Hoo8899

New Home Journey

Saw from courts, Samsung D40 5500 series is going for $649, but display set for about 10 months already, worth buying?

display set or not, standard warranty still applies. i bought my 50" plasma for 999. every courts/denki/gaincity...etc outlet has a display set or two around...you just need to ask. some salesman might tell you, some will not bother. so go find a nice helpful chap before u ask. you can even try to bargain down another 10%.

True as what I feel, it's like buying a 3-4 years old used TV. But one thing to remember, if the TV spoilt within 3 years, you got a free replacement ma. Again, who knows when you buy a new TV, they deliver a display set?

usually display set, warranty is 6 months or 1 year only. not as long as new tv loh. Can know lah, when they open the box to take the tv out to install for you, you can check the box... if its original seal, then its new lah. if its been resealed then it might not be new tv loh. new tv usually no dust or finger prints, but display set, you can see its dusty cos i am sure those ppl take down from display set will not clean it throughly. especially those holes where you can see inside the electronic parts.... those parts where dust can get in but cannot be cleaned.

True as what I feel, it's like buying a 3-4 years old used TV. But one thing to remember, if the TV spoilt within 3 years, you got a free replacement ma. Again, who knows when you buy a new TV, they deliver a display set?

har? when they delivered a used set u mean impossible to know ar? bro, if that's the case nobody will buy new one leh.

anyway like what others says, if its TV on display at those big stores then its been on for many many hours, unless it's IT show then its worth buying.

i believe for the D5500 series u mentioned its going for $649? i think brand new the price difference shldnt be alot as they are clearing sets already for their new generation TVs. can check out megastore, other dealers to see and compare prices. sometimes courts is on the higher side.

cheers.

Ok, let's clarify. I checked and was told 3 years warranty.

hwaa, at least when you buy a display set and put it in your home, no one knows it is a display set, just the reverse side. Price wise the lowest I guess is $899 at IT show, $850 at HN, and the same price $850 from Mega plus free delivery. $200 is small amount, 23% is big discount le.

Anyway, have made up my mind, wait for the coming show in June.

anyway its up to yr comfort lvl cos u'll be the one using it. u can try grab the display sets during the coming show, but must go early cos display usually within hours of opening all gone.

btw bro, for yr hobz hood u took chimney or slim?

anyway its up to yr comfort lvl cos u'll be the one using it. u can try grab the display sets during the coming show, but must go early cos display usually within hours of opening all gone.

btw bro, for yr hobz hood u took chimney or slim?

Chimney ah, HH6310 if not mistaken, we are going for open concept

my chimney hood got abit of hiccups eh. arrived yday.. when full stretch still got abit 3-4 fingers gap to the top. now they are suggesting whether to up a shelf to make up the gap or ask whether can get another extension for the chimney anot.. sianz.

but hear the carpenter says the length shld be standard one. dunno if u will encounter this problem.. jus some heads up.. and the glass panel got a chip, will ask for a replacement..

adjusted. max till the top still got 3 fingers gap. funny leh.. if put shelf on top sure dont look nice.

got to request another extension to stretch it longer. usually chimney comes with 2 pcs extendable, mine full stretched liao..

chimney backing is just the carpentry with lamnates, flushed with my kitchen cabinets..

I warn you first, my kitchen is very super duper tiny, the so-called open concept is just to place the chimney hood outside and not really hack the walls of the kitchen hor. Moreover we purposely instal a slidding door at kitchen to prevent the oilly smells spread to the living.

Wah piang!! None of you guys instal iron gate meh?? I read about bad comment on CNS, about Panggiap... so think better to get from the pasar malam LOL.