jshome 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 Schedule for Monday 23/4. Andrew will pick us up, go Soon Bee Huat at Toh Guan to look at tiles. We can go a 2nd time if undecided. Then we will go Geylang to look at toilet stuff. In order to convince me not to waste money changing my windows and grilles, he insisted that we go to a newly reno flat done by him in Toa Payoh and see for myself the difference between new and old aluminum windows. Can see workmanship as well. Another 2 more booklets of lamination to choose from.Then back to our house for measurements again and sort out any small details. Told us he will be spending almost the whole day with us that day so that everything will be well prepared ahead of time.Your contractor is indeed very good... still need to convince you not to waste money. Can tell he is a very responsible guy! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jshome 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 i prefer SBH tiles... more choices.... and they allow the change even though it has been delivered and then tiler realised its uneven. old aluminium is really better... too bad that he is not bringing you to my place. then i can show you the difference between old and new cos i didn't change some windows and i change some. hehehehe...Maydream, post some picture of your old/new windows leh! We want to save some money too. By the way, when do you decide you need to change to new one? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 Maydream, post some picture of your old/new windows leh! We want to save some money too. By the way, when do you decide you need to change to new one?photos can't really tell how good is the quality of the aluminium leh. you got to touch it to know whether its good quality or not. just like buying pots and pans, you will know when you hold the pots in your hand whether its good quality stainless steel. there are some weight to it and the thickness is there. The same for the windows.... the hdb provided aluminium is at least 5mm thick while the new white powder coated is only like 2mm thick. I decided to change kitchen and MBR because1) Kitchen's windows is full of oil and grime which totally look so ugly. I am not sure cleaning will make any difference so just change loh2) The windows glass are dark in colour, which i don't like. i prefer tinted green. So i changed to new windows.The weird thing is, for living room and other bedroom, the windows are clear glass, not dark tinted like MBR. I don't understand why HDB have 2 type of glass windows. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 My fault lah! He told me on 1st appt that window still good, no need to change. I was ok with it. Subsequently, due to hacking and such, grille at kitchen window may have to be taken out (he will replace me with a new one if need to FOC); common toilet window has to be replaced to accommodate shower screen. Then might as well replace MBR's toilet too. I also want the 6 panel glass panes at the balcony to be changed to frosted glass and all locks (window and grilles) changed to new ones. So troublesome .. might as well change everything lah! that's when he goes .. "HUH?? The aluminum now hor, not so good leh! The locks can change one!! No problem! Don't waste moneee!! These 2 days, you look at your windows carefully ah!? On Monday, you go see the difference!" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 My fault lah! He told me on 1st appt that window still good, no need to change. I was ok with it. Subsequently, due to hacking and such, grille at kitchen window may have to be taken out (he will replace me with a new one if need to FOC); common toilet window has to be replaced to accommodate shower screen. Then might as well replace MBR's toilet too. I also want the 6 panel glass panes at the balcony to be changed to frosted glass and all locks (window and grilles) changed to new ones. So troublesome .. might as well change everything lah! that's when he goes .. "HUH?? The aluminum now hor, not so good leh! The locks can change one!! No problem! Don't waste moneee!! These 2 days, you look at your windows carefully ah!? On Monday, you go see the difference!"change only those need to change lah..... really no need to waste extra money. use it to do something else loh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 My fault lah! He told me on 1st appt that window still good, no need to change. I was ok with it. Subsequently, due to hacking and such, grille at kitchen window may have to be taken out (he will replace me with a new one if need to FOC); common toilet window has to be replaced to accommodate shower screen. Then might as well replace MBR's toilet too. I also want the 6 panel glass panes at the balcony to be changed to frosted glass and all locks (window and grilles) changed to new ones. So troublesome .. might as well change everything lah! that's when he goes .. "HUH?? The aluminum now hor, not so good leh! The locks can change one!! No problem! Don't waste moneee!! These 2 days, you look at your windows carefully ah!? On Monday, you go see the difference!"my contractor wanted to charge me for fixing back the grilles which he removed to facilitate the hacking and tiling of kitchen and toilets lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 my contractor wanted to charge me for fixing back the grilles which he removed to facilitate the hacking and tiling of kitchen and toilets loryour reno already over lah, don't think about it already. what you have done is nice! next time you want to do reno, then you can also look for Andrew loh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NeoBY 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 your reno already over lah, don't think about it already. what you have done is nice! next time you want to do reno, then you can also look for Andrew loh.yah!! 3 years later. lol!!! but maybe by that time, i will think otherwise cos troublesome. next time hack the living room and bedrooms floor, change to darker colour, change windows and...dont know liao. ideas pl! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 yah!! 3 years later. lol!!! but maybe by that time, i will think otherwise cos troublesome. next time hack the living room and bedrooms floor, change to darker colour, change windows and...dont know liao. ideas pl! hack the wall between MBR and the next room so it connected loh. your windows are ok mah, no need to change lah.... and maybe a nice tv feature wall? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jshome 1 Report post Posted April 20, 2012 My fault lah! He told me on 1st appt that window still good, no need to change. I was ok with it. Subsequently, due to hacking and such, grille at kitchen window may have to be taken out (he will replace me with a new one if need to FOC); common toilet window has to be replaced to accommodate shower screen. Then might as well replace MBR's toilet too. I also want the 6 panel glass panes at the balcony to be changed to frosted glass and all locks (window and grilles) changed to new ones. So troublesome .. might as well change everything lah! that's when he goes .. "HUH?? The aluminum now hor, not so good leh! The locks can change one!! No problem! Don't waste moneee!! These 2 days, you look at your windows carefully ah!? On Monday, you go see the difference!"I also think can save up the money and leave to Andrew to do some magic. If really don't like it, can also change again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted April 21, 2012 Before renovation, I insisted wanting to do new windows for the house because I scared the windows might be damaged by previous owner or during renovation. During renovation, I saw my windows very dirty, paint gotten on the windows, and I started to regret not changing the windows.Near to the end of renovation, chemical wash was used to clean the windows. When I see the windows again, the windows are as clean and new as before. Luckily didn't change the windows, otherwise I would have wasted $2-3k on unnecessary thing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jshome 1 Report post Posted April 21, 2012 photos can't really tell how good is the quality of the aluminium leh. you got to touch it to know whether its good quality or not. just like buying pots and pans, you will know when you hold the pots in your hand whether its good quality stainless steel. there are some weight to it and the thickness is there. The same for the windows.... the hdb provided aluminium is at least 5mm thick while the new white powder coated is only like 2mm thick. I decided to change kitchen and MBR because1) Kitchen's windows is full of oil and grime which totally look so ugly. I am not sure cleaning will make any difference so just change loh2) The windows glass are dark in colour, which i don't like. i prefer tinted green. So i changed to new windows.The weird thing is, for living room and other bedroom, the windows are clear glass, not dark tinted like MBR. I don't understand why HDB have 2 type of glass windows.I saw the lock on the window turned rusty... Can just change the lock or change the whole window? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jshome 1 Report post Posted April 21, 2012 LLChing,Actually since now your children are all grown up, can do away with grille right? It can really open up the view. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 21, 2012 I saw the lock on the window turned rusty... Can just change the lock or change the whole window?Just change the lock. No need to change whole windows. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jshome 1 Report post Posted April 21, 2012 Just change the lock. No need to change whole windows.Yeah great! Can save some money! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites