thedottyness

2+3 - Our 2Nd Home

Wow... You got unblock view from both side... Very nice, and night time will be airy and cooling, no need air-con.

By the way, just make sure you don't install your air con compressor or metal grille or anything metal on the side facing the sea. It tend to oxidised faster and rust. This is what happen to my friend's house along marine parade.

What I understand is ac compressor is installed above the balcony. Got other place??

Our house not exactly face sea. It's more like got sea view(i.e. you try hard enough can see) if you really wanna put it that way. Don't really like sg sea view as all you see is ships more than Normandy dday landings. Sea view should be so big and vast that you feel small. =x

I do worry about rust hope the ac compressor not so affected as no direct sea breeze

Hi Marble, r u going to Aircon the whole place? How many compressors r u installing? I have yet to get approval for my second compressor. :)

Tio rejected by family. Shall find another chance to do it next time. Lol.

if you can use 2 compressors, seriously consider it. this will allow the individual blowers to have draw more "power" from the compressors. on a hot day (note the every worsening global warming) this will allow the blowers to be more efficent in dispensing the welcoming cool air. (as well as the trucking to be short and efficient)

i'm staying in an older block which is facing the 8.5Amp loading constraint, so i was not able to do it. :furious:

My whole house will have iron wrought grill. XD as long u stay in this area will have this problem. Hahahah. So just gotta be hardworking n check.

What I understand is ac compressor is installed above the balcony. Got other place??

Our house not exactly face sea. It's more like got sea view(i.e. you try hard enough can see) if you really wanna put it that way. Don't really like sg sea view as all you see is ships more than Normandy dday landings. Sea view should be so big and vast that you feel small. =x

I do worry about rust hope the ac compressor not so affected as no direct sea breeze

Not sure if any people apply anti-rust on cmpressor?? Maybe can check your neighbour to see status of their compressor.

I got mine install along the corridor, not very sure why.

if you can use 2 compressors, seriously consider it. this will allow the individual blowers to have draw more "power" from the compressors. on a hot day (note the every worsening global warming) this will allow the blowers to be more efficent in dispensing the welcoming cool air. (as well as the trucking to be short and efficient)

i'm staying in an older block which is facing the 8.5Amp loading constraint, so i was not able to do it. :furious:

Err. My block also very old. We've not seen ppl having two compressors I think. *thinks hard* not sure~

Thats true. But 30A still can have 2 compressors just that both compressors are amp limited, i.e. lesser power. Check with HDB.

Not sure if any people apply anti-rust on cmpressor?? Maybe can check your neighbour to see status of their compressor.

I got mine install along the corridor, not very sure why.

Might be the way it's routed. I've not seen anyone install compressors along the corridor in the area. if get complains of noise and heat then problematic.

Err. My block also very old. We've not seen ppl having two compressors I think. *thinks hard* not sure~

Yes, there are units with 2 compressors, even the older point blocks opposite install 2 compressors. (this is part of the plan)

Tiling works in progress.....

*sigh* our blur contractor gave wrong instructions to the tiler.. i ended up having more patterned tiles than white.. i wanted more white than patterned. it still seems okay and quite nice.. my consolation - this toilet is the lvl 1 common toilet. i won't be seeing it that much to feel irked.

c167e622.jpg

kids common toilet wall tiles are almost up.. left the mosaic to be slotted in. ^^

13486ea4.jpg

really like the tiler's work..makes the OCD me very happy...

80e7ac3b.jpg

Edited by thedottyness

You better ask your contractor got do waterproofing for all the toilet or not... :jawdrop:

yes.. he knows.

anyways.. we took your advice and went with caesarstone's 1141. :jawdrop::dribble: :dribble:

Nice tiling work. For kitchen, do they tile everything including the area behind cabinet and oven? My previous ID didn't..... Until now I still don't understand why those portion are still in the raw concrete form.

Edited by potatoes

Nice tiling work. For kitchen, do they tile everything including the area behind cabinet and oven? My previous ID didn't..... Until now I still don't understand why those portion are still in the raw concrete form.

yes.... whatever tiles u see in the kitchen now will be hidden away by cabinets.. only a tiny portion at wash/chute area will be exposed..

umm.. its actually a cost cutting measure by IDs - cannot see = no need to do.. we selected cheap white china tiles to do this.

my kitchen backsplash will use subway tiles.. too exp if whole kitchen is that ya!

Edited by thedottyness

You can request for that. You paid for the tiles anyway. Just ask the tiler stick it on, at most 1 day more work?

Thou i heard a school of thought is that when you take down the cabinets will damage the tiles anyway. dunno if it's the ID/Contractor's bsing their way thru but sorta make sense? My wife is just too OCD not to have tiles behind. =X

These are confirm 100% Hdb original. My sellers didn't wanna spend money to renovate.

I don't think last time Hdb do up the flat leh. Usually totally empty...... Since you both at same block maybe same contractor??

Same same... think should be original HDB... LOL

20120515_s12.jpg