LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

TO THOSE WHO HAVE PM ME AND NOT GETTING ANY RESPONSE ... A THOUSAND APOLOGIES!! 8|

I did reply but subsequently always getting "notification failure". Didn't know what had happened. I think I've used the wrong "reply" mode. :dunno:

Our HDB officer seems to prefer dealing with man than woman. Both Andrew's admin staff Christine and myself kena from him. He is not helpful in explaining things. Only after I send an email under my hubby's name did he contact my hubby within the minute and explain the 1st rejection. He contacted my hubby immediately upon receiving the 2nd rejection from the architect.

I've got Franc Franc 14"X10" brochure here with me. Want me to send the whole thing to you? All prices included too. PM me your address if you want. :thumbs up:

thanks, i got your email. no time to reply yet... :)

Pre-Reno preparation:

1/3 of our barang already shifted to storage and 179 kgs of secondary/JC textbooks and notes sold to trash for cash for $21.50. Another 100 kgs of confidential papers in the process of being shredded and burned :jawdrop:. 1 shredder already wasted.

Managed to secure a most convenient place to stay comfortably during reno :D. Having a hard time getting through to the collecting agent for salvation army. Will try again today.

Started looking for a simple sofa, 2 super single bed frames plus mattresses and another TV. Intend to buy only after all wet/repair/tiling works are done some time in June. Then I will be able to know how much space I have and the size of the furniture I should get. Must get my hood and hob by May end though.

Question: Which is better? Bosch or electrolux for hood and hob? Prefers a slim, white stainless stain design. I hardly use oil even for pan-frying. Mostly braise, steam, stew, and excessive use of the crockpot. Any other brands to recommend? My present stove is Rhoyxon(La Germaine) which has serve us for 14 yrs and still working well. Heard that it is no longer selling in the market. What a pity.

Pre-Reno preparation:

1/3 of our barang already shifted to storage and 179 kgs of secondary/JC textbooks and notes sold to trash for cash for $21.50. Another 100 kgs of confidential papers in the process of being shredded and burned :jawdrop:. 1 shredder already wasted.

Managed to secure a most convenient place to stay comfortably during reno :D. Having a hard time getting through to the collecting agent for salvation army. Will try again today.

Started looking for a simple sofa, 2 super single bed frames plus mattresses and another TV. Intend to buy only after all wet/repair/tiling works are done some time in June. Then I will be able to know how much space I have and the size of the furniture I should get. Must get my hood and hob by May end though.

Question: Which is better? Bosch or electrolux for hood and hob? Prefers a slim, white stainless stain design. I hardly use oil even for pan-frying. Mostly braise, steam, stew, and excessive use of the crockpot. Any other brands to recommend? My present stove is Rhoyxon(La Germaine) which has serve us for 14 yrs and still working well. Heard that it is no longer selling in the market. What a pity.

Just for sharing, I got 2 super single bed with mattress for my kids at S&C furniture shop. They have a lot of design to choose and so far they offer the best package for single bed.

Or if you want more "branded" one. Just saw at the furniture expo. Lotus brand selling a single bed divan with mattress at $699.

Regards

Liang

Edited by yhliang

he have the 3D software, cost him more than 10k for the 3D software, for 1 copy. :jawdrop: He says there are pirated but he is using the original software loh.

He used to have one drafter (cannot called designer cos all the person do is draw 3D) based on his feedback. real designer will know how to draw 3D and think of designs....

For business, yup, they will need to purchase original copy but for us, home user, after our reno, just delete the software lor. No point purchase lar. Or even the trial version if can do the job I'm ok :dribble: :dribble:

Will be meeting him tomorrow, see if can get the name of the software, can't really find such software online.

Pre-Reno preparation:

Actually if you are planning to burn your confidential papers, don't need to shred mar, just burn will do. Or wait till 7th month, they will put up many many big bins for burning, it will be easier to burn your 100KG paper :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

wahahaha!!! later got those "extra" coming to you asking you why burn useless papers.

La Germaine = La Germania? Or totally different?

If the latter, you can contact: http://www.straaten-intl.com/straaten-intl_contact.html

I like my Rinnai inner burner hob - burns strong. Someone who renovated some time back provided detailed review here: http://renovation-greencoal.blogspot.com/2008/05/using-rinnai-inner-flame-burner-hob_6584.html

@ Liang - Thanks Liang for info on the beds. Will visit the newly opened Toh Guan furniture mall.

@Battle/Neoby - Got 2 shredders. Overworked one B4 I went to get a small, red burner. Oi, cannot anyhow use those burners provided lah :no: . We want to enjoy our "final resting home" a bit longer leh :notti: .

Verdict: Hubby and I smelt real bad from the burning job. Not only is burning slower than shredding, it is hot, sweaty and eyes tearing too :~ . We need to keep poking the papers cos the fire tends to burn only the edges and top layers. The center portion are not burnt. Then you'll see a lot of white smoke emitting and polluted the air 8| We are now using the 2nd shredder.

@adidaem - Oh yes, it's La Germania. Saw the website. Limited choice. I saw the Rinnai model. Might get that if they have it in stainless steel.

Din know that Salvation Army only takes in metal beds and not wooden beds regardless of how new the beds are(unless the wooden bed comes with a stain free and fairly new mattress).

So, an appt has been fixed for them to carry away my teak wood 3+1+1 sofa + coffee table + side table + cushions + an extra set of cushion covers. Made a donation of $30 (they asked for $60)to cover their transport. They will view the condition of my sofa 1st, if not satisfied, it will not be carried away.

As for my beds and all other unwanted items, have contacted our TC conservancy foreman who says just call and he will come. Though TC limit only 3 bulky items, he's ok if more than 3 :thumbs up: .

Andrew will find the house in a mess tomorrow :jawdrop::jawdrop:

Wah... donate things to them they still so fussy? They collect metal beds and sell to Changi prison is it?

might be related to previous termite scares, maybe....

Verdict: Hubby and I smelt real bad from the burning job. Not only is burning slower than shredding, it is hot, sweaty and eyes tearing too :~ . We need to keep poking the papers cos the fire tends to burn only the edges and top layers. The center portion are not burnt. Then you'll see a lot of white smoke emitting and polluted the air 8| We are now using the 2nd.

Aiya... I missed your post earlier, if not you would have avoided all the trouble.

I also bought a small burner and tried to burn my confidential doc, but regretted it after doing it for 5mins, not as easy as i thought, paper really don't burn well and really pollute the air. I know home shredder will not work too, previously own one and it got over heated after 15mins. Thinking of buying a heavy duty one but hate the trouble of spending time shredding and it doesn't come cheap.

In the end, i called up the recycling company to help me destroy the doc with a small fee and they will give me a certificate of destruction. And at the same time, i gave him alot of other stuff to recycle too, such as old mattress, pillow, spoilt radio, spoilt labtop and etc. Even the toys that I suppose to bring to salvation army, i ask him to take away. Save my trip!

@Ayazumi - hahaha, maybe if can't sell metal beds, can still scrap them and get back some money. They won't know how long they have to keep the beds till a buyer comes along. Yeah, like what getzski mentioned, likely scared by termites before during storage.

@jshome - Actually, read your post about the recycling co. According to hubby, our documents are "too" confidential (govt related) to be handled by strangers before being destroyed. Anyway, the shredders had been repaired a couple of time over the years by hubby's friend who likes to repair things as a hobby and passing time. Already money well spent on them except that this time, really RIP liao.

We called up Colex Recycling Co and it seems for fabric, they only take in old clothes and not bedspread, cushion covers, curtains, bedsheets etc. So, we had an "open house" to our next door neighbour who came and "chop" 5 pieces of furniture. A friend "chop" all our colourful curtains and single-sized bedsheets. Our "garan guni" neighbour from next block took all the balance unwanted items. All specialised reference textbooks/novels are donated to national library. Our TC man will take away all other bulky items.

Heartening to know that the stuff are given a 2nd lease of "life". :sport-smiley-004: