May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 Julia, Mark's partner have given me the quote.First trip - 350Second trip onwards - 200Piano another 120So assuming 3 trips needed, it will be 350 + 200 + 200 + 120 = 870. Plus another separate trip to pick up the super single bed, say, 50 to 80 will be 920 to 950. Also same as my other quotes liao... Haiz... Looks like can't run away from these figures. I'm tempted to rent a kangoo to transport the carton boxes myself and let the mover move the big items in just 1 trip.why would you need 3 trips? how much things to do you have? i have 65 boxes, 1 king bed with mattress, 2 single beds with mattresses, sofa, 2 book shelves, 1 writing table and 4 dining chairs. and another separate trip to my relative house to pick up 2 king mattresses. all these in 2 trips. So, should be 350 + 200 + 120 + 80 = 750 only! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 why would you need 3 trips? how much things to do you have? i have 65 boxes, 1 king bed with mattress, 2 single beds with mattresses, sofa, 2 book shelves, 1 writing table and 4 dining chairs. and another separate trip to my relative house to pick up 2 king mattresses. all these in 2 trips. So, should be 350 + 200 + 120 + 80 = 750 only!My mum's plants is a killer! those stuff cannot be stacked.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 My mum's plants is a killer! those stuff cannot be stacked....you will be surprised! they will know how to stack things properly! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muska1119 1 Report post Posted March 23, 2012 You chosen your paint colour oredi? Which shade of white is good for wall? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 23, 2012 (edited) No.... I didn't choose white.... I chose 1107 for living, 1109 for dining and walkway, 3146 for mbr and study, 3131 for br3 and svc balcony and 3163 for br2. All Nippon medifresh for the rooms and easy wash for living/dining. Ceiling is default white.... Not sure if what I have chosen is right but I tried my best to match by using the online nippon colour matching tool. Upload the 3D image there and color the walls with different colours to mix and match. Edited March 23, 2012 by beluga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Akitsuki 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 My mum's plants is a killer! those stuff cannot be stacked....get ur friend who has a van, lorry or car to help u move some smaller things over? pay for petrol +car wash + treat lunch better than adding 1 more trip.. i dont think i'm even gonna hire movers to help.. gonna move my stuffs bit my bit by using trolley or watever from my wife's parent's house to my new home(3 blks away) and ask my friend to help send my TV and other bulky stuffs from my place in his company van also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 get ur friend who has a van, lorry or car to help u move some smaller things over? pay for petrol +car wash + treat lunch better than adding 1 more trip.. i dont think i'm even gonna hire movers to help.. gonna move my stuffs bit my bit by using trolley or watever from my wife's parent's house to my new home(3 blks away) and ask my friend to help send my TV and other bulky stuffs from my place in his company van also.Yup... Decided to engage may dream's mover coz they are flexible. I will keep it to 2 trips only. The rest light and delicate stuff I will transport it myself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLChing 0 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 May_Dream1 seems to have alot of good lobang leh After reading your blog on movers, think I'll also use Mark. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 May_Dream1 seems to have alot of good lobang leh After reading your blog on movers, think I'll also use Mark.I found an even cheaper mover today. Someone sapu almost all our furniture for cheap price and their mover came to our place to move all the stuff. I observed how they and looks like their are very careful with their work. So at the same time, I asked how much to move our stuff. They quoted 700, which is 40 cheaper than maydream's mover. I will still most probably stick to maydream's mover as they this mover only have 2 movers. Lets see how.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 (edited) It's end of week 2 now. went up to see what's the progress as I have not gone over for 2 days.All the holes on the walls, ceilings are all patched and remnants of the old trunkings are all removed.They are in the midst of painting now. The painter said will be done by tuesday.Here are the photos:Can't really see the actual colours from the pictures though. The actual colour is warmer. Ummm.... Not as nice as I expected. Really regret didn't plaster at least the wall. Some part of wall's uneveness and roughness is really obvious after painting.... Below is the color code: Edited March 24, 2012 by beluga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 (edited) The electrical DB box is up.... Pleasantly surprise that they are using branded Hager. Hopefully all the rest of the switches use Hager too... Edited March 24, 2012 by beluga Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muska1119 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 Wow your place is very 'livable' already.. All clean up.Where do you put the db box? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 Wow your place is very 'livable' already.. All clean up.Where do you put the db box?Inside the shoe cabinet that is facing the main door. It was originally inside the storeroom.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 May_Dream1 seems to have alot of good lobang leh After reading your blog on movers, think I'll also use Mark.Where got a lot of lobang? Just contractor and mover. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muska1119 1 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 So u decided to top up for the paint? How much was it? No.... I didn't choose white.... I chose 1107 for living, 1109 for dining and walkway, 3146 for mbr and study, 3131 for br3 and svc balcony and 3163 for br2. All Nippon medifresh for the rooms and easy wash for living/dining. Ceiling is default white.... Not sure if what I have chosen is right but I tried my best to match by using the online nippon colour matching tool. Upload the 3D image there and color the walls with different colours to mix and match. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites