LLChing

Final "resting" Home In Jurong East

Hubby and I have been contemplating whether to get a new home or do a 2nd renovation on our existing flat. After viewing showrooms on DBSS/Exec Condo, comparing prices, calculation of loans etc, we have decided to stay put. The decision was made after a vote of 3:1. I lost.

After the decision last year, I started to read reviews on Renotalk. Many good tips and advice were given. Since we have to move out of the flat temporarily for the renovation, choosing a responsible ID is our utmost priority. Any delay will incur more $$$ for us as we have to rent storage space for our barang barang, an apartment for our own accommodation etc.

After hearing so many good reviews on - Lo, we decided to fix an appt with him. Gee, need to wait 1 mth leh! So far, he is very quick in his response. At least, he is honest enough to let us know that he is less busy end of mth and whether we can wait for him. As we can only start renovation from June onwards, we can wait.

I may not be able to post nice photos as my computer knowledge is rather limited. :dunno:

It's a 134 sqm 5A. Yes, I do hv a flr plan but bear with me while I try to post it here.

We moved here 14 yrs ago when the children are younger. We had a simple and basic renovation then.They are now working adults and I felt that the old deco no longer meets their lifestyle.

uhh thats big...

You have quite a spacious living and dining hall.

Kitchen wise can hack off partial wall to create bigger space :)

You can even have an island since your kitchen is long (7m :D)

Old house are nice. Big and spacious.

This layout will be very good to do design and have many ways you can really play with ; )

But since your kids are already working adults, will they be getting married soon ? Cause I think it will impact your design requirement. ; )

Long kitchen, hack the kitchen wall and merge with Dining. will be ultra wide and open ; p

Can have island too :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

All the best with your reno ; )

Hi all, many thanks for the good ideas. Now you know why we decide to stay put. :notti: The only faults I can find abt my house are the numerous beams and uneven ceiling height.

Hubby wants an office to work in. Must sayang him abit :P and yes, I hv the intention to hack the kitchen wall too. Hehe .. children told me hv to wait long long for their marital bliss.

I think the "highly recommended ID from renotalk" scrutinize this forum too. Just got a call from him to meet up tmr. :sport-smiley-004: Let's see how it goes.

Hi all, many thanks for the good ideas. Now you know why we decide to stay put. :notti: The only faults I can find abt my house are the numerous beams and uneven ceiling height.

Hubby wants an office to work in. Must sayang him abit :P and yes, I hv the intention to hack the kitchen wall too. Hehe .. children told me hv to wait long long for their marital bliss.

I think the "highly recommended ID from renotalk" scrutinize this forum too. Just got a call from him to meet up tmr. :sport-smiley-004: Let's see how it goes.

All the best and share share your layout okie ; )

Would be interesting to know how the ID design to place the home office & open concept kitchen ; )

All the best and share share your layout okie ; )

Would be interesting to know how the ID design to place the home office & open concept kitchen ; )

Meeting with ID was pretty fruitful. Ideas were exchanged, dismissed, doubted, clarified, accepted, on hold for verification. We had a FOC lesson on gd and bad quality materials. Show samples some more. :good:

Open concept kitchen down the drain :o as hubby wants ceiling to floor storage space. He had an open concept office though :P which means we get to retain the openness from balcony to office (Prev dining area) Ideas are still forthcoming as we hv not finalise anything yet.

Request ID to view on site as flr plan has hidden grey areas.

Edited by LLChing

The meeting with the ID was pretty fruitful. Ideas were exchanged,dismissed, doubted, clarified, accepted and on hold for verification. Friendly and knowledgeable chap. We had a FOC lesson on good and bad quality materials. Show samples to prove his point some more. :D

May disappoint you. :unsure: Due to hubby's love of ceiling to floor storage space in his office, afraid ID's hands are pretty tied. There goes my open concept kitchen :o Doesn't matter lah :rolleyes: Hubby had an open concept office though :good:which means we get to retain the openness from balcony to office (previous dining area)

Since we are not in a hurry, we requested ID to visit on site as there are some grey areas which the floor plan does not reveal but we discovered during our 1st renovation. So paiseh to disturb him now when he is so busy preparing for his wedding end of March.

Ya lor :jawdrop: 14 yrs ago, my simple renovation of whole house rewiring(PUB certified), new windows and grilles,all bedroom doors,total revamp of kitchen and toilets, kitchen cabinet, all 3 bedroom wardrobes plus all lights,ceiling fan and 2 water heaters. Total cost: $20K.I couldn't imagine what the cost will be like now :dunno:

Today, we seek out a 2nd ID. Highly recommended by my niece whose house (still as good as new) was done by him some years ago:thumbs up: He is a certified ID with 30+ yrs experience :bow: and not a contractor turned ID. Very professional and a funny guy:D Very impressed with his portfolio :good: Kena warned by my niece that he is on the expensive end :jawdrop: He requested to pop in at my place tmr so that he can see the actual layout, our lifestyle and what kind of barang we hv before he does his drawing. Knowing that we had marble floorings, he recommends that we keep them cos it's expensive. If the windows are ok, we shld keep those too.

From his initial sketch, he goes right to my heart with his open concept approach :dancingqueen: I think my wish to hv an open concept kitchen can be realised if I choose him :notti: