getzski 1 Report post Posted March 20, 2012 Now hunting for movers.A lot of barang-barang but not much big items except- a single bed/frame- a queen size bed/frame- piano- washing machine/dryerElite Mover quoted us 960! Currently sourcing for others...Calling 138 and soon seng to check out...1 20ft lorry load from helping hands is only 280. plus 25 for any non lift serving floors they have to haul the stuff. looks like your stuff can fit a 20ft easily. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 20, 2012 1 20ft lorry load from helping hands is only 280. plus 25 for any non lift serving floors they have to haul the stuff. looks like your stuff can fit a 20ft easily.Its the piano that most movers not confident abt. Just moving piano alone might cost 300. But 960 is too much. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 20, 2012 1 20ft lorry load from helping hands is only 280. plus 25 for any non lift serving floors they have to haul the stuff. looks like your stuff can fit a 20ft easily.YEa lor.... I calculate base on 280 per trip, at most 2 trips only, is 560 and Elite Mover said piano is 180?(I hear like 100+ on the phone), most should be 740. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muska1119 1 Report post Posted March 20, 2012 Now ur old place already officially own by the other party? No wonder ur Reno super rush.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 20, 2012 Now ur old place already officially own by the other party? No wonder ur Reno super rush..Yup.... Officially belong to the new owner.... If I delay another week, need to pay them 1400. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 Now hunting for movers.A lot of barang-barang but not much big items except- a single bed/frame- a queen size bed/frame- piano- washing machine/dryerElite Mover quoted us 960! Currently sourcing for others...Calling 138 and soon seng to check out...Soon seng just dropped by to give a quotation and they quoted 950! Must have notice the quotation receipt left on my table. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ayazumi 0 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 Soon seng just dropped by to give a quotation and they quoted 950! Must have notice the quotation receipt left on my table.Might as well you rent a lorry, and ask your brothers to help you move your things. Then treat them makan, will be cheaper Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
muska1119 1 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 I think the major cost is the piano, I shift my barang at $250 got 1 queen size bedframe , 2 queen mattress, 15+boxes, some chairs etc.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 I think the major cost is the piano, I shift my barang at $250 got 1 queen size bedframe , 2 queen mattress, 15+boxes, some chairs etc..like i said, moving piano is not cheap. why don't you try my mover? he charged me $450 for 2 trips.... Mark :94898609. you know my real name, right? he don't know my nick, only my real name. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 like i said, moving piano is not cheap. why don't you try my mover? he charged me $450 for 2 trips.... Mark :94898609. you know my real name, right? he don't know my nick, only my real name.Hehehe.... Kamsiah..... will call him up.... Yea, I remember your name. One of the fellow RT nick.... Anyway, what's the name of the company? No hidden cost hor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 Hehehe.... Kamsiah..... will call him up.... Yea, I remember your name. One of the fellow RT nick.... Anyway, what's the name of the company? No hidden cost hor?i cannot remember the company name... but i was moving a lot last time as i have to rent places.... whatever he quote you, he will not add extra unless you didn't tell him in advance. no hidden costs at all.... or else i won't use him for the past 10 years!And there are free boxes too... you just need to tell him how many you need. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 Received 3 quotes so far. On all 3 quotes, I asked for another separate trip to pick up a super single bed and frame from YCK which I bought from a nice young couple.Elite - 1030Soon Seng - 1000138 - 950I think another reason why expensive is because my mum has a lot of plants....SS and 138 both need to pay deposit for boxes which is refundable.Mark has not got back to me.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted March 21, 2012 Try to call again tmr. Takes a day or two for hI'm to get back. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 Julia, Mark's partner have given me the quote.First trip - 350Second trip onwards - 200Piano another 120So assuming 3 trips needed, it will be 350 + 200 + 200 + 120 = 870. Plus another separate trip to pick up the super single bed, say, 50 to 80 will be 920 to 950. Also same as my other quotes liao... Haiz... Looks like can't run away from these figures. I'm tempted to rent a kangoo to transport the carton boxes myself and let the mover move the big items in just 1 trip. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beluga 1 Report post Posted March 22, 2012 I'm thinking of adding a steel panel behind the hob but ID quoted me 300 for 1m length. Really tempted to put it but really pokkai.... Anyone ever install before? Any alternative? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites