battle

My Ea @ Bedok - Mid May 2012

DAY 12

Not bad. Day 12 done-up the main flat wall of both bathroom and left only those corners & top horizontal beam that need to 'kio' sui sui. Which is the ultra time consuming part and a lot of work is required to do a sui sui job. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

I would say good progress and good tilemanship :dancingqueen: :dancingqueen:

Last night, downstairs neighbor walk pass, told me that hacking work have caused some damages to his ceiling. They have already spoken to Andrew over the phone and they just want to make sure we help them patch it up.

Will share some photo when it is fully completed ; )

Hacking can caused damage to neighbour ceiling? Next to u, not downstair right? How come? Then who will be paying for that?

I know hacking the toilet will sometime have leaking n spoil downstair ceiling. Can the worker do the job without the leaking, if not who will pay as well?

Sorry for all the question.

If ceiling is already in "spall condition" and the vibration makes it drop off, does it mean ID also have to repair ceiling for neighbour? Our area has alot of spalling defects. Never do anything will also drop off one. What kind of damage huh?

For old house, (mine 26 years), common for ceiling to fall off in patches. So with all the hacking, the unit directly below eventually have some that fall off (I have not seen the damanges, but when the owner speaks to the hacker, he called ID and ID promise to patch it up for them.) According to ID, its common for old flat and its ok, when we reach the stage of doing those patching work, just drop by with some of those cement and patch for them lor. Then when painting time, just help them touch-up lor.

Actually ok lar, better to build a good neighbor relationship rather than having them complain to HDB and cause all problem.

P.S. ID shared that he even kanna before that 1 level down, 3 unit away, complain that their hacking have cause such great vibration that their tile & wall have crack lines !!! :furious: :furious: :furious:

Don't know how true, but he manage to settle it. :dribble: :dribble:

Hacking can caused damage to neighbour ceiling? Next to u, not downstair right? How come? Then who will be paying for that?

I know hacking the toilet will sometime have leaking n spoil downstair ceiling. Can the worker do the job without the leaking, if not who will pay as well?

Sorry for all the question.

Was chatting with my hacker once and he shared, after hacking the floor, water proofing all gone, hence they will make sure not to pour water on the naked concrete. Too much water, it will seep through and cause problem. That day they unload 2nd batch of sand, it started raining, what the hacker does is to make sure they laid plastic sheet on the naked concrete before putting the sand, so that minimum water gets seep through the concrete floor to downstairs ceiling. They also use huge plastic sheets to cover the sand to minimize getting the sand too wet (which will further increase the weight of the sand and also later cementing work.)

Actually I learn a lot from this reno work ; )

More to come :dribble: :dribble:

MamaO, I think I can reply part of your question nia.

At my last reno, during waterproofing of our toilets, wetness seep to our downstair neighbour's unit and short circuited their house whenever they switch on their toilet lights. :fire: They complained to HDB who told them that it cannot be help. Once our tiles are up and dried, the problem will resolve itself. If it persists, it means our tilers "bo kang hu", then our contractor has to make right the problem. Luckily, 14 yrs liao and not a peep from them regarding leaking toilets. This is our 2nd reno to the same unit. Hope no repeated incident. They are the 1st owner and everything is already 28 yrs old including their electrical wires. Praying very hard that nothing unpleasant will happen to our neighbours. Can be very frustrating one for them and us. :furious:

DAY 13, 30th May, Wed

Slow day. (due to heavy labour intensive tiles grinding work)

MBR washroom water proofing done. Waiting for it to dry (think will take 1-2 days ba).

Common washroom wall, 80% done. Saw the tiles around the pipe, pretty impressed, the tiler have cut the tiles such that the gap between the pipe is very narrow. I'm impressed.

My Toilet are not those flat flat one.

If you look at the left wall, on top, there are beam, bottom, a ledge (for don't know what reason, can't hack off as its solid block), wall from entrance also have a top beam, so tiling work got to do extra cut & grinning. :furious: :furious: :furious: !! !! !! extra extra work

20120515_s12.jpg

Edited by battle

MamaO, I think I can reply part of your question nia.

At my last reno, during waterproofing of our toilets, wetness seep to our downstair neighbour's unit and short circuited their house whenever they switch on their toilet lights. :fire: They complained to HDB who told them that it cannot be help. Once our tiles are up and dried, the problem will resolve itself. If it persists, it means our tilers "bo kang hu", then our contractor has to make right the problem. Luckily, 14 yrs liao and not a peep from them regarding leaking toilets. This is our 2nd reno to the same unit. Hope no repeated incident. They are the 1st owner and everything is already 28 yrs old including their electrical wires. Praying very hard that nothing unpleasant will happen to our neighbours. Can be very frustrating one for them and us. :furious:

Lets all pray... Yesterday did water proofing... mmm.. . . drip... .. . drip... .. . drip... .. . (XX XX, keeping my finger cross.... )

Yeah! Our sand pile is in the living room with corrugated paper over our marble floor, then ply wood, then plastic sheet. :thumbs up: Definitely don't want seepage.

Battle - You saw the lights at OSL already? Any good? Price reasonable? Andrew will be bringing us there to look see after we have settle in the serviced apt. Now, we 3 girls are operating in a hotel room while hubby stay put at my sister's place and jaga our barangs :wacko: . There got only 1 super single bed for him to sleep zz .

Yeah! Our sand pile is in the living room with corrugated paper over our marble floor, then ply wood, then plastic sheet. :thumbs up: Definitely don't want seepage.

Battle - You saw the lights at OSL already? Any good? Price reasonable? Andrew will be bringing us there to look see after we have settle in the serviced apt. Now, we 3 girls are operating in a hotel room while hubby stay put at my sister's place and jaga our barangs :wacko: . There got only 1 super single bed for him to sleep zz .

Wow nice.. ; )

Yup, actually OSL is just few block beside my office. Went there liao. The list price is good (comparable to lighting.com.sg). Not too sure how long have they started, the range is not as wide as those in Balestier or Gaylang, but to me, pretty enough. For Lighting.com.sg, they advertise that all their "OUR PLL CEILING LAMP WAS UPGRADED TO OSRAM ELECTRONIC BALLAST WHICH IS LONGER LASTING AND FLICKER FREE".

For other shop, some still using non-electronic ballast.

Operating in the hotel room ... .. . For me I will go to the cafe, have a nice cappa & scones... :dribble: :dribble: :dribble: (grrr.. grrrp...grrrrrpp.... hungry liao :dribble: :dribble: )

If sun is good, afternoon have a swim, than work beside the pool... maybe + a beer :yamseng: :yamseng: :drunk: :drunk:

Soooo shiok... LOL

We only need 2 for kitchen, 1 each for toilets, 1 for WIW and 1 for balcony. The rest will be LED lights.

They have a good range of LED lights, but those big square ones, not really bright. Best, if you really want to have a good feel of the brightness of the LEDS, bring a big box, like that 1 x 1 x 1 meter box, very difficult to see the brightness as it is too expose and open + a lot of light source.

sound like a dream reno leh..... can stay in service apartment, enjoying life while andrew is stressed with your reno to make sure everything is done properly and on time. hahahaha....

Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

DAY 13

20120515_s12.jpg

Still need to walk up to bath.

My in laws masionette is similiar to this except it is a bath tub

Edited by ahlipz

Still need to walk up to bath.

My in laws masionette is similiar to this except it is a bath tub

this one also consider bath tub ba. Its sitting type bath tub, & its nice to build a step to go up & in. user friendly :sport-smiley-004:

Ya, some of these EM have big bathroom, can put nice nice bath tub.

this one also consider bath tub ba. Its sitting type bath tub, & its nice to build a step to go up & in. user friendly :sport-smiley-004:

Ya, some of these EM have big bathroom, can put nice nice bath tub.

hahaha.. def. not mine! small dao i don't know how to plan for layout..

Edited by thedottyness

hahaha.. def. not mine! small dao i don't know how to plan for layout..

These type.... ; p Hack away the wall of bathroom...

Glass-Bathtub-00024331547.jpg

see-through-bathtub-1.jpg

bathtub-in-shape-of-shoe-1.jpg

comfortable-bathtub-and-lounge-chair-combination-1-533x341.jpg

or HERE; p :dribble: :dribble: :dribble: :dribble: