battle 0 Report post Posted June 21, 2012 Erm from balcony if you stand there look left technically ya. But don't really consider it sea view unless selling =x that's gonna be 20-30 yrs down the road. Don't want to move till the kids leave the nest.Same same, won't sell until kids move out. Or maybe stay for life liao. Next time won't be able to get such size houses liao.Wow... You got unblock view from both side... Very nice, and night time will be airy and cooling, no need air-con.By the way, just make sure you don't install your air con compressor or metal grille or anything metal on the side facing the sea. It tend to oxidised faster and rust. This is what happen to my friend's house along marine parade.Actually same same, my mil place, bedok south ave 2 (just 1 ave away), everything also corrode. MY Alu Allow MTB, last time at my mum's place in Toa Payoh, 2 years also no corrode, bring to bedok, few months started corroding liao... so sad.... than another SS Dining table & chair set, don't know the SS how good, also started having rust spots after few months... Zzzz.. tired of cleaning, gone liao throw away (heng, given by my mil's bro one ; p ).That's why moving forward, my place will mostly be WOOD base stuff ; p I avoid anything metal. ; p (if can lar, hinge bo bian ; p )My whole house will have iron wrought grill. XD as long u stay in this area will have this problem. Hahahah. So just gotta be hardworking n check.my seller's iron wrought grill seems ok ley. but don't know how long he install liao lar... ; ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted June 21, 2012 Nice tiling work. For kitchen, do they tile everything including the area behind cabinet and oven? My previous ID didn't..... Until now I still don't understand why those portion are still in the raw concrete form.mine behind also no tiles ; p I'm ok with it ; ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 mine behind also no tiles ; p I'm ok with it ; )Mine has no tiles for areas allocated for top and bottom cabinets because behind got wood backing. All other areas got tiles including to-be-boxed-up area as well as newly constructed "storeroom". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 my seller's iron wrought grill seems ok ley. but don't know how long he install liao lar... ; )The correct term is "wrought iron", not "iron wrought". Good wrought iron grille or gate will not rust due to galvanisation was done on the wrought iron by applying a protective zinc coating to prevent rust. Stainless steel structure on oil rig in the middle of the sea are all put through a process call hot dip galvanisation, or else how to withstand soaking in salt water. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 mine behind also no tiles ; p I'm ok with it ; )Mine has no tiles for areas allocated for top and bottom cabinets because behind got wood backing. All other areas got tiles including to-be-boxed-up area as well as newly constructed "storeroom".bwahahahaha.. my mum asked the same thing.. actually the whole kitchen right, all the fat white tiles will be covered up with cabinets.. other than this small portion near the chute and toilet.honestly, my contractor very blur. he took my mum words literally when she said behind the cabinets are tiled up right?!so he went to order a bunch of tiles and tile up my kitchen.. the good thing is.. very nice leh! makes the OCD me very happy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 bwahahahaha.. my mum asked the same thing.. actually the whole kitchen right, all the fat white tiles will be covered up with cabinets.. other than this small portion near the chute and toilet.honestly, my contractor very blur. he took my mum words literally when she said behind the cabinets are tiled up right?!so he went to order a bunch of tiles and tile up my kitchen.. the good thing is.. very nice leh! makes the OCD me very happy.already spent a bomb for the kitchen, better tiled up all the way, tiles are cheap. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 (edited) Tiling works in progressSubway tile backsplash... Managed to find 3D ones! w00 h00! The exposed area I've been talking about...ONCE again, my tiler ran out of tiles.. :bangwall: Blur contractor need to order more tiles again.. Good thing is its his brother's tile shop right??? Edited June 22, 2012 by thedottyness Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 ONCE again, my tiler ran out of tiles.. :bangwall: Blur contractor need to order more tiles again.. Good thing is its his brother's tile shop right??? your contractor is inexperience... he does not know how to calculate the amount of tiles needed to lay a given space. This type of contractor is a blur king, i suggest you and your hubby check on the reno progress everyday if possible. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 your contractor is inexperience... he does not know how to calculate the amount of tiles needed to lay a given space. This type of contractor is a blur king, i suggest you and your hubby check on the reno progress everyday if possible.erm.. no. he doesn't understand the design I want for my kitchen. we got major miscommunication on it as he didn't go with us to do tile selection. so end up there was insufficient tiles for the kitchen (only). the rest of the house is ok. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 erm.. no. he doesn't understand the design I want for my kitchen. we got major miscommunication on it as he didn't go with us to do tile selection. so end up there was insufficient tiles for the kitchen (only). the rest of the house is ok.Then you should draw on paper for him to understand... mark on the wall if have to.For tile selection, the contractor must go, he can liaise with the tile shop on the stock of the particular tile, sometime popular tile sold out very fast. You wouldnt want to be caught in that situation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 (edited) already spent a bomb for the kitchen, better tiled up all the way, tiles are cheap.Erm.. the subway tiles are 90cents each. not exactly cheap. Whole kitchen do that can go broke..Then you should draw on paper for him to understand... mark on the wall if have to.For tile selection, the contractor must go, he can liaise with the tile shop on the stock of the particular tile, sometime popular tile sold out very fast. You wouldnt want to be caught in that situation.Sent him pictures already. Still dunno 8| 8| 8| Tile shop is his bro's, dont think will run out for him.. Edited June 22, 2012 by marble Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 Then you should draw on paper for him to understand... mark on the wall if have to.For tile selection, the contractor must go, he can liaise with the tile shop on the stock of the particular tile, sometime popular tile sold out very fast. You wouldnt want to be caught in that situation.Albert, its already over lah. already selected and all already arrived and the "not enough tiles" also coming. you stressing her leh... hehehehe.... now everything is ok. just a little hiccup. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 Albert, its already over lah. already selected and all already arrived and the "not enough tiles" also coming. you stressing her leh... hehehehe.... now everything is ok. just a little hiccup. She is very capable person and her hubby is also very supportive. Their house will be very beautiful. I'm just sharing my experience... so anyone reading it can avoid stress. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
taichipanda 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 Erm.. the subway tiles are 90cents each. not exactly cheap. Whole kitchen do that can go broke..Sent him pictures already. Still dunno 8| 8| 8| Tile shop is his bro's, dont think will run out for him..90cents a piece is cheap. If need to do whole kitchen will lay selectively on expose wall, those walls covered by cabinet do not need to lay.I forgot you told me that the other day.Cant wait to see your beautiful house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 22, 2012 She is very capable person and her hubby is also very supportive. Their house will be very beautiful. I'm just sharing my experience... so anyone reading it can avoid stress. definitely! i see part of the tiles also i think it will be beautiful. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites