budget for it was less than $3k. imagine how much more i have to pay. :furious::jawdrop:

electrical will cost around $8-10!! so much... is it necessary to do rewiring for resale flat.

not necessary to do re-wiring unless you know when the previous owner did the wiring. but if the resale flat is only slightly above 5 years, then no need to do too.

rewiring is not that ex lah, i mean $8k for rewiring plus actual lightings and fans lah. especially if you choose some special lightings then can really cost a lot. mine is because i have a crystal chandelier which cost me $1.5k but i choose less downlights and cove lights.

not necessary to do re-wiring unless you know when the previous owner did the wiring. but if the resale flat is only slightly above 5 years, then no need to do too.

rewiring is not that ex lah, i mean $8k for rewiring plus actual lightings and fans lah. especially if you choose some special lightings then can really cost a lot. mine is because i have a crystal chandelier which cost me $1.5k but i choose less downlights and cove lights.

the reslae is bought is slightly more than 10yrs, so not sure if need to rewire. oh plus lighting. yes, agreed lighting is very ex.

Yeah lor! Just the wirings, light pts, 3 pt plugs, SCV, Data pts, tel(depends on the number of lights etc) will easily cost us $4-5K. LED, T5, Energy saving lights will cost another $3-4K. This is our estimates :jawdrop: . If cost too much, may cut some unnecessary lightings which is for show nia.

Too expensive, can see a break down price list quoted by your electrician?

Lighting fixtures can be expensive depend on the type and brand you choose; i spend a total of less than $450 for my whole house lightings, all energy saving bulbs, some are remote controllable and can be dim.

Too expensive, can see a break down price list quoted by your electrician?

Lighting fixtures can be expensive depend on the type and brand you choose; i spend a total of less than $450 for my whole house lightings, all energy saving bulbs, some are remote controllable and can be dim.

you want to intro your electrician? then LLChing can save some money to buy better lightings.

As mentioned, this is only an estimate on our part. Electrician came only yesterday. Official quotes not in yet. We are just psychologically preparing ourselves for the AXE. If too far fetched or negotiation failed, we will definitely engage another. :rolleyes:

If u need more quote, I can give you the electrician that did mine. Just let me know.

Yours is Ah Soon, right? Received a lobang from one of the RT. See how.

just sharing my experience. the initial quote is based on per unit rates.

e.g. one double gang is $45/EA, let's say.

if you do a certain volumne, the price may fall to $40/EA.

and if there are "piggyback" items, e.g in one location you do 4 double gang together, the cost to the electrician is pretty low, as he does not have to drag the wire and do trunking for the 3 other. so you can ask for a little discount.

after final bill come, can still ask for a Grand Total Discount, e.g. 5%, 10%.

this however, depends on whether you are dealing with a company that is more chin chai and thus open to negotiations, as they understand a happy customer would mean future referrals. you also need some sweet talking skills of course.

hope this helps.