LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

@jshome - Actually, read your post about the recycling co. According to hubby, our documents are "too" confidential (govt related) to be handled by strangers before being destroyed. Anyway, the shredders had been repaired a couple of time over the years by hubby's friend who likes to repair things as a hobby and passing time. Already money well spent on them except that this time, really RIP liao.

We called up Colex Recycling Co and it seems for fabric, they only take in old clothes and not bedspread, cushion covers, curtains, bedsheets etc. So, we had an "open house" to our next door neighbour who came and "chop" 5 pieces of furniture. A friend "chop" all our colourful curtains and single-sized bedsheets. Our "garan guni" neighbour from next block took all the balance unwanted items. All specialised reference textbooks/novels are donated to national library. Our TC man will take away all other bulky items.

Heartening to know that the stuff are given a 2nd lease of "life". :sport-smiley-004:

you are giving aways so many things? then buy everything new again?? WOW!!! nice.... can go shopping for all new things like moving to new house but actually still same place. :dribble:

wahahaha!!! later got those "extra" coming to you asking you why burn useless papers.

LOL..... than burn a bit for them lor, as "processing fees" :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

@Battle/Neoby - Got 2 shredders. Overworked one B4 I went to get a small, red burner. Oi, cannot anyhow use those burners provided lah :no: . We want to enjoy our "final resting home" a bit longer leh :notti: .

Verdict: Hubby and I smelt real bad from the burning job. Not only is burning slower than shredding, it is hot, sweaty and eyes tearing too :~ . We need to keep poking the papers cos the fire tends to burn only the edges and top layers. The center portion are not burnt. Then you'll see a lot of white smoke emitting and polluted the air 8| We are now using the 2nd shredder.

Good also, shred and recycle. :thumbs up: :thumbs up:

Din know that Salvation Army only takes in metal beds and not wooden beds regardless of how new the beds are(unless the wooden bed comes with a stain free and fairly new mattress).

So, an appt has been fixed for them to carry away my teak wood 3+1+1 sofa + coffee table + side table + cushions + an extra set of cushion covers. Made a donation of $30 (they asked for $60)to cover their transport. They will view the condition of my sofa 1st, if not satisfied, it will not be carried away.

As for my beds and all other unwanted items, have contacted our TC conservancy foreman who says just call and he will come. Though TC limit only 3 bulky items, he's ok if more than 3 :thumbs up: .

Andrew will find the house in a mess tomorrow :jawdrop::jawdrop:

Oh, didn't know that. Last time when I was at Salvation Army store @ Bt Timah, I same many wooden furniture. Thought as long as good condition and quality, they will take.

@May - The furniture are bought from ikea, V-Hive, Best Denki and neighbourhood furniture shop. The different colours and laminates do not match. Since we have built-in storage space, might as well pass them on. We intend to buy just the sofa (without all tables)and 2 beds with mattresses. No throw cushions unless for aesthetic reasons. Apart from the packing and a messy house, the reno process hasn't sink in yet. Haven't got the urge to shop. Maybe I'll feel more enthu when I've relocated to my temporary place. Otherwise, where to put all the new stuff?

Andrew just emailed me the revised 3D drawings. Better than the 1st one but still needs improvement. No WOW factor leh. Looks ordinary. Maybe we chose the wrong laminate colours. Anyway, we will meet up next week for more brain-storming.

@May - The furniture are bought from ikea, V-Hive, Best Denki and neighbourhood furniture shop. The different colours and laminates do not match. Since we have built-in storage space, might as well pass them on. We intend to buy just the sofa (without all tables)and 2 beds with mattresses. No throw cushions unless for aesthetic reasons. Apart from the packing and a messy house, the reno process hasn't sink in yet. Haven't got the urge to shop. Maybe I'll feel more enthu when I've relocated to my temporary place. Otherwise, where to put all the new stuff?

Andrew just emailed me the revised 3D drawings. Better than the 1st one but still needs improvement. No WOW factor leh. Looks ordinary. Maybe we chose the wrong laminate colours. Anyway, we will meet up next week for more brain-storming.

Because he don't have a "designer" to sit in office and draw 3D, that is why the 3D are not that good. he hired external ppl to draw so that the customers can have a feel. 3D nice only no use, real thing must be nice... none of the 3D able to draw my feature wall cos nothing similar to that laminate. i guess imagination would have to come in.... :dancingqueen:

@Ayazumi - hahaha, maybe if can't sell metal beds, can still scrap them and get back some money. They won't know how long they have to keep the beds till a buyer comes along. Yeah, like what getzski mentioned, likely scared by termites before during storage.

@jshome - Actually, read your post about the recycling co. According to hubby, our documents are "too" confidential (govt related) to be handled by strangers before being destroyed. Anyway, the shredders had been repaired a couple of time over the years by hubby's friend who likes to repair things as a hobby and passing time. Already money well spent on them except that this time, really RIP liao.

We called up Colex Recycling Co and it seems for fabric, they only take in old clothes and not bedspread, cushion covers, curtains, bedsheets etc. So, we had an "open house" to our next door neighbour who came and "chop" 5 pieces of furniture. A friend "chop" all our colourful curtains and single-sized bedsheets. Our "garan guni" neighbour from next block took all the balance unwanted items. All specialised reference textbooks/novels are donated to national library. Our TC man will take away all other bulky items.

Heartening to know that the stuff are given a 2nd lease of "life". :sport-smiley-004:

There's a mobile shredder that can come to your house and shred infront of you. Min 100kg from $100 onwards, i dont have that much so not worth asking them to come.

Agree with you, feel shiok giving away old stuff!

@ jshome - Mobile shredder? 1st time I heard of it. :good: See, I learn something everyday whenever I login RT. :sport-smiley-004:

@ May - Hehehe. Gosh! Both you and Andrew sounds alike leh! Say the exact same things too. kekeke. Yeah, he used the website provided by Freedom laminates and wah bian, it's so different from the samples. 1 sky 1 earth :jawdrop:

Giving credit to Andrew, I began to see why at times he insist on certain colour combi. He will not force his idea on us but get the 3D fellow to come up with what we have in mind and let us see for ourselves the effect. Most of the time, his combi looks better. Then it dawn on me why you have fewer 3Ds. Cos you can visualise the sketches while we are handicapped in that area. We need to see a colour presentation before we go OOOOrh! Like that huh!?

@ May - Hehehe. Gosh! Both you and Andrew sounds alike leh! Say the exact same things too. kekeke. Yeah, he used the website provided by Freedom laminates and wah bian, it's so different from the samples. 1 sky 1 earth :jawdrop:

Giving credit to Andrew, I began to see why at times he insist on certain colour combi. He will not force his idea on us but get the 3D fellow to come up with what we have in mind and let us see for ourselves the effect. Most of the time, his combi looks better. Then it dawn on me why you have fewer 3Ds. Cos you can visualise the sketches while we are handicapped in that area. We need to see a colour presentation before we go OOOOrh! Like that huh!?

hahahaha.... cos he told me the same thing before. last time i wanted nice 3D, not because i cannot imagine how it would look like but rather i want it put on renotalk mah...... but he told me, the real will be nicer than 3D and i know it will be, so i told him, i won't need 3D anymore if his so called designer cannot draw a proper one.

i had a few times insisting on my choice even though he said might not be suitable, but after its been done, he realised my choice is actually nicer. hahahaha.... i guess i had the time to visualise what i wanted compared to him lah. he got a few flats to look after mah. But he is good lah, he also have good eyes for aesthetic beauty....

After browsing thru RT and realised the long waiting period to have opennet pt relocated, I have decided to subscribe to singtel fibre broadband early so as to coincide with my reno. What's more, being a singnet existing acct holder, I'm offered a promo price (till May 20 only), so why not?

Went to subscribe yesterday (12/5) and the appointed date for opennet to rewire my place is 15/6. Confirmed with Andrew that the date is ok so that the wires can be "shui shui" hidden. Singtel will activate our acct on 9/7 upon our request (1 day after handover date).

Nice planning! Really very mah fan if opennet was not done with Reno then have to see additional cable casing. Hehe...

Anyone had ever arrange Opennet to come twice, once for trunking and the 2nd to install the box after carpentry is up without having to pay extra? Otherwise, the backing where all my switches are may have to be a painted bare wall. If not, carpenter will have to make a precise cut in the wood backing so that the opennet box can be seen. Have to discuss with electrician next week on this.

hmmm... they only come once. not sure whether they are willing to come twice or not because they have to fill in a lot of form to state that they did everything correctly. so for them to come twice, might not be so possible if you are not paying extra.

where is your opennet going to be? what do you have there? maybe electrician can think of something for you.

@ jshome - Mobile shredder? 1st time I heard of it. :good: See, I learn something everyday whenever I login RT. :sport-smiley-004:

Hi, just thought provide you with more info on mobile shredding. my company used Ez Shred (off-site is cheaper) service b4. But as jshome said, there is onsite shredding if you want to witness the shredding process. rate was minimum $50 for less than 100kg. But unsure if they serve residential customers.

@sunsetsky - Thanks for the info on mobile shredding :thumbs up: I managed to complete my assignment of shredding more than a 100kg of confidential papers with our trusting home shredder. Took me more than a week!

@May - Thought so as much. Opennet will be relocated from kitchen wall(will be hacked)to our new storage TV console(ceiling to floor) just beside our main door. We'll have our opennet, SCV, terminal Lan connector, 3 pt plugs for TV, modem, SCV box .. there. TV console will be just a huge, giant storage cupboard with no design to talk about. Have to play with laminates liao.

Very tired from dismantling the L-shaped metal shelves of our storeroom. So many bolts and nuts to unscrew :curse: Only 1/2 done.