Sze Hui

New House, New Life, New Hope

Seeing the near completion of my house, i start to feel relief. There again, my mum says that to pay $34k for kitchen, bathrooms and carprentry is too ex. No plastering of wall, no hacking of living and bedroom floor tiles. Price excludes window, aircon and living/bedroom floor. U guys think its ex?

Depends on your carpentry. If a lot of feet, sure ex lah. So cannot compared like that lah.

Nice laminate flooring. Kitchen carpentry is the normally most expensive depending on requirements..... Type of wood/material, ladder unit, soft touch mechanism, type of table top, island table....etc.

Bathroom reno can also be ex too. I have a friend who do up his kitchen and 2 bathrooms condo already cost 80k .... That is almost twice of what I did for my EM ....

Nice laminate flooring. Kitchen carpentry is the normally most expensive depending on requirements..... Type of wood/material, ladder unit, soft touch mechanism, type of table top, island table....etc.

Bathroom reno can also be ex too. I have a friend who do up his kitchen and 2 bathrooms condo already cost 80k .... That is almost twice of what I did for my EM ....

wah...ur EM only do 40K ah...tats very cheap leh.... I think mine is actually quite simple. Table top i also source additionally. Sigh...though i know my contractor provides good after service lar...so better pay more than less for problems rite? But i'm always green with envy when i read the blogs of the others where they pay little, did alot n good job done.

Depends on your carpentry. If a lot of feet, sure ex lah. So cannot compared like that lah.

i actually reduce alot on carpentry already. Only do casement door wardrobe for my room and my mum's room. Done a study table, tv console and tall cabinet for the entertainment room. Really regretted doing so many customization. Should have buy everything from Ikea instead other than kitchen. At least next time anything spoil, no need to hack away and patch up. Just remove n buy new ones... haha

Edited by SzeHui

Sze Hui sis, no need to regret la, since already done. Think of the positive of customization. They maximize the space as you are doing it the way u want unlike off the rack usually difficult to find something with exact right size and design. And customisation surely more durable vs ikea and probably cheaper vs those very good and durable material from off the rack

Looking forward for more updates from you !!

i actually reduce alot on carpentry already. Only do casement door wardrobe for my room and my mum's room. Done a study table, tv console and tall cabinet for the entertainment room. Really regretted doing so many customization. Should have buy everything from Ikea instead other than kitchen. At least next time anything spoil, no need to hack away and patch up. Just remove n buy new ones... haha

Built in and customisation are definitely longer lasting... and less problem too. if you look at friends78 tblog, she bought a wardrobe from vhive and it grow mold within few months. now, she have to customised another wardrobe... so isn't that a waste of money and time?

imagine if you buy from ikea and it was spoilt within months, then you buy again and again and again?? :jawdrop:

As long as you are happy living there, don't be envious lah... hehehehe.. i am sure it will all looks wonderful!

thank you for u guys encouragement....really give me a strength injection. :sport-smiley-003: So far already spend 51.5k....heart pain...heart pain...Govt should b very grateful that we r spurring the economy. haha

No worries, there will be more for you to spend on... hahaahah.... :yamseng:

Oh...Jurong is a nice place...Singapore is small...u can always come back for the soccer game. :thumbs up:

yeah most prob. still have my weekly session kick-outs in Jurong... Anyway dun regret on spending on reno. end of day, if you're happy with what you get that should be the most impt. so no regrets abt it!

Aircon is finally up. Did a rough inspection yesterday while delivery my Ikea drawers to new house for fitting into the kitchen cabinets.

My friend noticed that the false ceiling is not properly done. False ceiling itself is not crooked, but its actually the inside where its of different depth which will cast different length of shadow. Think this will have an impact once the coffer lights are installed.

img0998f.jpg

My contractor was saying that becos' the walls are not straight. They are using water level and laser to make sure its straight. But to me, it shouldn't have an impact since its not the ceiling that is not level, but its the vertical inside which is not level. Dunno whether u guys understand what i'm trying to mean or not. He will see it tomorrow and see any rectification can be done or not.

Entertainment room / Study room

img1010hw.jpg

Kohler shower mixer up @ common bathroom

img1005ms.jpg

Master B/R bathroom

img1008vo.jpg

Master bedroom. Found this wall abit too dull. Colour is slightly dark and becos my wall is rather patchy, the dark colour makes it even more obvious. Wanna ask my contractor to change. Dunno whether he willing or not.

img1009q.jpg

Master bedroom. Found this wall abit too dull. Colour is slightly dark and becos my wall is rather patchy, the dark colour makes it even more obvious. Wanna ask my contractor to change. Dunno whether he willing or not.

img1009q.jpg

did you do plastering?? the wall really looks so uneven

Nope. Tats y lor...my contractor said not that bad condition no need to do plastering. Also, plastering quite costly. I guess he also wanna save $$ for me bah...