getzski

Single's Home In Bedok Res

why not go buy acrylic silicon and apply all around the gap on walls and electrical trunking?

soon i'll do that. but yah, how to differentiate?

Arcylic silicon looks like this (look at the basin silicon):

20120405_184148.jpg

Arcylic silicon is very ugly. All the water, dirt, and other particles if stuck on the transparent silicon, you can see very clearly. I would rather use white silicon.

Edited by ayazumi

Arcylic silicon looks like this (look at the basin silicon):

20120405_184148.jpg

Arcylic silicon is very ugly. All the water, dirt, and other particles if stuck on the transparent silicon, you can see very clearly. I would rather use white silicon.

I just applied Acrylic Silicon to all the gaps around my electrical trunking in my whole house, it is white in color. My friend (ID) bought from contractor hardware shop at $2 per tube. This is water-based silicon, not oil-based clear silicon; even aircon installer use it to fill the gaps around aircon trunking.

Think i better share some knowledge before some cow-aunty starts to shoot wrong info.

Acrylic silicone - Dispersive, water-thinnable acrylic tightening mass, which provides plastic-flexible easy to paint welds after hardening. Resistant to weather conditions, to be used both outdoors and indoors. Very adhesive to most materials.

http://www.polyseamseal.com/acrylic.shtml

soon i'll do that. but yah, how to differentiate?

Just go to hardware shop, ask them for water-based Acrylic Silicon, just tell them you want to use it to fill the gap around electrical/aircon trunking.

Buy with the applicator, ask the shop to show you how to install and remove the tube from the applicator.

oh yes, how to maintain the cleanliness and gim gim of the faucets and glass screen har?

magic sponge and newspaper

don't use too much of the magic sponge on your faucets.... melamine have abrasive effects so it will slowly scratch your faucets. i use magic sponge to clean my WMF pots and can see some scratches already. so if you use that too much, then slowly the layer of shininess on your faucets can see many many fine lines of scratches.

I just applied Acrylic Silicon to all the gaps around my electrical trunking in my whole house, it is white in color. My friend (ID) bought from contractor hardware shop at $2 per tube. This is water-based silicon, not oil-based clear silicon; even aircon installer use it to fill the gaps around aircon trunking.

what's the diff between water and oil based?

Water-based after dry is hard; oil-based after dry is elastic.

Some buildings exterior wall were using granite tiles or glass panel, the gout in between the tiles are elastic when you press them. Due to hot weather the materials expand and cool weather the materials contract, hard gout will crack in the long run, elastic gout wont. When our neighboring country suffered an earthquake and tremor can be felt in some building along our shore line, elastic gout can absorb minor vibration.

May_dream says it will corrode leh

ok la....can update with a new design 2 years later.

first time goondoh pay high prices in SG, now i know where to get good looking ones from CN....lol (dunno about the quality though)

Water-based after dry is hard; oil-based after dry is elastic.

Some buildings exterior wall were using granite tiles or glass panel, the gout in between the tiles are elastic when you press them. Due to hot weather the materials expand and cool weather the materials contract, hard gout will crack in the long run, elastic gout wont. When our neighboring country suffered an earthquake and tremor can be felt in some building along our shore line, elastic gout can absorb minor vibration.

so i should get those oil based one lah

ok la....can update with a new design 2 years later.

first time goondoh pay high prices in SG, now i know where to get good looking ones from CN....lol (dunno about the quality though)

you mean the wholesalefaucet ones? i regretted not getting from them. i saw some in this forum who got from them and quality seems to be fine.

Change design hor...also must pay plumber mah.

so i should get those oil based one lah

DONT! Oil-based takes a long time to dry, when not dry can be messy. It only use for building exterior, usually not for home use.