ahlipz

~Beautiful Cozy Simplicity~

Good news... Gain City managed to slot in a date for me tomorrow.

At least there will not be any delay for the renovation but we are not in a hurry to move in.

Good news... Gain City managed to slot in a date for me tomorrow.

At least there will not be any delay for the renovation but we are not in a hurry to move in.

Good!

Edited by ayazumi

Today is air con installation. Figured out how the trunking & piping will "run". The quotation for the 3 + 1 air con is for the living room & 3 rooms, totally forgot that we have an open kitchen concept. The air con guy was commenting that the air con 18BTU may be sufficient since we will not always switch it on.

Spoke to wifey about this and wanted to know if can change to 27BTU instead. Just called the Gain City guy, he has already installed the piping and to change to a 27BTU, he needs to take them all out and change a new set of piping. Well, it is our fault for not checking properly. I was thinking that we can switch on the ceiling fan if the air con is not that cold. :bangwall:

Edited by ahlipz

Today is air con installation. Figured out how the trunking & piping will "run". The quotation for the 3 + 1 air con is for the living room & 3 rooms, totally forgot that we have an open kitchen concept. The air con guy was commenting that the air con 18BTU may be sufficient since we will not always switch it on.

Spoke to wifey about this and wanted to know if can change to 27BTU instead. Just called the Gain City guy, he has already installed the piping and to change to a 27BTU, he needs to take them all out and change a new set of piping. Well, it is our fault for not checking properly. I was thinking that we can switch on the ceiling fan if the air con is not that cold. :bangwall:

i also have 18BTU and i think its ok leh... when i on the aircon, other area might not be very cold but sofa area was ok. maybe the aircon is blowing near sofa. as long as you don't expect it to be super cold, then i think its ok.

Thanks, May_dream1

Wifey is kinda worried and wants to ask ID to come up with an idea to partition off the kitchen. Let see if he has any idea

I'm afraid is 18BTU may not be sufficient to cool the living room. Bedrooms still okay, but you may want to install ceiling fan too, so when you on the aircon for the living room, you on the ceiling fan to cool the room

Yaa, will be installing the Haiku fan. Expensive yes, but I like it. Provided that I can keep my wifey from knowing the price...

I'm afraid is 18BTU may not be sufficient to cool the living room. Bedrooms still okay, but you may want to install ceiling fan too, so when you on the aircon for the living room, you on the ceiling fan to cool the room

when there is only 3 humans in the living room, 18k BTU is sufficient. when there is 10 person inside on a hot afternoon(which is the norm nowadays), the 27k will be very handy.

and yes, any ceiling fan will be good to circulate the cool air around. i had a super low ceiling which makes me not want to have a ceiling fan, so i used on of those turbine fan circulator with a long throw, and that is good too.

Day 8

Air Con installation by Gain City. I was expecting 3-4 workers but only 2 appeared in my house. They started drilling after discussion with my contractor and me regarding the air con positions for the 3 rooms & living rooms and how the trunking will run.

4 Towers of Mitsubishi Air cons

p1030906i.jpg

Class 1 Aramflex

canvasot.png

Asking about the difference between the 3/8 & 1/2... there is your answer

p1030919az.jpg

Compressor resting area

p1030922y.jpg

My 18k BTU living room air con

p1030928d.jpg

Contractor needs to box up the trunking and paint job to be settled within the next 2-3 days.

More work to be settled~

Edited by ahlipz

Thanks, May_dream1

Wifey is kinda worried and wants to ask ID to come up with an idea to partition off the kitchen. Let see if he has any idea

i realised from the pic that your living room aircon is on top of the walkway to bedrooms? then the cool air might flow towards the walkway too.

Hi ahlipz,

Have you bought the fisher & paykel fridge? I heard about the noise issue regarding this fridge, not sure if you know about this? Some people say they experienced it but some say no. Confused!

I have not bought my fridge yet.

ID wants to know the dimensions ASAP in order to get the carpentry up. Left with 3 brands, Panasonic, Mitsubishi or FP.

Been missing for 2 weeks due to holiday in China. This was pre planned and totally forgot that this will clash with my renovation :jawdrop:

No choice, my contractor has settled my brick wall, box up of aircon trunking and light pelmet for master bedroom and living room.

Had a torrid time toget Metro to deliver my Taiyo induction hod. Supposedly to delivery from 2-6pm, but got a shock after telling me that they can do it 8.30-9pm.

No light in the house (Lights not fixed up), told the driver to re-deliver the next day after 10am. Another screw up as they decided to do so at 9plus am but my electrician is not around. To do so in the afternoon but dragged till 7pm+, by then my electrician already left for the day. :furious:

Finally, the delivery was smooth today after it was handled by my contractor. Wanted to do refund liao and quite pissed with the delivery

Edited by ahlipz

Before I flew off for my short getaway in early May, meet up with ID to settle with City Gas personnel on the position of the heater and dryer in the service bay.

Update him of some of the defects for the subway tiles such as grout line was not filled up properly, some of them are chipped off and in a bad shape.

p1030937r.jpg

p1030939y.jpg

p1030936p.jpg

My poor mini window will be sealed up. We were supposed to place my sink and induction hob at this area. Due to HDB smart allocation, the sink has to be the other end due to the pipes. We are not allowed to do piping underneath the flooring due to waterproofing purpose. Alternative was to route the pipe around the service bay but this will greatly increase choking.

p1030903a.jpg

Kitchen wall has been cement screed, preparation for the carpentry work. Hopefully all this will be done after I am back from my trip

p1030969a.jpg

Edited by ahlipz

This is my supposedly "brick" wall but it turned out fine as some modification by my ID

p1040147d.jpg

Another close up, the raw feel, loving it.

Hopefully, it blends well with all the furniture

p1040148j.jpg

Box up of ugly trunking done :yamseng:

p1040145a.jpg

Edited by ahlipz