May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 Confirm LIAO. This pillar cannot be hacked. So will have to crack the creative brain Juice to see how to make this part nice nice liao :help:last time i have this idea where i will make a round pillar with spiral area where i can put some small pots of plants..... you can do that then put other stuff other than plants. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 Minor updates to my floor plan. (lost count of the version liao Wow, you are going to put the washing machine in the bathroom? Looks like a good idea, but will it be very cramp? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 As your reno is not a major one, I'm sure whatever obstacle that comes your way, it can be solved.It just might not be what you wanted initially. Hope things will proceed smoothly henceforth. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 (edited) last time i have this idea where i will make a round pillar with spiral area where i can put some small pots of plants..... you can do that then put other stuff other than plants.Should be nice ley, how come end up didn't do ?For me, think I'll be keeping its shape. But since its between Kitchen & Living area, will be doing some form of feature area over there. Will need to re-search more & find pix, think still have 2 days to firm up. :wacko: Wow, you are going to put the washing machine in the bathroom? Looks like a good idea, but will it be very cramp?Base on measurement on actual ground, it looks good. The bathroom is consider long enough (the length should be about 2.6m).But the basin can only get those max 600mm X 450mm type, bigger cannot liao, will clash with the WC. A little of a mental block for my wife in the beginning as people are used to see shower area at the most inner. For this, it will be in the middle.As your reno is not a major one, I'm sure whatever obstacle that comes your way, it can be solved.It just might not be what you wanted initially. Hope things will proceed smoothly henceforth. Actually it is our back-up plan. Just that now, it is a bigger scale back-up plan !!!... so means need to spend more $$$$. Not really technical hurdle, $$$ can solve. So for Andrew, think he might need to go HDB to re-do or change the reno permit. will need to extend the number of days of hacking ba. We will be going down for final inspection tomorrow morning to see the actual damages before deciding how massive we need to re-do. :ph34r: :wacko: Edited May 18, 2012 by battle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 Should be nice ley, how come end up didn't do ?For me, think I'll be keeping its shape. But since its between Kitchen & Living area, will be doing some form of feature area over there. Will need to re-search more & find pix, think still have 2 days to firm up. :wacko: Actually it is our back-up plan. Just that now, it is a bigger scale back-up plan !!!... so means need to spend more $$$$. Not really technical hurdle, $$$ can solve. So for Andrew, think he might need to go HDB to re-do or change the reno permit. will need to extend the number of days of hacking ba. We will be going down for final inspection tomorrow morning to see the actual damages before deciding how massive we need to re-do. :ph34r: :wacko:cos there are no pillars anyway in my place... hahahah..... so no need loh.. if got pillar then i will do that lah. hahaha..... i will see andrew tonight. see what he have in mind... let me help you think with him then tmr you can think together with him again. hahaha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 Ai ya, no pillar create 1 lor. Lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 18, 2012 Ai ya, no pillar create 1 lor. LolCannot lah, too small space to create 1 pillar. Hehe... My ideal place is much bigger. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 Cannot lah, too small space to create 1 pillar. Hehe... My ideal place is much bigger.WoW... 5 years later upgrade to either EM or EA lar. ; p than will be nice nice + big big + sui sui :dancingqueen: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 (edited) DAY 3, 18th May, FriPrimary hacking done. Placed cleared. Sand, Cement, Tiles etc. All in liao. Think should be able to view from this pix. I've done a horizontal line as a guide.You can see that the tiles have bloated up. Like a turtle back. Hollow at base cement layer.It happens over night. End of day 2, 0000hrs, its still flat (or maybe my wife and myself didn't notice). But the experienced hacker head called ID/contractor 7 early 8 early on this.Wonder if I should consider myself lucky or unlucky ? :huh: Lucky - it happens during reno period. NOT after we move in. If it happens 1 month, or 1 year later, nightmare :wacko: Unlucky - No choice but have to hack. :~ Means budget up up up. Edited June 18, 2012 by battle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 (edited) DAY 4, 19th May, SatMeeting ID/contractor to inspect entire house original tiles...Saw a 师夫 doing cement work... Skillful, chop chop, 1 bathroom wall done... IMPRESS... :P ID/contractor arrived, started using the tool (the metal ball with handle).... knock knock, slide slide, tick tick tick tick tack tack tack tack tack tack....... :jawdrop: :jawdrop: Utility room.... tack tack tack tack ... ...MBR ... tack tack tack tack tack ... Bedroom 2 ... .. . tack tack tack tack... Bedroom 1 ... .. . tick tick tick Living room (1/2 covered by sand, can only check some parts) tick tack tack tack tick tack tack...Most of the place hollow :bangwall: Hollow at base cement layer. :bangwall: :dunno: :~ For both safety and peace of mind, no choice, entire house flooring will have to go :~ :deal: $$$$ fly ... ... ...Original back-up plan with my wife was : If after reno, flooring really looks bad, the most overlay with either Laminate or Vinyl. (but now it means 2 additional cost component - Hacking + Cement screed ) Bo-bian... No choice. got to :paint: $$$$ liao Edited June 18, 2012 by battle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
thedottyness 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 DAY 4Meeting ID/contractor to inspect entire house original tiles...Saw a 师夫 doing cement work... Skillful, chop chop, 1 bathroom wall done... IMPRESS... :P ID/contractor arrived, started using the tool (the metal ball with handle).... knock knock, slide slide, tick tick tick tick tack tack tack tack tack tack....... :jawdrop: :jawdrop: Utility room.... tack tack tack tack ... ...MBR ... tack tack tack tack tack ... Bedroom 2 ... .. . tack tack tack tack... Bedroom 1 ... .. . tick tick tick Living room (1/2 covered by sand, can only check some parts) tick tack tack tack tick tack tack...Most of the place hollow :bangwall: Hollow at base cement layer. :bangwall: :dunno: :~ For both safety and peace of mind, no choice, entire house flooring will have to go :~ :deal: $$$$ fly ... ... ...Original back-up plan with my wife was : If after reno, flooring really looks bad, the most overlay with either Laminate or Vinyl. (but now it means 2 additional cost component - Hacking + Cement screed ) Bo-bian... No choice. got to :paint: $$$$ liaothis is very common in this neighbourhood...a lot of houses kena pop up.. so re-doing is the best way to go. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 THAT is MAJOR . Original tiles are ceramic, I suppose. The discovery is actually a blessing in disguise. $$$ eventually had to be spent on the floor of that condition anyway, just much earlier than you expected . At least after reno, you can sleep peacefully instead of having a time-bomb under your feet.Get all your children to give Andrew the "cutie, fawn-eyed looks" so that he will quote you lower price for the additions. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nivle 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 Ay, hopefully NOT. Think he is good at solving such challenging problems ; p (BTW, this morning another problem arise !!! AND it is a BIG headache problem. Will share more when I take pix :jawdrop: )Oh. You mean current or future ? ; p Future, 4 of them + helper will be sleeping in BR 2, BR1 for MIL, MBR for me & wife lar wow.. 4 kids 1 room?Are they very young?I also got 4 kids... bought an EA, now pending reno....already headache about having 4 or 5 BEDROOMS..Plan A-MBR for me and wife1st bedroom-eldest daughter(14)2nd bedroom-2nd daughter(12) and 3rd daughter(10) share3rd bedroom-son(5)Plan B-MBR-Myself an wife and each child have their own roomd Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 Your blog very nice to read... Have sound effect! Sorry to hear abt all the extra work needed to do. It's better to do it now, I guess. Keep us updated! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2012 this is very common in this neighbourhood...a lot of houses kena pop up.. so re-doing is the best way to go.Oh! Okie. Will redo. Feeling paisay as neighbor will have to endure few more days of hacking.THAT is MAJOR . Original tiles are ceramic, I suppose. The discovery is actually a blessing in disguise. $$$ eventually had to be spent on the floor of that condition anyway, just much earlier than you expected . At least after reno, you can sleep peacefully instead of having a time-bomb under your feet.Get all your children to give Andrew the "cutie, fawn-eyed looks" so that he will quote you lower price for the additions. He's understanding and is already helping in keeping the Reno cost down. Will work things out. Lucky we have keep things simple. Else really big headache. wow.. 4 kids 1 room?Are they very young?I also got 4 kids... bought an EA, now pending reno....already headache about having 4 or 5 BEDROOMS..Plan A-MBR for me and wife1st bedroom-eldest daughter(14)2nd bedroom-2nd daughter(12) and 3rd daughter(10) share3rd bedroom-son(5)Plan B-MBR-Myself an wife and each child have their own roomdOh, my kids still young lar, 9,8,6,2. G,B,G,G. Have been sharing with them since they are younger that not possible to have their own room. Don't think can find 5 bedroom HDB ba... So far they understand lor. Next time they grow older than say Liao lor. Bo Bian one ; pYour blog very nice to read... Have sound effect! Sorry to hear abt all the extra work needed to do. It's better to do it now, I guess. Keep us updated!lol ... Will share as it goes. So far have been there every morning and night. Morning to see what they going to do for the day and night to take pix to update and blog the progress ; ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites