battle 0 Report post Posted April 25, 2012 I think he is concentrating on us now and try to finalise things before he gets tied up with your reno. Do you need to hack anything? HDB approval for hacking is a bit slow. They have approved the tiling works (1 wk) but not the hacking yet.I'm a bit slow, tonight than going to get my Seller to sign the indemnity form. Will scan and send him tonight, so that tomorrow he can give to his staff to send to HDB for application.Yes, I'm hacking the Kitchen wall. Almost 1/2 of the wall will all go. Hopefully approval goes smooth so that he can start hacking on 16th May. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2012 With just 1 wall, should be no problem getting a fast approval. For us, we are concerned hacking of the MBR/storerm wall and repositioning of the MBR and common toilet door may pose a problem. Hacking of storerm/bedrm wall and 2 kitchen walls should be ok. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2012 With just 1 wall, should be no problem getting a fast approval. For us, we are concerned hacking of the MBR/storerm wall and repositioning of the MBR and common toilet door may pose a problem. Hacking of storerm/bedrm wall and 2 kitchen walls should be ok.Hope so lor... Anyway, I have already send in my signed form to them. Wonder if HDB will update the contractor on the approval or buyer ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted April 27, 2012 Hope so lor... Anyway, I have already send in my signed form to them. Wonder if HDB will update the contractor on the approval or buyer ?HDB will inform the seller as the flat still belongs to the seller. it was my seller that told me about HDB approval Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2012 The original hardcopy will be sent to the house owner. ID contractor can check via HDB e-service which is faster. Andrew gave me a copy of the approval he churned out via e-service. I have yet to receive the original from HDB. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2012 The original hardcopy will be sent to the house owner. ID contractor can check via HDB e-service which is faster. Andrew gave me a copy of the approval he churned out via e-service. I have yet to receive the original from HDB.Yes, contractor can print online. Normally they get the HDB approval/permit earlier than us. When I received the letter, I asked my contractor what should I do with it. He told me don't need to do anything, just for my reference only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2012 Thanks for all your reply.I was notified by both my seller & ID that HDB have request for more detail drawing for my application.HDB DAM funny one. We use their original floor plan, they ask for more detail (like those beams on ceiling !!!). :bangwall: Shouldn't HDB be more aware of what is in the UNIT rather than ID/Contractor etc ? Anyway, hopefully they can approve after submitting the drawing with beams included in the drawing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 7, 2012 Thanks for all your reply.I was notified by both my seller & ID that HDB have request for more detail drawing for my application.HDB DAM funny one. We use their original floor plan, they ask for more detail (like those beams on ceiling !!!). :bangwall: Shouldn't HDB be more aware of what is in the UNIT rather than ID/Contractor etc ? Anyway, hopefully they can approve after submitting the drawing with beams included in the drawing.beams?? different area HDB officer are different. they have their own way of doing things and approving. really don't know what they want sometimes. haiz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2012 (edited) How will your ID or yourself know which is the beam and pillar? What if something goes wrong, HDB point fingers at you or your ID say give wrong information, then what do you intend to do? I thought this type of thing better don't commit ownself, if really something goes wrong, HDB put all the blames to homeowners, then will be in trouble. HDB should come down and verify which is the beam or pillar or update their floor plans. Edited May 7, 2012 by ayazumi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2012 beams?? different area HDB officer are different. they have their own way of doing things and approving. really don't know what they want sometimes. haiz... Yup, those beams on the roof, that you build a false ceiling to cover up. They expect Andrew to include those in the drawing since I'm hacking walls with such beams.How will your ID or yourself know which is the beam and pillar? What if something goes wrong, HDB point fingers at you or your ID say give wrong information, then what do you intend to do? I thought this type of thing better don't commit ownself, if really something goes wrong, HDB put all the blames to homeowners, then will be in trouble. HDB should come down and verify which is the beam or pillar or update their floor plans.Will let the ID/Contractor solve it. Cause if HDB officially issue the approval and something goes wrong, we have a case to fight. They can't blame anyone since they officially approved it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2012 Instead of just submitting hand drawn layout with explanation (in case HDB architect dun understanding), how about including actual photos of beams, pillars, columns etc to substantiate what you want to hack? If yours have RC beam, can only "hack from underside of RC beam" (this is the key sentence). Cannot just state "hack wall"I think HDB just wants to make sure contractors know exactly what they are doing by making them explain 2-3 times before approval. The problem lies with the HDB architect and not so much of the HDB officer. Our HDB officer taught us what key sentences to use to get approval but still kena rejected by architect. Still waiting for approval of just 1 wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2012 Instead of just submitting hand drawn layout with explanation (in case HDB architect dun understanding), how about including actual photos of beams, pillars, columns etc to substantiate what you want to hack? If yours have RC beam, can only "hack from underside of RC beam" (this is the key sentence). Cannot just state "hack wall"I think HDB just wants to make sure contractors know exactly what they are doing by making them explain 2-3 times before approval. The problem lies with the HDB architect and not so much of the HDB officer. Our HDB officer taught us what key sentences to use to get approval but still kena rejected by architect. Still waiting for approval of just 1 wall.Thanks, will be meeting with Andrew tomorrow for tiles selection and other details on the reno. Will also check with him on the status of the reno. I do suspect its the wording that causes the rejection.Counting down. 1 more week to go to collect KEYs... :dribble: :drunk: Seller moving out this Sat, so will be waiting for his SMS to arrange for an inspection and taking over some of his furniture. (They are really super good condition, his dining table looks new.) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2012 Pretty fruitful meeting yesterday.Done Tiles Selection for Both Toilet (although have yet to finalized if we are going to re-do the Common Toilet)On the pix, the base is the Floor tiles, dark color (but not too dark). Initially we have chosen black, but Andrew shared that it will stain with white particles easily etc etc... mmmm True, also tested that it is ultra slippery when WET... (scary) [Thanks Andrew for his advice] Left side is consider featured tiles, with horizontal texture.Right side is cream color, light, this will be the primary wall tiles.If doing Common Bathroom, will also use these 3 tiles, but will change lay-out to make the 'look and feel' different.Done Have confirm the measurement of all the Kitchen Cabinets.Have also confirm the cabinets configuration. (Door + Drawer)Next :dribble: Shopping time.= Everything in the toilet- WC- Wide and Large Sink :dribble: (with cabinet)- Faucet (water fall type... )- Instant Heater (comes with rain shower)- Mirror (TALL TALL ONE.... :drunk: so that I can shave standing straight.. :P )- small tap for WC- Toilet Paper holder (DIY)- etc...= Kitchen- Sink (think about 900mm width type, still considering between under or top mount)- Mixer (so call, but only cold water)- Mini tap for Water Filter- Hob (Rinnai RB-3CG)- Wall Mount Oven (Have yet to research which is CHEAP and GOOD :P )= Lightings- Will have to review what to change and which to change (seems like everything left by Seller is good condition, will see if it fit nicely or maybe change some of them- 'Bar' Counter Light- Dinning Table Light= Electronic appliances- TV- Coffee Maker- Wine Fridge- Dry box (for camera & stuff)- Bar Fridge (maybe)- ... (the list goes on.... slowly ba) ; p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted May 10, 2012 I like that textured one..... very resort feel.... I think Andrew learnt some stuff from me too. I was the one that told him i wanted to test the tiles with water. Then he was looking for water for me to pour on the tiles as he never done this before. I guess after that, he always recommend his customers to do test that way. hahahahaha..... are you doing kitchen flooring as well? if you are, please remember to take the sample tiles and go home, pour some stuff on it like soya sauce, oil, ribena, red wine etc etc on the tiles. leave it for a day or two then try to wipe of with cloth. see whether the tiles will have stained or easy to clean off. if its easy to wipe off with cloth, then next time when you mop, will be easy. if its very difficult, then most probably in future, you need to scrub and scrub the tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
battle 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2012 I like that textured one..... very resort feel.... I think Andrew learnt some stuff from me too. I was the one that told him i wanted to test the tiles with water. Then he was looking for water for me to pour on the tiles as he never done this before. I guess after that, he always recommend his customers to do test that way. hahahahaha..... are you doing kitchen flooring as well? if you are, please remember to take the sample tiles and go home, pour some stuff on it like soya sauce, oil, ribena, red wine etc etc on the tiles. leave it for a day or two then try to wipe of with cloth. see whether the tiles will have stained or easy to clean off. if its easy to wipe off with cloth, then next time when you mop, will be easy. if its very difficult, then most probably in future, you need to scrub and scrub the tiles.Yup. It is really very helpful to test on the spot. Very very efficient, at least we know which is slippery and which is not on the spot. (Oh BTW, I did took the sample home for reference and testing :D )Very funny yesterday, when he arrive at SBH, the staff actually pre-warn him not to remove the tiles (cause after his viewing, many tiles got mess-up, they have to re-arrange accordingly). But funny thing is that for me, after seeing how the sales guy remove the tiles, I also go take out those I like one, go put along for comparison. (like the pix I shared).1 tiles from the shelf behind, 1 in front, 1 on the velcro wall ; p (think I'm the only 1 DIY, just take the tiles without asking from the SALES personnel) :P As for the rest (kitchen, living room, bedroom0, I won't be doing, the existing tiles (ceramic) are in very good condition, no chip or crack line etc. Only some part will be replace by (white tiles as near to original as possible) due to hacking of walls. (if in future, really condition turns bad, will just overlay with laminate. now a days, the laminates feel very very nice. I pretty like them). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites