madferit 0 Report post Posted June 27, 2012 Undermount sink will have gap btwn ur counter top and sink where water can seep in and mould will grow. Unless you cement ur sink in... Flush with ur counter top den water seepage problem might be solved. However mould STILL can grow over time in any gaps u have. Then, if u are very concern about hygiene won't you want to be able to change your sink?? ^^ then if it's cemented in or under mounted, how to change? Break up the entire sink area?If I don't like the blanco sink, my lost is only 555 (price of the sink n tap). Not the entire area. I hope this explanation helps. ^^You are right. Thanks for the clarification, guess I should go with top mount which I have always wanted!colgate stains also very difficult to remove.....you can almost try to use colgate to re-color your black blanco.Hahaha why is there colgate stain in your blanco sink, you use your sink to brush teeth? Is your sink black? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 27, 2012 You are right. Thanks for the clarification, guess I should go with top mount which I have always wanted!Hahaha why is there colgate stain in your blanco sink, you use your sink to brush teeth? Is your sink black? Calcium build up on granite sink is common! There's a few house hold tips on it. Just google. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 I don't consider myself a modernist.. So this old fashion style kitchen sink area is a part of the house that I really love! :dribble: :dribble: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applepie 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2012 i really like ur kitchen floor tiles.. money well spent!very nice! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 i really like ur kitchen floor tiles.. money well spent!very nice! thanks~~~~ that's one tile choice I don't regret.. XD Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 (edited) Progress so far...Partition guy did a great work with the false ceilings and cove lighting. Seems like money well spent even thou it pushed us way off budget. RAWRS! Plastering... We are in love. I can't begin to describe how smooooooooth the walls feel after plastering.. It's as smooth as a baby's butt! And the wall corners are reinforced with this wire thing.. But the plastering and partition/false ceiling/box-up was something we didn't factor into our budget.. So we definitely hit the point where we are 10% over budget or more for the renovations now.Aircon trunking is up.. BUT THEY DID A TERRIBLE JOB. We made the contractor to call the subcon back to do rectification works for today.. *sigh* Hopefully they will actually turn up and not put aeroplane.Tiling work is... still ongoing. Some minor rectification to my MBR toilet, requested to do U channels for 2 x 18 inch fixed glass panels instead of a full glass shower area. It's nice to know that the permit for the roofing at balcony area is finally approved and will be going up soon. The dining/utility homo tiles are up.. I am still quite on the fence about the homo tiles we chose. Some consensus said it looks like original HDB tiles. The tiler and electrician on the other hand say its really good tiles and they are getting more expensive.. Either way it doesn't comfort me.. But after putting in the living/dining furniture, I am guessing that we will see less of the tiles, which will make it much more bearable. (I THINK!) Edited June 30, 2012 by thedottyness Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
potatoes 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 Progress so far...Partition guy did a great work with the false ceilings and cove lighting. Seems like money well spent even thou it pushed us way off budget. RAWRS! Plastering... We are in love. I can't begin to describe how smooooooooth the walls feel after plastering.. It's as smooth as a baby's butt! And the wall corners are reinforced with this wire thing.. But the plastering and partition/false ceiling/box-up was something we didn't factor into our budget.. So we definitely hit the point where we are 10% over budget or more for the renovations now.Aircon trunking is up.. BUT THEY DID A TERRIBLE JOB. We made the contractor to call the subcon back to do rectification works for today.. *sigh* Hopefully they will actually turn up and not put aeroplane.Tiling work is... still ongoing. Some minor rectification to my MBR toilet, requested to do U channels for 2 x 18 inch fixed glass panels instead of a full glass shower area. It's nice to know that the permit for the roofing at balcony area is finally approved and will be going up soon. The dining/utility homo tiles are up.. I am still quite on the fence about the homo tiles we chose. Some consensus said it looks like original HDB tiles. The tiler and electrician on the other hand say its really good tiles and they are getting more expensive.. Either way it doesn't comfort me.. But after putting in the living/dining furniture, I am guessing that we will see less of the tiles, which will make it much more bearable. (I THINK!)Making good progress Everything smooth now and all pimples gone.... Best! Show pics leh ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 Plastered wall pics are the most boring ones. You can't see anything nor make out what's that picture is. Lol. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahlipz 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 (edited) Plastered wall pics are the most boring ones. You can't see anything nor make out what's that picture is. Lol.True, only thedottyness will know how smooth the plastered wall is.Unless we are invited for house warming Edited June 30, 2012 by ahlipz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 Congrats, you've had a good tiler whom is hard to find nowadays Good tiling work! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2012 For those who are really curious...Plastered wall with ac trunking in the boy's room. (will be concealed with partition boards soon)Plastered wall in the girls room no trunking!! thanks to my electrician for the routing.. Cove Lights with downlights in the kids room and.. my wife's favourite, her subway tiles complete with white grout Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2012 More pictures...Mess by the AC guys... :furious: :furious: :furious: After I cleaned it up.. Am I the only dumb owner that clears up the mess of others?? Neither I nor my electrician can tahan the mess!! At least let others work in clean n clear environment mah.. Wait the workers trip or worse damage the floor.. And my cock contractor never put cardboard protection on the floor.. Lucky no dents.. The half finished ECB which is still so neat even thou not complete yetOur floor... First impression, looks like original HDB tiles enlarged :jawdrop: :jawdrop: Dont remember why we never chose the all white tiles. Hope after furniture will look ok.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2012 More nicely plastered pictures... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted July 1, 2012 Can see the plastering is really smooth. Nice! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sunnyting 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2012 Pre-Reno DramaIt started off with us requesting a second viewing with our sellers. They ignored ALL the calls their agent made to them regarding a second viewing and suddenly, went back to the agent asking US to contact them directly. And so we did and paid them a house visit, and we politely requested a second viewing and to allow us to bring our contractor to do some measurements. Both visits are done at THEIR convenience. So they agreed (after a couple of day/time changes) and with the condition that we do not venture beyond the 1st floor. We respected their wishes and only gave our contractor verbal instructions regarding what we wanted done for the 2nd floor. Even so, the wife followed me around while I showed our contractor what I want done, and even gave her opinion what should be done. While on the other hand, the husband monopolized my hubs time and didn't allow him to join the discussion between the contractor and I.They said they will be moving out on the 7th. They offered us keys to allow us start early reno without us asking it. So when I politely ask when will they pass us the keys, the wife ask me to let the men deal with it. OKAY! FINE! Don't know what generation liao but I respect your way of doing things. The husband started calling my hubs *almost* everyday. With the first call, wanting to leave behind his hp number for us to "keep in touch". Upon asking about the keys, the man said we must have permit first. Then, the next call came.. Asking whether if it was illegal to just hand us the keys like that. My hubs assure him that we will follow the procedures by the book which was us signing the HDB indemnity form and pass it to our contractor to apply for reno permit and apply for utilities so they won't incur the extra electricity charges from our renovation works.Then, it was downhill from then on. When the reno permit was approved, our contractor stuck the notices around the block and at the unit. And also informed all the neighbours on our behalf as per required by HDB. The husband called up and didn't sounded very happy to have the permit stuck at their unit. And said he has been receiving our spam letters there already. We said never mind, the letters aren't urgent. They are there because we started the utility account in view of the reno starting date. And once again, he questioned us on the legality of the renovation permit and handing over the keys. Firstly, we declined taking ALL their keys saying that they can keep most of them and pass them to us on the 2nd appointment. Secondly, we followed all the procedures regarding applying for the reno permit and was willing to sign an indemnity form to discharge them from all responsibilities.Today, the sellers are now trying to point fingers at their agent, saying that the agent SAID it was illegal. Once again, this word kept appearing throughout the past week's phone calls. Upon checking with THEIR agent, the agent denied and didn't use such strong words in advising them. My hubs called the seller to clarify the issue since they were the ones who offered the keys but they refuse to outright say that they don't want to hand over the keys and kept saying that what was done is illegal. Then, the sellers son spoke to my hubs and said that his parents (the sellers) are very stressed out regarding this issue. And thought that the resale completion actually requires 4 more months! Already... we gave our deposit in Jan, to date, is already 6 months. After ding dong the whole day, they finally came back to us and say they refuse to hand over the keys early and requested that we wait till 2nd appointment to collect all the keys.We had the words ILLEGAL and LAWYERS thrown at us many times in this past week, which human being like to be accused of doing something illegal? We are very upset at the fact that they offered and now last minute, want to pull out of the deal. We have put up with EVERY SINGLE DEMAND they had. From the first viewing of 10 minutes only.. to this. They kept pressuring us to stay in contact as they are very sentimental towards the place, which we agreed to stay in contact and be friends. For people who claim that they are full of integrity, we found that they have none. We have already followed all their whims and wishes regarding the time and day, and decided we have enough. Since they have come right out and say they refuse, we have no choice but to accept. We do not like to be accused, neither do we have the energy or mental capacity at the moment to play mind games with them. I am currently 32 weeks pregnant and nursing a bad flu. My husband is down with fever and does not seem to be recovering. So.. if FOUR MORE DAYS SEEM SO IMPORTANT FOR YOU TO BE THAT OWNER OF THE HOUSE, PLEASE ENJOY YOUR LAST FOUR DAYS! p.s. looks like we have to go thru the whole hassle of re-applying for reno permit now. *sigh* and the delays... arghhh!feel so sorry to read this, really like a dramawhen I bought my flat, got also a drama like story with my agent..., made me really upset and feel crazy!now I am waiting to collect key and then hope I won't deal with my agent deny more! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites