Confidential 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 for new BTO, no hacking of toilet tiles for the first 3 years!!! This is HDB rulinghttp://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/HomeRenoGuidelinesBuilding?OpenDocument#Bathroomlook under "floor finishes". Even after 3 years, you would need permit to hack toilet floor tiles.Oh, so this is the case... So all your tiles in the toliet are overlay? Kitchen tiles I presume you can hack away? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 My wife found some "before" photos in her room, just to share a bit...Common BathMBR BathMBR, from the door entranceBedroomCorridor, standing from the MBR. Common bath on the left, the other bedroom on the right.This was on the day we laid our cardboard! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 Hi cj07Congrats on yr new house and Reno..Saw that you are doing bar counter concept, do you have problem with the swing of ur main door? It seems to be in the way right?Hi pinkwhaleThanks! Actually our floor plan was not 100% accurate, the door swings the other way instead. Anyway in the end, our ID say that the bar counter in front of the kitchen will be too small, we will be doing it on the opposite wall instead. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 Who is your tiler? seem like very experienced..... maybe its the same as mine. haahahaha.... yr settee does looks good!! hahahaah.....Haha...maybe same tiler hor? Actually I also dunno his name too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 Oh, so this is the case... So all your tiles in the toliet are overlay? Kitchen tiles I presume you can hack away?Nope, our tiles in the toilet are given by HDB. We did not do anything more than to make a kerb to prevent the water from flowing out of the bath area. No work can be done due to waterproofing under warranty by HDB, so cannot touch.Overlaying tiles are ex, my friend told me hers costs 2k for 1 toilet... therefore we decided to keep it as stock. All other tiles can be hacked. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 hi cjmy new place is at teban garden layout something like yours but slightly bigger 72sq.M n only will be ready 2nd quarter of this year, Hope to see more pictures of your renovations. It is going to be very busy for you n dont forget to start shopping lol.72 sqm is good! Hopefully the kitchen will be bigger than ours. I think I know which one you are talking about...the SERs one right? Yes we shopped A LOT and I will share our experience soon. We literally ran around the whole of Singapore for that one. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 May i know how much u engage yr FSM to look at whole house.Hi Jas28,Dropped you a PM. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bestman33 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 72 sqm is good! Hopefully the kitchen will be bigger than ours. I think I know which one you are talking about...the SERs one right? Yes we shopped A LOT and I will share our experience soon. We literally ran around the whole of Singapore for that one.u are right the sers and kitchen also very small just that now the common toilet they have separate wc and bathing and by the way whose is your id. Nowadays most id they really cut your throat just have to be very careful. I find that if you know what u want a contractor will be cheaper. U got a very good location and whenever I go vivo I can see your flat and it is so beautiful. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2012 u are right the sers and kitchen also very small just that now the common toilet they have separate wc and bathing and by the way whose is your id. Nowadays most id they really cut your throat just have to be very careful. I find that if you know what u want a contractor will be cheaper. U got a very good location and whenever I go vivo I can see your flat and it is so beautiful.Our ID is Andrew from Designer Guy, recommended by one of the renotalker here. He is half-contractor half-ID, coz he has lots of experience (hands-on since he started out as a tiler) and also give good design ideas. Agree that find ID must be careful, there are those who are only "remote control", just call the sub-contractors from their office and never go down to the actual site. If that's the case, how will they know the progress and whether any problems arise? So if you haven't found yours yet, take your time. Find someone who can "click" with you is most important.we also often admire your flats from afar, when going down JT Hall road. Haha. Very outstanding! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 14, 2012 Haha...maybe same tiler hor? Actually I also dunno his name too.you ask Andrew loh.... if its the same, then Andrew would say so. most of those i recommend, he would use this tiler cos he is really good. need to have same standard as mine cos most of you would come to see my place mah. hehehehe.... Our ID is Andrew from Designer Guy, recommended by one of the renotalker here. He is half-contractor half-ID, coz he has lots of experience (hands-on since he started out as a tiler) and also give good design ideas. Agree that find ID must be careful, there are those who are only "remote control", just call the sub-contractors from their office and never go down to the actual site. If that's the case, how will they know the progress and whether any problems arise? So if you haven't found yours yet, take your time. Find someone who can "click" with you is most important.Your initial comment about him is good leh. hahahahaha... i am sure if he knows, he would be happy about it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 14, 2012 you ask Andrew loh.... if its the same, then Andrew would say so. most of those i recommend, he would use this tiler cos he is really good. need to have same standard as mine cos most of you would come to see my place mah. hehehehe.... Your initial comment about him is good leh. hahahahaha... i am sure if he knows, he would be happy about it. I ask him when I see him later this week lo.. hahaya, I agree that the tiler is good! In the midst of doing the kerb, he discovered that there would be some ponding issue after constructing the kerb so he proposed to create a drain to solve the issue. Ya, thanks to your recommendation that's why I have such a good ID Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted February 15, 2012 I ask him when I see him later this week lo.. hahaya, I agree that the tiler is good! In the midst of doing the kerb, he discovered that there would be some ponding issue after constructing the kerb so he proposed to create a drain to solve the issue. Ya, thanks to your recommendation that's why I have such a good ID I recommend but also depends on whether the chemistry between you are there. that is something i cannot control! i am happy to see people having fun doing reno cos its an experience one do not have often (maybe 2-3 times only in a lifetime) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wales 0 Report post Posted February 15, 2012 (edited) I recommend but also depends on whether the chemistry between you are there. that is something i cannot control! i am happy to see people having fun doing reno cos its an experience one do not have often (maybe 2-3 times only in a lifetime)Hi cjHope to see more photos, I have also selected a 3 room premium flat. Edited February 15, 2012 by wales Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2012 (edited) Sorry for lack of updates, been busy at work. I will try to bring the reno up to speed, as it is still ongoing. 2 days later after the tiler, the painters came! My ID thought it would be better to do a full painting before anything goes in, and then do touch up after installation of all carpentry. We chose all brownish/beige tones for the walls, painted on 1 side as a "feature" so that the rest of the room is white. We decided not to go for dark colours due to the small size of the room, and to make it seem spacious we decided to go for neutral tones.Bedroom 1 colourMBR colourCheck out our bi-fold door that was ready in 2 days! Impressed by the efficiency. Even our ID didn't know that they were delivering it that day. Almost made a mistake - they thought the bi-fold was for the kitchen till we told them it's for the toilet. Disaster averted. Living room colourAnd then it was until 3 days later before anymore action on the house...Citygas piping in! Electrician came to pull the wires out for the hood and oven, plus some other points in the living room.I route it to the full height cupboard then back to the same area. This is for safety purposes as our cooker will be near the wall and my concern is what if it gets too hot when cooking. Edited February 16, 2012 by cj07 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cj07 0 Report post Posted February 16, 2012 Hi cjHope to see more photos, I have also selected a 3 room premium flat. Welcome! Will try to post more photos (if i actually remember to take it) Where's yours? BTO too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites